We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not The Best Value for The Dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheston House Gay Resort
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not The Best Value for The Dollar”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We opted to stay at the Cheston when it was decided to come out to Fort Lauderdale on a whim, so in all honesty, we didn't do our research as we usually do. We both thought that owner Chuck was not as friendly as the reviews I see here indicate, and when we've stayed elsewhere, we recognize an owner who really enjoys mingling with his guests. They do have a wine and beer only happy hour, which is nice, but thought it tacky that the owner is talking to us with a mixed drink that we aren't privy too. Also, not sure what the deal was with GM Lawrence, but a friendly hello when you pass by your guests would go a long way. Only Tony was the only customer friendly one out of the bunch and we tipped him accordingly since he seemed happy to go the extra mile for us. All this is not really the reason for the 2 star review. The main factors were the horrendously filthy pool (one of the worst ones I ever came across) and given there are few other amenities, I would think that this would be something that they would take care of better. The other issue is that the place itself has never been updated in years. They need Hotel Impossible to visit them and perhaps get some free renovations since apparently, they don't have the cash to spare. And yes, this is nit-picky, but if you are going to play Pandora for the guests, can't you at least splurge the 3.00 a month to not have commercials? Again, sounds nit-picky but that tells me something about how the resort is run and their interest in creating the resort experience for their guests. I will give them props on the room however as it was clean and the bed was comfortable. If the room is all you care about, it is definitely one of the few pluses. While we were there, we checked out The Flamingos and saw their rooms and the resort setting and I have to say, the prices were identical (except we did get one free night staying here after 3) and the rooms were even nicer (more up to date). Also the pool area was spotless. We also checked out the Royal Palms and impressed by their front desk manager who was the definition of what a front desk manager should be - friendly and engaging with his guests. (They also have a poolside bar open 24 hours and a restaurant and again, a clean pool.) So given both of these places were priced similarly, we will definitely check one of them out next time around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xwiseguyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
52
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the resort in the first week of July. Whilst it was quiet, we really enjoyed the courteous and helpful staff in the accommodation at CH. The resort is small but clean and provides all the needed amenities (including suntan lotion if you forget to bring your own). Chuck and Co. are professional in their daily task but friendly and un-intrusive. They even went out of their way to help us getting a taxi so we wouldn't be late for our flight during the Fourth of July celebration. Thanks so much Chuck for making our trip pleasant and memorable. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to any sun seekers/ fun seekers who value good times in the private and not so private environment. It is not a tough call to return to CH!

Room Tip: Get a suite if you want privacy or a room facing the pool if you like midnight swim's with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-gam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights and enjoyed our stay at Cheston House- thanks to Chuck and the staff for a memorable time- helpful and accommodating right to the end on July the 4th when we checked out Chuck offered to join their BBQ lunch whilst waiting for our taxi!! Highly recommend Cheston House and hope to stay again next time when in Florida. Thanks Chuck from the two Aussie Travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walt_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I made a reservation and had to put down over 100 dollars as a deposit. I became ill and called to cancel the reservation. The person answering the phone told me they would keep my money regardless of the fact that I was ill. He was very rude. This place is very expensive and not accommodating. Indeed, it's not worth the money. I will never stay there again. I like to stay where I feel welcomed and respected, which is not the case with the Cheston House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This resort feels like your home, everything is just laid back and perfect. The grounds and Charm of the Hotel itself are something else. It is like stepping back in time when things had a different value. The guests that I met while there were fantastic and very friendly. Perhaps it is like taking a step back in time, when hotels were hotels and not some number on the charts. Thank you for a great visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had such an awesome time over Memorial Day. The property was so nice. Pictures don't do it justice. Chuck and the staff were very attentive. I don't have to ask for a thing because it was already provided. We didn't see Lawrence a lot, but new he was there from how clean our room stayed. Thanks for a great stay. We will definitely return.

Kevin & Barry

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice and pleasant stay during memorial day weekend. Stay was friendly and crowd was a mixture of ages which I like. Pool area is nicely done and kept clean. Room was comfortable with my only complaint being that in a warm day I think the air conditioner in the bedroom is not sufficient for the entire room. Breakfast is indeed repetitive with prepackaged bagels and coffee. Wouldn't hurt them to hit a local bagel shop or Publix for fresh bagels. Maybe some fresh fruit?
Close to the beach and the bars. Despite the items I've mentioned I'm sure we will be back.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Littlecubtampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,712 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Grand Palm Plaza
#14 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#11 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheston House Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheston House Gay Resort

Property: Cheston House Gay Resort
Address: 520 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale Beach, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4043
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheston House Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheston House, an intimate, all male gay resort, located 2 blocks from Ft. Lauderdale beach. Friendly staff, warm hospitality and spacious accommodations awaits you. Experience our immaculate lush tropical surroundings along with a swim in our heated, clothing optional pool. Whether you choose a guest room, suite or apartment we bring you all the comforts of home. See for yourself why our guests keep coming back time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Cheston House Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheston House Gay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing