We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheston House Gay Resort
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stay frequently at different guest houses in the area - I needed a place to stay on my last night in Fort Lauderdale and always wanted to check this place out.
I was greeted by someone and they did their tour about - the person had attitude and really turned me off. Being only one night, I accepted to stay here. I later found out the person that met me was the manager. The water was cold and no one went near the pool. It could be a nice place if this guy at least pretended to care for his guests. Other people staying there shared my concern.
I was made to feel that I was imposing on their time - stay at your own risk. Don't expect much! There are other places with kinder people working there - check them out!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hnh071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
52
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was our second stay with Chuck and staff at Cheston House, and intend it to be our home away from home at least once each year, if not more frequent. The accommodations are excellent; clean and bright rooms for which the staff is clearly attentive to appearance and comfort, and the grounds are purely Floridian and meticulously maintained. The continental breakfasts and early evening social hours promotes camraderie among customers in residence and we continue friendships established. We recommend Cheston House for anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Cheston House's location to the beaches (2 short blocks to the shore), great shopping and eateries along AIA, and a short distance driving or by cab to Wilton Manors, is a plus. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanTor_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut, USA
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Well, Chuck--
You've done it again!
We go away on vacation and you and your staff continue to make us feel like we're still at home. Well, not quite home, but more like visiting a dear friend who has company while we're there, lots of company. How much more comfortable could that be? We will never forget the RSVP cruise, and Valentine's Day was our anniversary (21st to be exact). Upon entering our cabin, we saw a beautiful floral arrangement wishing us a "HAPPY ANNIVERSAY AND BON VOYAGE--LOVE, THE CHESTON HOUSE STAFF". What more can we say. Above...and beyond. It's the special touches like that, that make a vacation memorable. Say "HI" to Earlene and Dmitry.
See You Soon,
RICHARD & FRANK

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewarsguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We come to Fort Lauderdale every year to escape the Upstate NY winter and very busy jobs. The Chesteon House is an oasis. The staff is the best, taking good care of the guests and always willing to help. The rooms are very well maintained, clean and comfortable. They have all size rooms from a very cozy rooms that work for a few days stay to studios and full apartments for extended stays. The grounds and the pool are very well kept. The pool is very clean and heated. They have a nice continental breakfast with good coffee - a real must. The crowd varies - a nice mix. We have met a number of people who have become long term friends who we stay in contact with year round. Thanks to Chuck and his staff the Cheston House is just what you need for that vacation or other type of visit. You can stay in, go out, lay by the pool, or go to the beach. You can do it all. In addition to being close to the beach you are relatively close to resturants, bars, clubs and shopping. We always come home rested but looking forward to our next stay at the Cheston House.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tferrarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Clean & friendly gay men's guest house.
Located two blocks from the ocean and walking distance to the gay beach.
Great pool and area to lay out in the sun
Clothing optional
Variety of room choices and accomodations
Reasonalby priced
Manager lives on site
Safe

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDEDICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

A very nice, older property in an excellent location. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Lush tropical landscaping form a private tropical oasis around the gently heated pool. It is clothing optional, private, and tasteful, although by no means boring. Located 2 short blocks from the beach and a 10 minute stroll down the oceanfront to "downtown" Sebastien Street area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_EMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We were in Ft. Lauderdale for one night before our cruise ship left port- decided we would try a Guest House instead of a large commercial hotel- we have one in key West that we love and thought we might find another...NOT this one!

The fact that it's off the main path and in a quieter neighborhood was actually nice...close to the beach and close to main road but not in the hustle and bustle.

The only staff person we encountered was nice enough...upon checking us in...he lead us up an outer stairway to our room...and he commented several times about the amount of luggage we had, but he never thought to rebook us into a first floor room...so we dragged it all upstairs. The hotel couldn't have been more than 25% full- saw very few people while we were there...might have thought he would have considered moving us before we dragged it all up the stairs.

Room was VERY dated!- clean enough but very out of style. Bathroom was pink- three colors and tile styles...of pink! Furniture was old- not terrible...just old. Carpet is stained. Air conditioner is small and noisy.

Can't say the place was awful- and maybe in season when there are more people around and you can really use the outdoor heated pool (it was too cold the day we checked in) this might be ok...but maybe I am also a bit of a hotel snob and would rather pay the extra price and stay in a place that invests in its property and makes improvements to keep up with the times.

I would skip this hot spot on any future visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chipndale69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestonmanager, Manager at Cheston House Gay Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
We believe this review is not about Cheston House. After review of the guest comments, Cheston House is located in the center of the 'gay lodging district' 1.5 blocks from the beach. in a safe, busy gayborhood. We do not have any second floor rooms with multiple pink bathroom tiles. In addition, we can't locate any record of a 1 night stay, January 2011, guest from Cincinnati.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,712 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Grand Palm Plaza
#14 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#11 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheston House Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheston House Gay Resort

Property: Cheston House Gay Resort
Address: 520 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale Beach, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4043
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheston House Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheston House, an intimate, all male gay resort, located 2 blocks from Ft. Lauderdale beach. Friendly staff, warm hospitality and spacious accommodations awaits you. Experience our immaculate lush tropical surroundings along with a swim in our heated, clothing optional pool. Whether you choose a guest room, suite or apartment we bring you all the comforts of home. See for yourself why our guests keep coming back time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Cheston House Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheston House Gay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing