We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at The Aqua!”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at The Aqua!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were taking a cruise on Saturday, and arrived on Thursday. After reading a few reviews from people who booked on Booking.com, I was worried, as I had booked through that website as well. Thank goodness they did have a room for us, but not the studio we originally booked. We were upgraded to a suite, on the corner of the top floor. I can't speak for the other people obviously, so I'm not sure if that's a big problem with that website.

We were greeted by Maggie, who is just as wonderful as people on here say she is. I had high expectations and was not disappointed. Maggie is friendly and "real" - very refreshing! I love the personal touch, and was so happy we were at the Aqua and not at one of the the big hotels on the water. A friendly wave and a hello goes a long way - and we appreciated the hospitality. She answered all our questions - and I had sometimes had a lot ;) As people mentioned, it's a block from the beach - we had a great time walking around! We did not use the pool, but did sit outside and enjoy the sun. The property is great, loved the cozy feel. No restaurant on site, but we walked to the store and bought a few things for breakfast, and took advantage of the Plaza Bistro for supper one night.. excellent!!

Room was clean, modern and spacious. Loved having the fridge and microwave! Because we were on the corner with two windows, the room was bright! I didn't mind having the curtains open at all, but yes, if you're getting dressed, people may see in ;) Wifi was fine, so was the TV. We were on vacation, so not there to be on the internet or watch TV :) Shower had a small problem draining.. but that was the only minor issue. Bed was comfortable - it was great to relax after travelling the whole day. Plus we enjoyed some down time before starting our cruise vacation.

If we ever return to cruise (which I really hope we do!) we will most definitely stay at the Aqua again. If you're looking for personal service, clean rooms and property, and love a quaint hotel over a big stuffy hotel, this is the place for you!!! Thank you Maggie and the staff at the Aqua for making our stay lovely - we hope to see you again soon!

Allison & Matt
Nova Scotia, Canada

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more light because of two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieMarieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    250
    48
    24
    11
See reviews for
298
443
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at The Aqua has been so good that we couldn't even wait to get home to review it!

We were one of the unfortunate ones who booked thru bookit.com. DON'T DO THIS! Make sure to call the hotel directly to reserve your room.

We arrived to the Aqua and of course, our reservation was not there. Not to worry, though. We were in great hands with Maggie Martino. She was so great at moving things around so we could have a great room for all the nights we needed. She did so much to make us feel right at home. We were even able to check in a little early!

The hotel is in a quiet part of Ft Lauderdale, which was perfect for us. The rooms are so clean and modern, nothing like the cheesy beach condo you find all too often. The property has bicycles available, beach chairs and umbrellas. It was all so convenient. The best part was the staff. Everyone we saw was so helpful, everytime we came back from a day of sightseeing, it felt like we were coming home. Above all, Maggie was a doll! She even set up our taxi for an EARLY pick up for our trip to the airport.

If youre headed to Ft Lauderdale, book The Aqua (directly). I promise, you won't be sorry!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked a winter getaway trip to Ft. Lauderdale for six days in late January, and the top rated hotel on Trip Advisor was booked, so they suggested The Aqua Hotel as a next best choice. We made our reservation directly with the hotel, and were very happy with the choice. Our room was second floor up the stairs, and was spotlessly clean and well kept. European style decor is all white, very simple and functional furnishings, with blue accents, hence the Aqua name. Beds were very comfortable, quiet, and the room was well equipped with fridge, microwave, stove, coffeemaker, etc.

We didn't use the heated pool, but the great beach is one block walk way. We did notice a family with kids took over the poolside chairs with their towels and toys, but we prefer the ocean anyway. In room WiFi worked fine, but TV reception was just OK with not many channels to select from; but not a problem if you visit Florida for the beach, not to watch TV! No breakfast is available in the hotel, but several places within three blocks walk offer reasonable breakfasts with a view of the ocean. Bathroom was good, but the tiled shower floor is pitched away from the drain, so there is an inch of water in the shower that won't drain out. Minor detail that was surprising only because everything else was top shelf. Free parking on site is very convenient.

Staff are very helpful and accommodating, we will come back for another visit if we return to Ft. Lauderdale. We would return for another week without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at Aqua on a recent vacation. The place is one block from the beach, very nicely appointed rooms, bright, modern and fun. The people at the front desk are awesome (Destiny and Maggie). The pools are good, and perks of bycicles, beach chairs and umbrellas, make it a very good place to stay. The bed was SUPER comfortable. The problem we had in our room is that there was a big window overlooking the outside corridor. We only had a heavy curtain to prevent people walking outside to look into the room. And those curtains make the room dark. So, even though the room is bright with the curtains open, if you want any privacy when lying in bed, or just chilling in the room, you need to be in the dark. That can be easily solved by adding blinds, or non-see through curtains that will let light in. Other than that, we had a very good time, and will likely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a33flynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have mixed emotions about this review, especially since I called the day before to confirm our room and reservations and I was told we were all confirmed, had a first floor room, etc. We got there and they DID NOT have a room for us, I just couldn't believe it!! And, it wasn't until I mentioned Trip Advisor did they try to find us another room somewhere else. Quite a scene. They found us a room in another one of their hotels and gave us some money off of that room. It was quite an inconvenience to us, so they also gave us dinner on them. I found out at the restaurant that there has been many problems with Booking.com reservations, so they obviously aren't keeping their reservations current. The property manager, Peter Sekesan, went out of his way to make sure we were happy once we got moved, but how can they mess up a reservation that you have confirmed? To top it off, when we left, it was still a fiasco, hence there are so many other nice hotels in the area, I would start with someone else. I do want to thank Peter for all of his help, though.

Room Tip: Unless you book with them directly, be expected to be put somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We're staying at this charming hotel for another day and a half. Very well located, close to the beach and the main shopping/ dining area on Los Olas. The rooms are clean and very well appointed with white contemporary furniture and really cute design accents. My only big complaint is the lack of privacy, unless you don't see the light of day, while in the room. We are staying in the middle of the second floor and the only source of natural light is the one window looking out on the inside court and pool. People walk by, coming in and out of the rooms and have completely unobstructed view into any room. The drapes on the window are solid and totally block light, and they must be drawn if you want to not be seen laying in bed, changing clothes or just hanging out without being fully dressed. A simple gauzy curtains on the windows behind the heavy drapes could easily solve this problem and one can see the sunlight from the comfort of the great beds provided in every room. After all, most of us come to Ft. Lauderdale in the middle of winter to do just that - bask in the sunlight. Once this issue is dealt with, I would give this place a perfect score!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahtie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just spend 4 nights in a 1 bedroom Suite in the Aqua hotel.
The staff is friendly and helpful (and a little bit crazy, in a good way).

Positives;
The rooms are clean, the suites are spacey and have cooking (microwave, cooker), coffee/tea facilities and kitchen cutlery. The bed is fine. Tv's in both the living room as well as the bedroom. There are two pools and are nice. Free parking.

Negatives:

There are quite a few families with childeren from which we did have a few children which made a lot of noise at the pool the entire afternoon which is not something you expect in a place like this. No active policy against this seems to exist.

The location of the hotel is at North beach which could prove a bit too far to comfortably walk to the main beach drag for drinking/eating.

Room Tip: Corner suites give the most spacious appearance (2101,2201)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Property: The Aqua Hotel
Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing