We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel....Exceeded Expectations”
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel....Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I don't have enough good things to say about this hotel. I actually proposed her to my now fiance and Maggie/Amanda went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. The location is literally less than a block from the beach.....a nice quieter stretch then you would fine near las olas. They have an excellent courtyard with a wonderful grill and lush tropical landscaping. Also very convenient cab to downtown and walking distance to water taxis. Thank you again Aqua for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyloyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
bennyloyno,
Isn't is nice when you're pleasantly surprised? We are always pleased when we exceed expectations. When you come back you'll have to check out our newest boutique hotel, Tranquilo. That's right, another gem to enjoy in North Beach Village. You'll experience that same stylish decor and modern amenities and most important, that same loving helpful staff! Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    253
    49
    24
    12
See reviews for
301
450
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed Feb 15 for one night. Maggie was very helpful and welcoming as others have claimed. We had a big one bedroom suite complete with a full kitchen. Everything was clean and comfy. No issues (except for the rain :o)

Location is perfect. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Book a one bedroom suite, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
edmbaby,
Thanks so much for your review. We're sorry about that rain and are happy that you were able to find a little sunshine at Aqua! We hope that you can come visit again soon. We'll keep a beach chair ready for you! Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in The Aqua Hotel; it's stylish, attractive, has nice grounds on which to hang out and relax, and is very close to the beach. We enjoyed being able to walk along the beach, up to the intercoastal waterway, and to the nice restaurant around the corner. The three women who collectively provided "guest services" were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating, especially with helping to arrange our shuttle to the cruise port since we didn't realize we should have done that in advance.

The only thing that was less-than-perfect was the shower because 1) there didn't seem to be any way to turn on the water without being in the shower, hitting us with an initial blast of cold water, and 2) we couldn't get the shower hot enough, 'cause we both like really hot showers.

The shower problem wouldn't keep us from returning to this fun, lovely hotel, however!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti_and_Jeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel when it was the Three Suns Inn in 2001 - a typical 1950s motel in what was then pretty down at heel Fort Lauderdale. It was actually a great stay - not super-smart, but a great looking simple motel and a pool to die for. So it was with a mixture of anticipation and nervousness that we turned up at boutique-i-fied Aqua. Well, they haven't got a note wrong. The place has been stylishly and sympathetically refurbished, with terrific bathrooms and mini-kitchens in some of the rooms. They may be relying a bit too much on Ikea for furnishings, but hey we all have them in our homes! And my one niggle was the bane of many hotels - plastic mattress protectors which make for a sweaty night's sleep. But it really was a place we wished we didn't have to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchens are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the nice suite on the first floor, front corner. Very good location just 1 block from the beach. The front desk staff was helpful. It was nice to have the pool, even this close to the beach. We recommend the hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations
Booking a hotel can be a crapshoot as the pics are usually too good to be true, but i will say i took a chance on the Aqua Hotel and i won big time.
The decor is Ultra sleek and modern the color scheme is pure white and teal, absolutely beautiful.
My "room" was a beautiful one bedroom apartment complete with a living room, kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom.
The staff was so accommodating and friendly and took care of my every need.
There were 2 swimming pools and lots of green space for lounging
the Hotel is 1/1/2 blocks from the beaches and shops it could not be more convenient
I will definitely stay here again when in the ft. lauderdale area

Room Tip: My room was in the back and may have been a "suite" im not sure what the room was describe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent a few days in FL prior to a cruise. We had picked the Aqua based on the ratings of other guests. As most of the people stated, the place was wonderful! We were absolutely not disappointed. Maggie was attentive and helpful, and all the staff were very courteous. The place was impeccably clean. It is a small, intimate place, quiet, yet close to the activity of beach drive and the water taxi. We booked and nice big suite right off a pool and loved it. The decorating is very cute and the building style is quite retro. Everything is in great condition..very well maintained. If I had anything to criticize, it would only be the quality of the wireless service. Slight choppy and overloaded at certain times during the early evening. From me it is a high recommend! I am positive we will be back if we are back in FL.

Room Tip: Look at the larger suites if they are in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,651 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,747 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
801 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Property: The Aqua Hotel
Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4019 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing