We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Beach Gardens(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Aqua Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Birch Patio Motel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winterset Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tara Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Napoli Belmar Resort(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Tropi Rock Resort(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa(Fort Lauderdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
341
61
13
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
61
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubclothing optional areaother guestsgay placesclub roomgay guest housesgay beacha pool view roomtwo blockswilton manorshave stayed at severalgay menthe entire propertyexcellent stayhot breakfastsebastian beachthe entire staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 419 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed her for only one night after a cruise in October.
Very friendly staff made us feel welcome & at home.
Our room was very spacious, overlooking the pool (and in the distance, even the ocean!). Had a great time by the pool, and we treated ourselves to a wonderfull massage in the spa as well!
We felt sorry we had to leave after such a short stay, definitely planning to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingFish17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Resort for the first time, as we were looking for a short little getaway from the cold weather. We found the Grand resort met all our expectations. Beautiful grounds well maintained, large rooms that were clean and had all the amenities. A nice pool and hot tub, gardens, and hospitality room. Upon our arrival, Herb welcomed us and gave a full tour of the property and answered all our questions. We requested a late checkout and although our room was the day we were leaving, went out of there way to make sure we stayed as late as we needed. We meet great people at the Grand and a pleasure to hang around the pool and talk. We took advantage of the spa treatments that was wonderful. We found a new home in Ft Lauderale!!
Mike and Rob NJ

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikewnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Our first stay at a guesthouse on Ft. Lauderdale beach, but we have vacationed in Ft. Lauderdale dozens of times over decades. We are very pleased and would definitely go back here anytime. Very friendly, very professional staff. Perfect rooms. Perfect cleanliness. Good location. Reasonable prices. The Grand is run really well and we highly recommend it. If you want a sleazy frisky place, go elsewhere. If you want a beautiful room and well kept up property with professional management, go here.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Our 6 night stay at the Grand was superb. The grounds are amazing the the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. After staying at and researching other gay resorts in the past, The Grand will be our destination of choice whenever we return to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Had two rooms booked here for two nights in May 09. Booked the cheapest rooms and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room I was given. Good size, nice decor, good furnishings and an excellent bathroom ... especially the large, walk-in shower with rainfall showerhead. The other room provided was rejected because it smelt of damp, but a transfer to an upgraded room alongside the pool was arranged without a fuss.

My only criticism of the room I was in was the lighting ... yes, it's nice to have 'atmosphere' lighting, but there's too little of it! In particular the alcove in which the coffeemaker and snacks are stored was extremely dark and it was extremely difficult to see what I was doing. Also, the refrigerator was rather noisy ... I unplugged it on the first night but did have to mop up a small amount of water from the floor the following morning! For some reason it wasn't as noisy the second night ... perhaps I'd inadvertently defrosted it.

Breakfast, as reviewed by someone else, is pretty basic comprising pre-packed muffins, cereals and bagels. Evidently this is because the licensing requirements for food preparation are very stringent and onerous and they've been either unable or unwilling to accommodate them.

As a criticism, I was rather irritated to find an envelope left on the bed on the day of departure suggesting that I may like to leave a gratuity for the staff. I've never encountered this in a hotel before and found it to be rather unacceptable. The tipping culture in the US is getting out of hand with excpectations of 18% on top of the cost of a meal.

One final point - we were recommend to a restaurant called Hi Life Cafe. Evidently very popular, great food, good reputation. The food was OK, not great. They also offer half-portions at pretty much half the menu price - great idea given the normal size of a plate of food in the US ... unfortunately their full size plates are around half the size of a normal US plate, meaning that the half-portion is woefully inadequate. Over priced. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews