We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine suite close to the beach”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pristine suite close to the beach”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We needed to book a room for only 1 night following a cruise arriving in Fort Lauderdale before flying home and found The Aqua Hotel through TripAdvisor. We were expecting it to be one of the high rise hotels along the beach highway, but it is in fact tucked away just around the corner in a quiet street. But - please don't be put off as the suite we had was beautiful - very clean and bright white with a very comfortable bed. The Manager was so helpful as were everyone we spoke to there. Regrettably, we could only stay 1 night but will definitely return if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
coxyboys,
Thanks so much for your review. You're right, Aqua offers all of the amenities that the larger, chain hotels just at a more affordable rate...and a much more personal feel! We are looking forward to your next visit and hope that you can stay for more than just one night next time. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    250
    48
    24
    11
See reviews for
298
443
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here following our cruise. Had a spacious, clean room with kitchenette, on the ground floor right by the pool. Perfect location a block from the beach, our son loved playing in the pool, and everything we needed was close by. We were very impressed and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revykiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
revykiwis,
It's nice top be impressed rather than disappointed right? We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Aqua. We are going to hold you to it and will expect to see you back soon! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were family of 4 looking for a beach hotel at an affordable price. Not having visited Miami and surrounding area before, Aqua seemed to fit the bill. We were not disappointed. Nice clean little hotel with swimming pool 300m from a fine stretch of beach. A little walk away from the most cafes and restaurants, but i think this a plus. We had a car and this was a good base to travel from. Staff very helpful. Rooms cleaned well. Would have liked a bit more room outside for evening snacks and drinks if i was to find anything lacking. Would return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elston57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Elston57,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Aqua. Thanks so much for your review. Next time you visit you can pick up some snacks at the Village Cafe. It's our newest addition to our cafe collection and has all types of snack items, from a chocolate bar to wine and cheese pairing. Just let us know what you're craving for and we'll make it happen! Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Aqua Hotel for 4 Nights after a Cruise. Before arriving at The Aqua Hotel we learnt that our holiday spending money had "miraculously" disappeared: having received incredibly little cooperation from Royal Caribbean; we arrived at The Aqua Hotel simply devastated. We were greeted by a lovely lady called Maggie (the manager). Maggie was amazing. She took our problem upon herself making phone calls to the police and the port to try and resolve our issue. We were shown to our room shortly after; the room was clean, fresh and decorated to a very high, tasteful standard. Throughout our stay at the Aqua the staff were brilliant, they really looked after us, the reception staff provided an excellent personalised service. They knew us by name and openly offered suggestions of things to do places to see.
Maggie recommended a restaurant 2 blocks away called the Plaza Bistro where guests at The Aqua receive 10% off the bill. This was by far the best restaurant we ate at during our stay, a real hidden gem. The apple pie and chocolate cake are to die for!!
The hotel and staff offered everything we’d hoped for and more.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Fort Lauderdale.
No words could do this hotel justice.
Exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoisJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
LoisJack,
Wow, what a nice review. To say that no words could do this hotel justice is such a kind thing to say....it left us speechless! We're so sorry to hear about your disappearing spending money but are happy to hear that we could leave you with good memories of Ft. Lauderdale. Hey, why not just skip the cruise next time and hang out with us at Aqua? We'd love to have you! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself, Wife and 2 year old son stayed here at start of march, We had thew room up in the far left block, 139 i think was number, lovely 1 bedroom apartment with our own terrace for sunbathing.
The apartment itself is very fresh and modern and has all the mod cons required to make your stay very nice and comfortable. Nice little swimming pool as well in centre of complex.
Location is great with just a 2 minute walk down to the beach of Fort Lauderdale and 10-15 mins to some very nice restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay here and loved Fort Lauderdale, beautiful place
As mentioned previous the only slight negative is the noise you hear from apartments next door, no big deal whatsoever for us.
Always plenty of staff going about during the day keeping complex and apartments nice and clean, very helpful staff in front office also with parking right outside the complex free for duration of your stay
Will definetly stay here again when returning to Fort Lauderdale

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticBhoy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
CelticBhoy81,
Thanks so much for your review. We have numerous room types so guests can find their perfect fit at Aqua, and we are so pleased that you found yours! Guests with children also enjoy the fenced in courtyard that separate the two buildings. It provides room for kids to run around without having to be worried about the street traffic. We are looking forward to your next visit, thanks so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is wonderful to see part of Americana preserved. Instead of bulldozing the old structure and plopping another dehumanizing high-rise hotel, they have renovated and updated this mid-century motel into an evocative retro accommodation with modern amenities. To some people it may seem a little spartan, but it is comfortable and quite serene. We were happy to see some environmental considerations such as dual flush toilets, eco-friendly soap, etc. The staff we encountered was very friendly and helpful, and they even allowed us to check in early. Perhaps as a result of this early arrival, though, the room (or rather, bath room) was not as clean as I had expected. The mirror had clearly not been wiped down, there was some hair in the shower and on the toilet seat, and there was a wet towel left hanging behind the door. The sheets and bed cover, however, seemed nicely white and unstained. I would also comment that the price seems a little steep, especially considering that no breakfast is included. However, regardless of these two disappointments, I still applaud the effort made with this property, and would recommend a stay if one is looking for a fun taste of old Florida without the dinginess of the more run-down motels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
CHMA,
Like you, we appreciate history and wanted to make sure to keep the architecture of this mid-century modern boutique hotel but offer modern style and amenities. We're so pleased that you noticed this and invite you to visit our newest addition to our collection, Tranquilo. You'll enjoy that same combination of history meets the present. Let us know when you're visiting next and we will help you find the perfect room! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights pre cruise on the Allure of the Seas - very happy with our choice and greeted by Maggie the manager on arrival, what a credit she is to the property, really friendly and helpful and even shared a glass of wine with her on check in. Rooms are spotless and spacious, we stayed on the second floor 1207 in a one bedroom apartment with a small kitchen, my only query would be the bathrooms, just enough room but really not an issue at all...lovely quiet location, close to beach. It suited us as we like to be independent, found a supermarket within driving distance. Also loved shopping at The Galleria (Dillards, Macy's) and even found a Ross store close by so I was very happy. No laundry on site but used one of their sister properties close by and no issues at all. All in all we really enjoyed our stay there

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Property: The Aqua Hotel
Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing