We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand time at grand resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“grand time at grand resort”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed at the Grand Resort and found it to be excellent. It was 2 blocks away from the beach, a short 5 minute walk. There are 2 buildings with the front building having the pool area and the rear building having a hot tub. The rear building is quieter than the front. The property is very well maintained and all the staff are pleasant and helpful. We had a one bedroom suite in the rear building, which was well furnished. One of us did have a message at the Spa and that too was very good. We would definitely return to the property.

  • Liked — pleasant atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lazboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    55
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
186
83
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, AL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

From the attentive staff, to the layout of the property...The Grand Resort surpassed our expectations in every way. Upon our check-in, Peter Mehas gave us a tour of the property before showing us to our poolside jr. suite. Just like the rest of the property, our room was impressively clean, and we had every ammenity that we could possibly need. The design of the property allows guests to have total privacy, just as easily as it allows for socializing and mingling with other guests. The entire staff was very upbeat and always available for advise and suggestions about the area (including several fantastic restaurant recommendations). The restricted access into the resort was one of many examples of the great attention to detail that is available when it comes to guests' safety and comfort.

  • Liked — The wonderful staff.
  • Disliked — Having to check-out.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBamaBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Resort in Fort Lauderdale, FL for one week in March 2008. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and courteous, and worked hard to make our stay a pleasurable one. The property appears somewhat outdated, but looks very charming and inviting in comparison with the ugly new highrise near Fort Lauderdale's beachfront. Moreover, the resort is very well maintained and spotless clean.
The clientele consists mostly of professional guys in their mid-thirties to mid-fifties, primarily couples and groups, almost exclusively from the US (we were the only European guests at the time of our stay). The breakfast buffet, the happy hour gatherings and the jacuzzi seem to serve as meeting points for social interaction with other guests.
The Grand Resort is not (and does not pretend to be) the vibrant hotspot of Fort Lauderdale's gay scene, but offers a relaxed "men-only" atmosphere and comfortable accomodation for the discerning gay traveller wishing to enjoy Fort Lauderdale's beaches and nightlife.

  • Liked — Service and hospitality
  • Disliked — Slightly outdated appearance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Return visit to this resort, this time for two weeks. Another excellent stay with nothing to fault.

Beautiful room (junior suite) which was very spacious and comfortable. Everything you could wish for in the suite to allow a comfortable two week stay. Our room was by the pool which was a great location to see everyone coming and going. The clothing optional spa was in a different part of the hotel, which suited us, as I think there should be parts of the resort where clothing SHOULD be worn.

Breakfast included which was a nice touch. Average of clients during our stay mid 30s and upwards. Nice mix. Happy hour great time to meet up and chat.

Staff brilliant, nothing too much trouble. Rooms and grounds kept immaculately clean.

Hotel was completely full during our stay (Thanksgiving) but at no time did the hotel feel crowded (nor the pool or spa).

I would recommend upgrading to a superior room/suite, as these have been recently redecorated, and are very well done.

  • Liked — Great service/location and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkRuscoeRomanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

I've stayed at The Grand several times over the past 2 years, and I've always enjoyed myself. The property and facilities are very clean and well maintained. Location is good; within walking distance of the beach. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VALeanDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

My boyfriend and I spent a long weekend at the Grand in mid- July, and had a great experience. This was the third gay hotel we've stayed at in Ft. Lauderdale, and it was by far the best. We stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms poolside, which I would recommend if you want to be in the thick of things. The rooms are clean and stylish, furnished with a refrigerator and stereo. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable about night spots and restaurants. The spa treatments were also enjoyable. But most importantly, from our point of view, the hotel, with its daily happy hours, is very conducive to meeting guys and making friends. We plan to stay there again on our next trip.

  • Liked — Easy to meet other guests.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank customized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I had a great experience in July'07. Great location, very nice and helpful staff, comforable rooms, free parking, very clean all over.
I strongly recommend it, even during low season

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pietrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,752 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,010 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,023 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,490 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Property: The Grand Resort and Spa
Address: 539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale Beach's largest gay owned men's spa-resort. 33 updated stylish rooms and suites all with flat panel TVs and Blu Ray DVD players. Just steps to the Atlantic Ocean, we take great strides to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and carefree. You will sense an exceptional friendliness and warmth each time you visit. "The Spa at the Grand Resort" is also open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing