We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Location, Awesome Staff!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windamar Beach Resort
Windsor, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Room, Great Location, Awesome Staff!!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My spouse and I stayed there April 17th to the 19th. We had a great time. We met some awesome people there. The location was amazing!! The Beach was literally 20 steps from the exit. They provided beach chairs and a cooler for me to bring drinks to the beach. Alcohol is not allowed on the beach but hide it well and no one will even notice. We walked to the Galleria Mall which was a 20 min walk but with great weather, who cares! The staff were very nice and the rooms smelt like cleaner so ya know it was cleaned. Our room had a walk in closet. The pool isnt huge but perfect for the size of the resort. We are in our 20's and yes it was more an older crowd but we didnt care, we were the hottest and youngest boys there so we loved the attention. If your looking for something quite, clean and plan to NOT bring a car...this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenNDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
64
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Not the greatest place but a decent bargain. Guys at the pool were pretty gross. Pretty cruizy but mostly an older crowd. Rooms were just OK. Decent location though a block from the ocean. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pafuden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

If your into sleazy back room sex, this place is for you.
They sell day passes to the local trolls who take up the minimal chairs
of paying guests. Open drug use and remnants of last nights adventures
are all around. Stay out of the hot tub, there is a reason for all that bleach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank snootyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax Wi
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The property is fine... old and funky which works for me. Short walk to beaches and restauants. Too pricey for what you get, but that's Ft. lauderdale. The property is clean. Amenities are limited. Other guests ... some friendly, others not -- again nothing unique to a resort setting, but had hoped for better.
Came for a business conference and searched for a gay male venue. Saw that they had an offer of every 5th night free which would allso me to add a couple days for R&R. On the last day the manager came looking for me to say we needed to pay an additional night. When I inquired about the offer (which I had confirmed by phone when I made reservations), his response was "I wasn't manager then." Didn't argue, but that pretty much tipped the scales against us returning to this property.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Think of a Melrose Place surroundings without the drama. Think of a cozy setting, two blocks from the ocean. Think of a friendly staff who want you to enjoy yourself. Think of meeting new people from all over and accepting their invitation to supper that night at a fun Ft. Lauderdale restaurant. It's true. I've been there six times the past two years and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark60373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I'm very familiar with other guest houses in the area and have been a guest of the Windamar in the past.
The good stuff:
My rate was $20.00 less per night than other local guest houses quoted. Recently renovated room with new carpet, furnishings, flat screen TV and bed. Dispite other reviews my room was clean and everything worked in it. Check in/out was smooth; management was friendly and professional. Quality towels and bedding was an unexpected surprise and much appreciated. Free Saturday BBQ and beers was fun and allowed guests to meet. Provided pool towels and clean, well maintained pool.
Issues/areas of concern:
The drains/water from sink and tub in my room smelled like sewage. Framing around my rooms door is warped/missing allowing bugs and noise in. Air conditioner is very loud, fan settings don't work... Hot tub needed to be drained/cleaned baddly. Water was always yellow/green. Video room/play room downstairs is a nice idea but needs to be cleaned/stocked more often and needs bigger TV's/more of them...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This small, 18-room boutique hotel could be the gem of the LGBT lodging community. However, the absolutely unfriendly, even insulting attitude of the hotel management and their indifference towards customer service takes it down to a poor level and I'm being generous in this rating.

We stayed at the Windamar for four days. Upon check-in, we noticed the first bad omen. Not even a "Hello", "Good Afternoon", "Welcome" or even "Go to Hell". The manager on the premises seemed to be autistic to his guests. We got the feeling we were bothering him. But we figured it was a bad day and continued on.

But it was not to be. The first night, it was an extremely pleasant and cool evening in Ft Lauderdale. So we decided to forego the A/C and open the windows to enjoy the breeze. Then we noticed someone had torn off the screen from the window, making the room a target for the Kamikaze flying cockroaches they call "Palmetto Bugs". The next morning, we asked the manager if he would be as nice as to change the screen on the window (our window was the only one in the hotel without a screen). His reply was beyond rude. That day, we met up with other guests who shared our displeasure. One of them was on a longer-term stay and told us the only way to get clean sheets was to strip the bed yourself and place them in the bathroom. We found that to be true. The next morning, during the minimal continental breakfast, it was absolutely obvious the orange juice had turned... IN FLORIDA!!!!!! Another guest called it to the manager's attention with the same indolent reply of "That's all we got, sorry"...

The last day, my partner went to check-in for his flight and print his boarding ticket. But the computer had two printers installed and they conflicted with each other. The same unfriendly person actually told him "What do you want me to do about it?".

Not all was gloom and doom. The rest of the staff seemed to be friendly and obsequious. The coziness of the hotel lends itself to a feeling of community and friendly interaction. But the front desk manager was undoubtedly the worst customer service person I've have ever seen. We avoided him for the rest of our stay, until the last day, when all he cared was to make sure we vacated our room exactly at 11 AM, considering that the housekeeping staff had told us that they wouldn't get to our room for another hour and had told us to take our time.

The horrible attitude exhibited by the Neanderthal customer service manager leads us to conclude that this hotel is NOT recommended.

The Windamar could be a gem if management cared for its guests. But it is obvious that their disgusting attitude and neglect of customers is prevalent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cubanissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,983 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windamar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windamar Beach Resort

Property: Windamar Beach Resort
Address: 543 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:2 star — Windamar Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are One of Fort Lauderdale's Longest Running Gay Owned and Operated Guest Houses Catering Exclusively to Gay Men, and winner of the "Best of Fort Lauderdale" Award. Our Tropical Climate Resort, Beautiful Beaches and Busy Nightlife make Fort Lauderdale one of the Top Vacation Destinations in South Florida. We are located just steps from Seductive Beaches and Minutes from the Wilton Drive for Dancing and Socializing. Enjoy World Class Shopping and Fine/Casual Dining options Galore. Our Entire Property has been Recently Renovated. Guest Rooms are updated to a Crisp Contemporary Style and Feature Pool or Garden Views. If you enjoy a bit of Spice in your life, our Newly Remodeled Video Lounge is always available for Resort and Day Pass Men. The New Tiki Huts, Lush Landscaping and Private Garden Areas Enhance the Tropical Ambiance which will make you feel Secluded from the World around you. Lose the Tan Lines and Enjoy the Clothing Optional Fun Everywhere!! Soak away the Stress in our Shimmering Pool and Bubbling Hot Tub, Open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windamar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windamar Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing