We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Exactly as in the pictures...'”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Great location (one block from the beach, in a quieter section,
no loud music). The room was very clean and had a great design with a nice sitting area.
Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. Well worth going back to!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyer476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Meyer476,
We always want to give our guests an honest description of our hotels, and we're so happy that you found Aqua as advertised in the photos. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just returned from a quick trip to Florida for weekend. Ft. Lauderdale & Aqua for first stop and perfect kickoff to whirlwind mini-vacation. The hotel is wonderful: super clean, bright and quick 2 blocks from the gorgeous beach (and chairs, umbrellas, towels boogie boards, bikes, etc. to borrow). The room & bathroom were super cute/retro, clean, great shower & the bed was wonderful. Free wifi & fridge too to keep your drinks cold, etc. The pools & lounges were lovely as was the seating garden outdoor area in middle with funky lights, bbq grill, etc. Family/young and older friendly. Perfect area too within short walking distance (2-5 blocks) of big brand hotels but at fraction of price and restaurants/shops.

The super personal service from Maggie & her staff really make Aqua perfect. Maggie is a rockstar, always moving, smiling and lovely person. If you need advice on where to go, ask and she has all info.

A few minutes before checkout I found out my friend was stuck in traffic and would arrive late. I ran over to office in panic. What was I going to do with my 2 heavy bags, etc for next few hours, as did not have rental car. Maggie had 3 sets of people trying to check in & out with baggage, etc. She graciously said no problem, you need to check out of room but she let me leave my luggage at Aqua and locked it up. She told me to go swim at pool or go back to beach & put on more sunscreen. THANK YOU!!! I would have melted otherwise.
I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: no restaurant or fitness center so n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josey_sealevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

josey_sealevel,
We would never let you melt in North Beach Village! We totally understand that travel plans can be unpredictable, and we are always happy to lend a hand. Thanks so much for staying at Aqua for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights prior to a ten day Princess cruise and one night post cruise. We had rented a car for the first part of our trip as we knew that we wanted to hit the local Publix for hotel and cruise supplies. You can walk to a CVS that has most of your basic supplies (1/2 mile + away) but anything more, you will need a car or taxi to get to a real supermarket. Just be aware that if you don't like walking and don't want to rent a car or pay for a taxi, you might find yourself a bit north of the "action". I preferred this location for that very reason. We walked down to the main area and back at least twice a day.

This hotel is in an area with numerous smaller motels, B&B's, and a few blocks from some of the mega hotels. The owner of this and other properties is taking older style "motels" and transforming them into chic boutique hotels. Many within a few blocks of the Aqua. The ones that we saw have a similar look of the Aqua. It's obvious that the owner is spending time and money on these projects. This seems to be a large scale revitalization of this area.

The area surrounding the Aqua is by no means rundown or unsafe, quite the opposite. I never felt uncomfortable walking this area at night. Further south in the Beach Place area of Fort Lauderdale (1/2 mile away) you get the usual cast of characters that can be found at any popular Florida beach area that has most of the restaurants, bars, and t-shirt shops within close proximity to the sand. Though nothing like the days of spring break in Fort Lauderdale in the 80's.

The Aqua is very clean, modern, and well run. Maggie is the manager of this property and is the most personable hotel employee that I have ever come across. She is a very sweet lady that goes out of her way to do anything that she can to make your stay wonderful. She even lugged our overstuffed suitcases up and down the stairs to help us out.

There always seemed to be someone cleaning something all of the time. Windows, stairs, railings...all of the little things that go overlooked in other properties.

The rooms are well appointed, especially in this price category. We had a one bedroom suite on both visits. Plenty of room and storage. Others have described the furnishings and decor. It is accurate so I won't repeat it all here other than to say that we really liked it.

You have to try the Plaza Bistro (same owner). It's two blocks away. It is a food truck (keep reading) that prepares unbelievable food. They transform an open area of an older motel, I think that it was an old tennis court, into an outdoor dining venue that is really special. Color cube lights, tables with linen, pianist (yes, pianist, at least on the Friday night that we were there), $3.00 Guinness, and very reasonably priced food. It was a highlight of our trip. Thanks Orlando for a great experience :)

The only thing that I can think of that would be an improvement is that the floor does need some type of mat by the door(s). It is an interesting floor but water can be tracked all over the place, is slippery and does not dry very quickly.

We loved our stay here. Thanks again Maggie.

Prince and Princess
- She'll know what that means ;)

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are very roomy and well worth the extra $. Second floor is preferable if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrJulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

MrJulius,
What a great review. Thank you so much! It sounds like you really experienced North Beach Village Resort, exploring our multiple boutique hotels and dining at the, Plaza Bistro. We hope that you'll consider Aqua your home away from home. We hope to see you soon, Maggie will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent three nights here and it is a reasonable place. It is not a Hilton type of hotel but instead a two level boutique type of place. The rooms are comfortable and the service limited through a friendly but small reception and there is no breakfast or in room service etc. The location is great being a 10 minute walk to the busy seafront part of Fort Lauderdale. Given it is small the upside is the service & arrangements. We were able to have a parcel mailed there in advance which they happily looked after and also were happy to look after two suitcases whilst we went on a cruise for 11 nights. The upstairs rooms near the pool do have a strong chlorine smell but you get used to it very quickly.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases, request a downstairs room & if chlorine smell upsets you, avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Casta69,
You're right, our collection of boutique hotels offer intimate, personalised service that some of the large chain hotels do not. We're very happy to store luggage, receive parcels and do whatever else makes like easier for our guests. You're on vacation after all! Thanks so much for your review and for choosing Aqua. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly especially Maggie. It is very close the beaches of Fort Lauderdale only one block away. Close to restaurants. We had a double bedded room just in the entrance of the hotel which was convienent except for one day when a guest was talking very loud to the reception staff. Wifi wasa bit hit and miss although my husband would sit outside our room and use the Ipad. The rooms have good facilities which included a fridge/freezer, microwave and hob so you can make breakfast in the room. The pool area is very clean and beach chairs are available to use although we spent most of our time by the pool as it was very windy and the it was not comfortable to sit on the beach. I would definately recommend this hotel to all of my friends or family visiting the US. One small complaint the shower was not very powerful which is something I have not encountered in the US before.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

lindaCambridge,
Thanks for your 5 star review. We really appreciate our guest feedback and will look into the shower pressure that you mentioned. We also appreciate you recommending us to friends and family. With Aqua's 2 pools, beautiful courtyard area and a variety of room types to offer, we can easily accommodate large parties. We hope that you can visit us again soon. Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Clean room, spacious room, well furnished, very comfy beds, nice staff, beautiful pools, close to the beach, not expensive, and they lent us beach chairs...I'm going back and telling all my friends!!! And they have other places like the Tranquilo...next trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathetcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Matheatcie,
Thanks for telling your friends about us! You're right, it would be fun to try a different hotel every time you visit North Beach Village Resort. We have something to fit every budget, and we know that we can help our guests find their perfect fit. Thanks a lot for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have never had such a warm and friendly welcome as the one I got from Maggie on reception ! The hotel was spotless well designed and very well thought out. It was a very convenient location and a great start to our tour of florida. It had a very cool and funky but unpretentious feel to it . Really wished we could have stayed longer and I have never felt the urge to write a review about any hotel before but felt compelled to do so about Aqua .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Helen B,
We are truly humbled by your review. The fact that you rarely write reviews and gave us such a good one is really very kind. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,906 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
846 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
56 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $130 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing