We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windamar Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overall pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The Windamar is located near several other gay resorts. There are nicer options, but they are more expensive. Expect a more down-to-earth feel here, and a more relaxed crowd not afraid to get frisky on occasion (bsmt area). If that's what you want then be sure to plan your trip over a 3rd Saturday night of the month - you probably won't be disappointed. Bed and air conditioning were great, I was never bothered by noise from neighboring rooms or car traffic. The AC and fan running all the time provide great white noise. Shower temp fluctuated a lot and the charming 1950s toilet could stand to be replaced. Some lube stains around the room here and there... But that's a good sign, right? Vim and staff friendly and helpful, don't be afraid to ask for what you want - and chat up the other guests. Some folks have been staying there for years and will have a wealth of travel tips. I had a car, which was helpful but a bit of a struggle over the busy weekend when parking gets a bit scarce. Made it very easy to day trip into downtown for shopping and grab groceries, snacks, and drinks for the pool. Otherwise cabs are easy and it's a quick trip to Wilton manors for bars and clubs. The beach strip is touristy and typical, and the local gay beach is an easy walk. Other guest houses seem to have weekly or monthly parties, so check those out -- great opportunity to meet locals and travelers in a non-bar setting. The area has lots of potential with just enough mid century character to draw the gays away from spendy south beach. Don't expect Ritz Carlton quality here - if that's what you expect or demand then try something else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
66
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

After a brutal Chicago winter, I stayed at Windamar for a few days solely to get some some sun and heat. The exterior of the property is well maintained and you can tell they've been painting. They do need to replace or better clean some of the deck chairs and other seating. On the interior, the rooms seem spacious if dated in the bathrooms. There was constant remodeling being done in some rooms and they are apparently closing for a week in July to work on some larger projects. That's good to hear.

Windamar is like most other FtL resorts, with nearly 20 rooms. This makes it hard to have the sense of higher end accommodations. Breakfast is basic but ample, be it with plastic plates and utensils. That's to be understood, but still disappointing.

In all, Windamar seems to be making consistent progress on updating and improving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ericnelsonchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a few days in early May.

Pros:

1. Vim, the resort manager, was very kind and helpful. He left us detailed information about the gay nightlife and took the time to make us feel welcome on our first day there. He was the best part of our stay. The gentleman who came to replace our towels every day was also very outgoing and friendly.

2. The pool, the hot tub, and the "cultural center" in the basement are great resort features. All are open 24 hours for guest enjoyment.

3. The location (right by the beach) is pretty good.

Cons:

1. Despite its sexual reputation, we found the resort to be generally boring. Many of the guests skew older, and seemed content to just chit chat around a picnic table. We were expecting a cruisy atmosphere, but everybody was asleep with doors closed when we got back from the bars. Even the "cultural center" was often empty after dark.

2. The decor and cleanliness of the room left something to be desired. Our room was dusty, and there was refuse underneath the bed. The phone in the room was from the 1980s.

3. Upon checkout, the employee on duty (a man with a deep tan) would not even give us an extra 15-20 minutes of a late checkout. This made us feel that once the resort had our money, it had no further interest in accommodating us. Even if there were a guest checking in later (as we were told), an extra half hour or less seemed a small request.

In retrospect, we would have paid the extra money and stayed at Inn Leather or the Worthington.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hkyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stopped into the Windamar to defrost after a trip to Antarctica and Chile. Arriving there at 5am when reception was closed but their instructions for this were clear and easy to follow. Some of the other guests even helped me into the hotel with my large bags and showed me where my room was. What a great welcome!! So by 5:45 I'd had a shower and tried out the pool to relax! Bring on the holiday!!

The room was kept immaculately cleaned all week and at reception they couldn't have been more helpful in arranging for me to get out and about (I'm a visually impaired traveller). The range of other guests present was also great, such a friendly place. Wonderful!!

Missing all of you guys!

Thanks for a great holiday!

Room Tip: I used SuperShuttle to travel from Miami airport, a little pricey but at that time in the morning th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1970_NJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Have been a guest on several occasions over the last few years. Have got to say that many of the issues regarding the place Have improved. Finally finished the painting(exterior), and the landscaping much improved.. However, the pool furniture (what little they have) is STILL disgusting and uncomfortable. Have yet to ever see anyone hose the decking and furniture off and put in proper order..The maid shows up, I am guessing whenever he feels like it, and takes forever to get rooms cleaned. If it was not for the ''video room'' would stay elsewhere nearby. The so called, breakfast, is very late in the morning, have usually gone out to eat, and come back, usually still not available. Don't bother to ask for an extra beach towel, they will throw a fit. ONE per guest. They allow day trippers, which is great, but they don't leave, and kinda think some previous guests have had their room keys duplicated, sinse people who are not guests, are in and out of the gate ALL NIGHT LONG. KEEP room locked, and be carefull. OK, now having said all that, let me add, Yes I will stay again and again. HAVE ALWAYS HAD A GREAT TIME.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank randy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I was in Ft. Lauderdale on a business trip and had an unexpected free day and wanted to check out the beach and possibly have some nude sun bathing time. I didn't feel like driving all the way to Haulover since the weather was overcast and opted instead for a day pass at Windamar.

The hotel is really only 2 blocks from and beach and it was great because I was able to leave my valuables in a locker and go to the beach for a bit.

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, answering all questions I had of the area. The facilities are nice and the landscaping is beautiful. The exterior could use a new coat of paint or a power washing. The pool/hot tub area is medium sized and well maintained, more comfortable lounge chairs would be nice. I met some very nice guests who kindly showed me their rooms since I had considered booking for a future trip. The rooms were nice, basic and clean.

The "cultural center" was in a basement area away from the pool area. It was what you would expect for a clothing optional mens resort.

All in all had a great time and it was a very relaxing day. I would consider staying there next time Im in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have been coming here for 6 years and it just keeps getting better and better. They have now installed extremely comfortable king beds in a lot of rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they make staying here a joy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KM66027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,696 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,549 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#4 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
829 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,240 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windamar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windamar Beach Resort

Property: Windamar Beach Resort
Address: 543 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4129
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:2 star — Windamar Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are One of Fort Lauderdale's Longest Running Gay Owned and Operated Guest Houses Catering Exclusively to Gay Men, and winner of the "Best of Fort Lauderdale" Award. Our Tropical Climate Resort, Beautiful Beaches and Busy Nightlife make Fort Lauderdale one of the Top Vacation Destinations in South Florida. We are located just steps from Seductive Beaches and Minutes from the Wilton Drive for Dancing and Socializing. Enjoy World Class Shopping and Fine/Casual Dining options Galore. Our Entire Property has been Recently Renovated. Guest Rooms are updated to a Crisp Contemporary Style and Feature Pool or Garden Views. If you enjoy a bit of Spice in your life, our Newly Remodeled Video Lounge is always available for Resort and Day Pass Men. The New Tiki Huts, Lush Landscaping and Private Garden Areas Enhance the Tropical Ambiance which will make you feel Secluded from the World around you. Lose the Tan Lines and Enjoy the Clothing Optional Fun Everywhere!! Soak away the Stress in our Shimmering Pool and Bubbling Hot Tub, Open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Windamar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing