We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport
Ranked #92 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
LA LUZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Made this reservation on the internet and it seemed to be a moderate priced (for FL) inn centrally located to the airport and cruise ship port. Arriving late at night, the exterior was frightning. Having no where else to go we spent the night. Built in 1920-30 I dont believe much of anything has ever been done to the place since. Bathroom is nothing more than a converted closet. Holes in the wall, rotted base boards, leaking faucets, just deployable condition. Feeling insecure I tied the door shut with parachute cord to preclude unwanted entry. Unfortunately, because of lack of availablity we had to stay a second night but in a different room. I have stayed in nicer places for one third the money. Driving by, I would not voluntarily stop to stay rather elect to sleep in the car.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RICHARD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    22
    12
    26
See reviews for
20
47
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, Ny
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Convenient, cozy. Someone's putting some effort into this motel (keep it up!), most convenient to the port and to the FLL-Hollywood airport as well as highly convenient to beaches and other attractions. Most efficient check-in I've experienced in a good long while.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

OH MY ... we checked in late on Christmas night. Our room did not even have a working shower! Of course when I looked in the shower, there would have been NO way since it belonged in a junk yard! The sink barely drained and there was only 1 working lightbulb in the bathroom. Never had a worst night of sleeping ... couldn't wait to check out in the morning!

I will definitely be reading reviews before I let my husband book another hotel! We have sent a complaint to Expedia - this hotel needs a major renovation!

Room Tip: Wouldn't care to check out anything at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here 1 night before flying out of Ft. Lauderdale airport. One of the worst motels we have ever stayed. The faucet in the shower leaked constantly into the rust stained bath tub. One of the faucet handles was falling off. The carpet was old and very thin. The mattress was soft and the bed base was unsturdy.
I would not recommend this place and would never stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellism22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We also stayed here 1 night before boarding our cruise. The place is a real dump. First sign of this was there is no sign of the "hotel" on the building, just a small sandwich board on the sidewalk in front. The rooms are in terrible condition. Mold growing in the clothes closet (wouldn't dare hang any clothes in it!!). Floors were filthy .. do NOT walk on them barefoot!! Phone connection had been ripped out of the wall so no phone. Bathroom looked quite disgusting. Nothing appeared to have ever been thoroughly cleaned.
Granted, the AC worked as well as the plumbing.
The manager was very friendly and gave us somewhat of an explanation to all this. He bought the property to replace it with a new multi-level hotel next year. But who know when "next year" will be.

So, if all you want is a bed for a night, it's got it. But don't expect any creature comforts. It's definitely lower than the 2 stars we've stayed at in Mexico.

Room Tip: Add a few bucks and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haunruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

if yur looking for a room for 1 night, very close to FLL this is it, nothing fancy, seemed clean(?) was only there for overnight hours & 5 min drive to airport, a bit hard to find as there was no sign.only problem was room reserved w/credit card-when we arrived tired & lost I paid w/cash, during confusion did not get receipt (my fault) the next month rec. credit card statement & room charge was listed, called owner (Chris) several times after no credit ever appeared on acct. he kept assuring me he had taken care of refund the 1st time i called-still 3 months later & no refund even tho he remembered us & after 3rd call to him i have given up, thought he was a stand up guy, guess not so we paid twice for a somewhat Bates Motel type of place,not sure if i wud stay there again-neighborhood a bit sketchy, really don't like being ripped off, but as i said my own fault for no receipt-had every other one for entire 10 day vacation!!!

Room Tip: nothing to say other than location was great for an early flight from FLL
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betsy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

The good things, it is really close to the airport and the manager was very nice. We came in at the happy hour and got a free drink. What else? The room was quite damaged and dirty. There was long hairs in the shower and drops did come out of the shower all night, we could not fix it.

So, for a short sleep before flying back home, it is okay. But not for more.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roupelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
0.8 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#38 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#69 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#31 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 134 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport

Property: Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport
Address: 3001 SE 6th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-4025 (Formerly America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 134 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is located in the heart of one of America's favorite vacation playgrounds; Sunny Fort Lauderdale, Florida. This historical Haven Hotel was built in 1937 as a road side motel on Federal Highway, a two lane road between Port Everglades and the International Airport. This major thoroughfare, known as US-1, consists of eight lanes today and old Federal Highway is a quiet side street. The hotel has also seen some changes since the thirties. Major renovations were completed in the last years, updating the entire building and its interior, adding modern technology, such as free Wireless Internet and digital cable television to the charm of old Fort Lauderdale. If you're vacationing on one of the 3,000-plus cruises leaving Port Everglades annually, no other hotel can provide lodging closer to both airport and cruise terminal, just .5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and .3 miles from Port Everglades. A family run hotel where the customer’s needs come first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing