We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheston House Gay Resort
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the B&B for 4 nights and from the time I checked in until I checked out the staff was GREAT! Everyone was friendly. I returned after i checked out with friends to hang out pool side with some great new friends that I met while staying there.

Room Tip: First floor so that you can be part of the fun by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just got back from a fun relaxing few days in Fort lauderdale.
The hotel was very pleasant but spare. Quiet and very friendly.
The rooms are modest (but so are the prices).
The lightly heated pool and the cozy pool area were the best parts, a block and a half from the beach. Nothing fancy, but was just what I wanted.
Skinny dipping at the pool with friendly guys hanging around and enjoying the sun after the Winter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saillorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I often stay at the Worthington in Fort Lauderdale, but that was full and I tried Cheston House instead. I was very pleased I did, it's exceptionally friendly, nicely laid out, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It's only downside is the lack of a hot tub. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DickieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in early February, weather was not ideal for us, but this place was. Very nice pool and patio area, the rooms were great, very clean and neat. this was our 1st visit to this resort, but will not be our last. Chuck who either owns or manage's the place is great to make sure all the details are attended to. 1 block off the beach, just an all around enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachbumOBX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

okay, the weather was lousy so we weren't able to take advantage of all the property could offer. the staff were efficient and friendly and made us feel welcome. it would be great to have a hot tub for the cool evenings and the pool was not heated enough on most nights. the rooms were clean, but there was no tub to settle into.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dekkydek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

What an amazing experience... we stayed at Cheston House before embarking on a cruise from Port Everglades. The staff are personable and helpful. The guests were friendly as well, with no attitude. The grounds were well kept, with some pretty hibiscus flowers in bloom. Our suite was spacious and comfortable (the interior was a bit dated and not perfectly kept up, but that didn't impact our stay). As other reviewers mentioned, free happy hour drinks certainly made us happier.

The outstanding thing about Cheston House is really the service. The staff were helpful beyond measure, never rude or too busy for us, and even invited us to come back at no charge after our cruise to hang out during our long layover before our departing flight. They really made our stay and our trip much easier than it would have been had we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We just visited Cheston House again and, as always, had a wonderful stay. The hotel is still clean, fun, inviting, and just a great home in Fort Lauderdale. Not to mention that our room had THE most comfortable bed! The fitness room is new, and the property is beautifully maintained by the congenial manager Chuck and his staff, Earl and Andrew. They always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and do lots of extras along the way. The other big plus is the clientele. Not pretentious, no "attitude", just really nice guys from all over the country who enjoy meeting and getting to know other guests. We love our times of leisurely days, having wine and snacks by the pool with friends each afternoon/evening, late dips in the pool. It all makes for a relaxing and friendly vacation. You can't beat Cheston House in Fort L.!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
756 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#13 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
317 reviews
Coral Reef Guesthouse
#10 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Big Coconut Guesthouse
#6 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
72 reviews
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
800 reviews
snooze
#4 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheston House Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheston House Gay Resort

Address: 520 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale Beach, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4043
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $114 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheston House Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheston House, an intimate, all male gay resort, located 2 blocks from Ft. Lauderdale beach. Friendly staff, warm hospitality and spacious accommodations awaits you. Experience our immaculate lush tropical surroundings along with a swim in our heated, clothing optional pool. Whether you choose a guest room, suite or apartment we bring you all the comforts of home. See for yourself why our guests keep coming back time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cheston House Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheston House Gay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing