We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was able to extend my Key West vacation thanks to Hurricane Sandy...and needed a place to stay in Ft Lauderdale. My friend down there suggested RP. When I called, they could not have more accommodating. From the first phone call to my checkout...the service was top shelf. Clean comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, delicious food and nice bar too! Haha. Thanks guys...I WILL be back! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We just responded to another guest’s review about Hurricane Sandy so I must say again how lucky we are to have been able help those that were affected and give them a pleasurable experience in the midst of their stressful circumstances! Glad that you experienced our great food, great drinks, and great customer service! Next time be sure to check out the spa and all that they have to offer! Thanks again for the great review!!! Hope everything is well down in the keys and we hope to see you real soon neighbor!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    129
    51
    41
    22
See reviews for
21
296
184
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was already our second stay and we even extended a few extra nights because we like it here so much. The staff is unusually friendly, professional, well-trained and constantly asking what more they can do to make sure we enjoy our day. Rick (front desk), Phillip (manager), Chandler & Juan (bar service) and many others really made our vacation ideal. We're very travel-expereinced and this team delivers a mix of personal and professional but comfortable service that you just can't get at the Ritz Carlton, W or Hilton properties... and they remembered us from our stay 9 months ago.

The property is perfectly maintained, clean, stylish and chic without being fussy. When we arrived this time the power was out after a hurricane and they offered to move us to another one of their properties. Instead, we stayed and slept better than ever with the windows open and a cool ocean breeze blowing through with windows on both sides of our room.

Food and bar service are much higher quality than one would expect from a small boutique hotel and the cost is lower - so we ate most of our meals by the pool or bar for the entire week. Their new Plaza Bistro outdoor restaurant a few doors south expands their offering with a cool lounge atmosphere and dinner menu that satisfies your higher expectations without over reaching.

Well done guys, we'll be back many times!

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool can be a bit noisy when the bar is open but it's also the best for sociali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Our entire staff is dedicated to providing the best customer service possible!!! We will be sure to let Rick, Philip, Juan, and Chandler as well as the rest of the guys know that they’re work is being recognized and appreciated!! Thank you for the kind words!!! We especially appreciate the comments about Royal Palms exhibiting qualities of professionalism while being personable, as well as keeping it comfortable which isn’t available at a lot of places necessarily! We pride ourselves in that and love that our guests love it as well! We take this as a high compliment especially since you seem to travel quite a bit!
We are so sorry that the Hurricane became such a problem for New York but glad we could be your home away from home! :)

Both of the restaurants are doing very well and our patrons are enjoying each very much. Justin Mathys, our executive chef, and his team do an amazing job with creating, cooking, and updating our menus!

Next time experience the spa if you didn’t last time and I’m sure they’ll amaze you as well! Thank you again for choosing Royal Palms Resort and Spa and we hope to see you again real soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending a long weekend at the Royal Palms for my partners 50th birthday celebration. The whole staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and help make the 'event' beyond our expectations. I had the pleasure to speak with Phillip Lafond prior to our arrival and he was able to plan a cocktail party at the Resort with a menu of food that could easily rival any 4 star restaurant BUT staffed the even with the most friendly and professional servers/bartenders that our group was 'beyond' pleased. Phillip and the team (lead by Lyle) are really the best that I have seen in my 48 years and are detail oriented and guest-centric. Our rooms were really beautiful and spotless while the beds were extremely comfortable. From the moment we walked in until our unfortunate departure we all felt like we were among friends and we look forward to our return to the Royal Palms!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We love it when guest come to celebrate their special days with us whether it’s a birthday, anniversary, college graduation party, or any special occasion! It really shows us that the guys are enjoying what it is that Royal Palms Resort and Spa is doing, so much that they want to share with us their special moments!!! So great to hear that we succeeded with your partners birthday celebration! Philip Lafond is one of our shining *stars* and as an Assistant General Manager he is a great example of the dedication we have for making RP the best gay resort in the nation!!! Steve D you were most definitely among friends and we think of you not only as friends but as family! Thank you for your loving review! We look forward to you return and can’t wait to hear from you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently stopped by this what looks like a fantastic place. I am looking for a great resort to stay for 4 days early next year. I Loved what I saw, the staff were very helpful and the place is immaculate and I love the interiors. My only problem is we are bringing the in-laws on their first trip ever to the USA, my thought was myself and partner would stay here and put them in a nearby hotel up the road which was recommended by the front desk staff. But being that its their first ever trip, have decided we need to all stay in the one place where "straights" are allowed. So we are all staying a couple of block away in the Aqua which looks just as nice except there will be straight people there! But we plan to escape and leave them and come and venture for at least a day or two at the Royal Palms. And next time on our next visit without the in-laws we will be booking the Royal Palms for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelexpert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for the review and for your visit for a tour! We are glad to hear that not only did you get to spend time with you family but we are also glad to hear that upon your return to Ft. Lauderdale you have chosen to stay with us here at Royal Palms Resort and Spa! We look forward to showing you everything we offer and are sure that you will enjoy it to the fullest! See you soon!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A two nights stay first half of October. The Royal Palms is a clean well kept resort close to the beach. Staff nice and helpful. Barman Matt was a great laugh and made us stay at the resort bar one evening. The spa was also a nice experience. This is a place to stay at! Next door restaurant PB. An outdoor place with excellent food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and I will be sure to tell the Housekeeping Department about your comments! They will be happy to hear such praise! And yes we are just a block of the water and less than a mile from the gay beach known as Sebastian Beach which is convenient for our guest! We will be sure to tell Matt the kind words you wrote about him! He is still with us an always does an amazing job! Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Spa as well! The Plaza Bistro is doing great and we love that the guys have another great place to go to and enjoy a menu completely different than the one here at Royal Palms! Again thank you for your sweet comments and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights at the Royal Palms Resort and Spa (we were visiting from Argentina). We booked the hotel because we liked the great reviews it got from prior guests and because we liked the pics of the place displayed in the hotel homepage. Everything was beyond perfect: the room, the food, the location, the cleanliness, the staff., etc. I've been to many resorts in Fort Lauderdale over the last 8 years, and the Royal Palms is the best by far. I would not dream of staying anywhere else from now on. The staff could not be more professional, helpful (giving tips about the city and places to visit) and kind. Those guys really know how to make their guests feel comfortable and happy!!! During the stay, I had the opportunity to talk about the hotel with other guests and everybody was enjoying the same great experience. So if you are considering visiting Fort Lauderdale this is the place where to stay...You'll be amazed about the quality of everything (service and amenities).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernesto b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much Ernesto B! Though we have a long list of amenities that no other gay resort in Ft. Lauderdale has including our restaurant and bar we feel, most definitely, that our level of customer service paired along with personalized attention to detail is what sets us apart from the rest. We are so glad we could prove that with you and your partner! We want every guest that comes to stay with us to have an not only an amazing vacation but a lifelong memory to take back home and hearing reviews likes that motivates us to keep doing just that! We look forward to having you back with us in the near future! Take care and we’ll see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wow. What can I say about this place that hasn't already been said?!

Located just a half a block off the Ft. Lauerdale beach, this is a great place for your retreat from the world. From the moment you step into the office you will feel as though you have entered a special place where you are special. You will be able to decompress from the world, be yourself to the fullest and have your needs taken care of at whatever level you choose. You can isolate yourself from the "crowds" or mingle with the "masses" (No, it's not THAT big of a resort...but you get the idea!).

I have to say, I have travelled extensivey and the staff here are among the most friendly, courteous, cordial and accommodating people that I have encountered anywhere. Everyone goes out of their way to help you feel welcomed and at home. I can only think of a couple of other places I have stayed where the staff was as gracious. It is service as it should be in a resort of this type and it is what will bring me back year after year.

(Not to mention that the property and facilities and rooms are all recently and extensively remodelled.)

My one "complaint" would be that there really is not a good description of the various room types available on the website to assist you in making your selection. This is the one area that needs to be addressed. Otherwise this place is awesome; please come and visit and feel free to invite me along to be your tour guide, I'll just need my own room and an open tab at the bar & grille please!

Room Tip: Just "ditto" on all the previously listed tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris97975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyle C, General Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for such a great review! We really appreciate all the wonderful compliments you've left for us! Especially from one who travels extensilvely. It shows us that we are doing it right and we want to keep doing it right so that it gets even better each time you come to stay with us. We will let the staff know that they're courteous and cordial attitudes are noticed and recognized :) We are currently working on ways to rebuild the website so that is more efficient for those researching our property! Thank you for that note as well. We want to keep improving as always! See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,016 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
175 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#36 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
92 reviews
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
243 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 717 Breakers Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4119
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing