We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best men's spa!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We love coming to The Grand. The service is top notch and the Spa services are amazing! It tends to be an older crowd most of the time but we come for the leisure aspect. They keep the place very clean and comfortable. Again, very friendly and relaxing. That is why we keep coming back. Well, that and the great massage. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michaelman_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been coming here off and on for 5 or 6 years. This place is more than a notch above most places that cater to a gay clientele. This place is about the experience of staying in nice accommodations and not at all about being sleazy. You don't see hardcore cruising going on here any time day or night. The massage in the spa doesn't come with a "happy ending". It's a place when you return people remember you. You're greeted by the staff who want to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms are adequate and have a nice touch. I've had rooms with beds that were less comfortable that others. In general, the rooms in the front part of the hotel nearer to the pool are of nicer quality (and pricier). Rooms at the back of the hotel are closer to the spa and whirlpool tub. So, it depends on what you want. Here you get quality, comfort and lush surroundings along with a spa. It comes at a higher price than at some other places in Fort Lauderdale. In my mind, the Grand is worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My partner and I returned for another great stay this july, I have been going to The Grand for about 7 years and each time I go I see another new thing, they do an excellent job keeping the place first class. Herb and his staff are so well trained to see all the guests needs are met and even exceeded. This year even the breakfast was improved again! Great job! I cant wait to get back there!!

Room Tip: The courtyard is wonderful, and front you have an excellent view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Some gay resorts can feel a little shady, No this one, it's very beautiful with well maintained rooms that are spacious and have lots f amenities. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and so well maintained. It's the little things like the orchids in the trees, the bird cage placed outside daily, and the perfectly manicured everything. Weekend Happy hour was nice too with complimentary sangria and other treats. The downside....beds feel hard, cheap and uncomfortable. These days most resorts have signature bedding that makes sleeping a pleasure not this property though. Pillows were nylon/foam not feather which we prefer. Though floors didn't look dirty our feet and socks were black at the end of the day. Overall, the price is fair, the staff is particularly helpful and nice, the spa is top notch but when it's hard to sleep it makes for a bit of a disenchanting experience.

Room Tip: Consider a room near the pool...big windows can let you watch all the people laying out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for four nights at this property and found it to be ok. Nothing really unique or exceptional, and not a lot going on in this rather bland area near the beach.

Fort Lauderdale is very odd with a small gay enclave of gay hotels near the beach, yet all the bars and clubs are out in the very suburban Wilton Manorrs neighborhood. Renting a car is essential.

The hotel was clean, however there seems to be a vast difference in the rooms and suites. Some are newly renovated and others are very dated and showing their age. This resort, like others, seems to be the result of a combination of an old apartment house and and old motel. Spa services are good, but very overpriced unless you book one of the combination packages with the room rate.

Staff was friendly and helpful, however some of them knew little of the area and were unable to offer much advise.

Room Tip: Make certain the room you are given is newly renovated. Rooms near the pool can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevernsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I just returned from my second visit to the Grand and it was great as usual! My first visit was after a long week in Orlando for Gay Days and it was referred by friends who live in the neighboring city Wilton Manors. I made the right decision. It was because the resort is well kept and clean especially the pool which is very clear! The staff is friendly and very professional. They made you feel at home! If you have any suggestions they do listen and improve on it! The rooms are really nice and again they feel like you're back home. Location is great as you can walk to the beach, the mall and grocery stores if you fancy shopping, or drive and visit the 2nd gayest city in the US, Wilton Manors! I highly recommend it for anyone visiting the area, I will be visiting again very soon myself!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maui87a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My partner and I have stayed at the Grand Resort twice and intend on continuing to stay there when we are vacationing in Ft Lauderdale.
We stay in the back area (the section off from the pool) where it is a little more quiet. The staff is extremely professional and very friendly. The outdoor area is very well maintained and clean. The location is nice as you can walk to the beach (only a couple blocks away), drive over to the Galleria (10 min drive) or drive to Wilton Manors (no more than 15 min).
We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,827 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,036 reviews
Victoria Park
Pineapple Point Guest House and Resort
Pineapple Point Guest House and ...
#1 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
850 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,403 reviews
Central Beach
Hotel Lush Royale
Hotel Lush Royale
#12 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $203 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCEEDING EXPECTATIONS: The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale’s largest and finest gay owned and operated men’s spa-resort that first opened in 1999. With 33 well-appointed rooms and suites, we are located just steps from the beach and convenient to all of Fort Lauderdale’s attractions and nightlife. As Fort Lauderdale’s first gay resort with its own full-service day spa and hair studio, we can offer our guests an experience that is unique and wonderfully indulgent. From a relaxing Swedish massage to a haircut before your night on the town, we can accommodate all your needs right here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing