We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower than 1 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lower than 1 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We also stayed here 1 night before boarding our cruise. The place is a real dump. First sign of this was there is no sign of the "hotel" on the building, just a small sandwich board on the sidewalk in front. The rooms are in terrible condition. Mold growing in the clothes closet (wouldn't dare hang any clothes in it!!). Floors were filthy .. do NOT walk on them barefoot!! Phone connection had been ripped out of the wall so no phone. Bathroom looked quite disgusting. Nothing appeared to have ever been thoroughly cleaned.
Granted, the AC worked as well as the plumbing.
The manager was very friendly and gave us somewhat of an explanation to all this. He bought the property to replace it with a new multi-level hotel next year. But who know when "next year" will be.

So, if all you want is a bed for a night, it's got it. But don't expect any creature comforts. It's definitely lower than the 2 stars we've stayed at in Mexico.

Room Tip: Add a few bucks and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haunruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    22
    12
    26
See reviews for
20
47
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

if yur looking for a room for 1 night, very close to FLL this is it, nothing fancy, seemed clean(?) was only there for overnight hours & 5 min drive to airport, a bit hard to find as there was no sign.only problem was room reserved w/credit card-when we arrived tired & lost I paid w/cash, during confusion did not get receipt (my fault) the next month rec. credit card statement & room charge was listed, called owner (Chris) several times after no credit ever appeared on acct. he kept assuring me he had taken care of refund the 1st time i called-still 3 months later & no refund even tho he remembered us & after 3rd call to him i have given up, thought he was a stand up guy, guess not so we paid twice for a somewhat Bates Motel type of place,not sure if i wud stay there again-neighborhood a bit sketchy, really don't like being ripped off, but as i said my own fault for no receipt-had every other one for entire 10 day vacation!!!

Room Tip: nothing to say other than location was great for an early flight from FLL
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betsy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

The good things, it is really close to the airport and the manager was very nice. We came in at the happy hour and got a free drink. What else? The room was quite damaged and dirty. There was long hairs in the shower and drops did come out of the shower all night, we could not fix it.

So, for a short sleep before flying back home, it is okay. But not for more.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roupelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I just needed a basic place to sleep so i could catch an early flight the next morning and this was the most affordable motel in Fort Lauderdale via hotels.com. I expected it to be.. well.. average. What i discovered was a small, independent, American-owned motel that had tons of charm and whose owners obviously cared a great deal about their business.

The rooms had little decorating touches that you truly don't see too often in the cookie-cutter world of discount motels. It wasn't fancy, but everything was clean and freshly painted. The bed was SUPER comfy. The owners host a 'happy hour' around 6pm on the patio in front of the hotel, and i had one of the most relaxing evenings in a long time. Great conversation with the complimentary happy hour drinks :) When's the last time you did that at a Motel 6 or Comfort Suites?

I will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to my friends who want a budget-friendly place to stay in Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,
Andrew Walker, CEO
Traffic Brick Networks

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrafficBrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife booked this motel based upon "value". There were three couples staying here in preparation for going on a "once in a life time" cruise. The rooms were hot, the AC didn't cool, we had to clean off the AC filters of about 1/2 inch of dirt, the carpet was dirty, the bathtub and showers were worse than the ones i used in the bush of Africa last month, the sheets had yellow stains, need I say more? The owner assured my wife they had been remodeling the place. Hmmm! I guess they had not started that process yet! They sure need to get started though. The only UP SIDE was the staff. He was very nice! We arrived in Ft Lauderdale at 11:00 PM and finally found a great hotel a block away for $50 more. IT was well worth the money. I lost my payment for two rooms for that night but we GLADLY spent more money for a room we could actually feel comfortable about staying in.

Room Tip: Go to the Crown Plaza instead of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed for just one night, before flying out the next day. Found hotel from Hotels.com and although was a bit skeptical decided to try it. The location is fine but the hotel itself is easy to miss, I drove right past it.
Check-in was a snap and the owner was very friendly. Got to the room and was surprised at how small it was but could see that they'd tried to do some updates. The carpet is pretty nasty though so make sure to keep your shoes on. Bathroom is tiny too, but this building was built in the late 30's so the size is understandable.
All in all the motel is fine, but I wouldn't stay for longer than one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlerjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I travel a lot and stay more than 250 nights a year in Hotels, i booked this room for $ 51,50 upon arrivel they showed me a smelly room terrible, this Hotel is a $ 20 usd hotel not more , or change and make it into a Dog Hotel! i left and lost money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 800henk0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.8 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#27 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#69 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#35 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Ai...
#36 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#19 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport

Property: Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport
Address: 3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is located in the heart of one of America's favorite vacation playgrounds; Sunny Fort Lauderdale, Florida. This historical Haven Hotel was built in 1937 as a road side motel on Federal Highway, a two lane road between Port Everglades and the International Airport. This major thoroughfare, known as US-1, consists of eight lanes today and old Federal Highway is a quiet side street. The hotel has also seen some changes since the thirties. Major renovations were completed in the last years, updating the entire building and its interior, adding modern technology, such as free Wireless Internet and digital cable television to the charm of old Fort Lauderdale. If you're vacationing on one of the 3,000-plus cruises leaving Port Everglades annually, no other hotel can provide lodging closer to both airport and cruise terminal, just .5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and .3 miles from Port Everglades. A family run hotel where the customer’s needs come first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Haven Hotel - Fort Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing