We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as our first visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Ranked #59 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just as good as our first visit”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We just finished our second stay at the Royal Palms. This is a lovely gay resort, it's seriously become our favorite gay resort. The service is really second to none. Lovely rooms, good prices. What more can you ask for? Great spa and gym. Bar and awesome food in the small cafe. Kudos to Terry at the Front Desk and Carlos in the cafe. But really everyone gets a big thumbs up. We will be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cpassant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Good morning Guys,
I am so very glad to hear that this was your second time here with us and that we are your favorite gay resort. That makes us feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside when we hear that. I am also glad to hear that you think the service is second to no one, they all try and it looks like it shows as well. Thanks for the Kudos to our Front Desk Manager Terry and our great bartender Carlos.
Hurry back guys we already miss seeing your smiling faces
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    131
    51
    42
    23
See reviews for
21
298
184
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just spent a few days at the Royal Palm. Stayed at another place my first night but it was not great and discovered the Royal Palms after checking out a few other places, that honestly seem kinda tired and not that clean.

My room was spacious, spotlessly clean, modern with a great shower. The place has great bar area where met other people staying there and pretty good food too and 2 pools. Spa and gym onsite. Had a great facial at the Spa with Eduardo. Def request him if you want a facial. The customer service is also fantastic, everyone is welcoming and friendly, making sure you enjoy your stay and feel taken care of. Terry was awesome. I reallly love this place and wish we had a gay hotel like this back in San Diego. There is no question that I will be staying here every time I am back in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello sdwarrior,
I am happy to hear that you stayed with us and had a great time; you know we will always be here for you so when you need a break from San Diego this can be your home away from home. Eduardo is great at giving facials, and I am Glad that Terry was awesome as well. Loving a place like this makes your next return even better.
Hurry back we await your speedy and safe return with open arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the RP for 6 days after touring the resort also June while staying at another local Guest House. We have been traveling to Ft Lauderdale for the past 4 years and decided to “switch it up” this year. The staff (Philip,Terry,Rick,Henry,Matthew,Fe lix and Carlos,and Ron) are all very welcoming and helpful!! The two pools located on the property were a plus with most of the time spent at the front pool. The spa also was very good and reasonably priced and were able to take us right away; I had a manicure while my partner received two back and neck massages on two different days. The breakfast was excellent, the Fruit Medley was “three snaps” their muffins are to die for. Our room was very quiet with an excellent view, we were upgraded to the third floor room with an ocean view.

One thing we discovered was that the clothing optional area in the front can be a little exposed to the street when the wind is blowing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building and the third floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Royal Palms for three nights and I can't wait to return. We are in Fort Lauderdale often and have been staying at another resort nearby. I felt quilty not staying at our "usual" place. Now that we have stayed at the RP we feel that we have really missed out all this time. From the moment we arrived it was as if the front desk staff had been eagerly expecting our arrival. We were given a short tour of the resort and shown to our room. In our room was a personalized, hand written note , simply telling us to enjoy our stay and to give the front desk a call for anything we may need. The rooms are decorated in a minimilistic style, white, grey and splashes of green. Exceptionally clean! The rainfall shower was great, and the towels are wonderful. The bed was great too. The pool scene was great, We stayed by the front pool where all of the action was. We met guys from all over, and many from right there in Ft Lauderdale. We got a great sence of comunity there at the pool. If one would choose to have a quiet serene pool day there is also a pool just for that. We had lunch twice by the pool. Every thing we had was out of this world. When we ordered drinks at the bar , they were deliverd right to us, what service! The pool area was always kept neat. Fresh towels delivered, glass wear and dishes promply removed.The music was great and never too much. We also each had a massage. We had different therapists and have decided that next time we will have two massages each, one from each of the therapists. I appreciate mid century modern arcitecture and they have brought the property up to date without getting rid of the great clean lines of the original design. We cannot wait to get back, We will be regulars.

Room Tip: If you are there for a quiet time I would reccomend the back building. I enjoyed being in the front...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

For a quick bday getaway this past weekend I chose Ft.Lauderdale and so glad I did. I stayed for the first time at the Royal Palms and boy was it a GREAT choice...JD and another gentlemen whom I can't remember his name (sorry) greated me and my BFF and made us feel welcome. Gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us to our room. We stayed in a DBL Queen by the non-clothing optional pool which was perfect for my friend at least he's a little shy and the room was crisp and clean. All the amnenties one would need were provided. The personal welcome note left on my bed was a very thoughtful and appreaciated touch....my friend was jealous...he was looking on his bed asking where's my note?....lol My friend utilized the Spa services and had a mani and pedi, i used the gym and the bar by the clothing optional pool where everyone was enjoyin themselves.....Later in the evening I too utilized the heated pool by my room in the back and was in sure bliss....i must say I will be back....summer has only just begun and looking forward to visiting again in July

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blinz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rp Ambassador R, Public Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Hello Blinz71,
We love having birthday boys here; this truly is the place to celebrate. We have it all here; we are the only guest hose with a bar and grille on site and the only one that can cater to all your needs and requests.
I am glad JD made an impression we want everyone one to leave with a memorable experience.
As always we await your speedy and safe return with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms, ample parking, healthy menu.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbTreger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rp Ambassador R, Public Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Good day Herb,
It was so nice having you stay with us, noticing that are staff is very friendly, our rooms spotless a great menu with something for everyone. And onsite free parking.
Hurry back Herb, we await your speedy and safe return with open arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I resently spent several days at the Royal Palm with a friend and we had a great time. The service was outstanding, they were so accommodating, no matter what our request the answer was "Yes". Rooms were clean and well kept with a personal note upon my arrival. We took advantage of the gym, although small very adiquite with all new equipment, perfect for a vacation work out. We also took advantage of the spa for massages, the deep tissue was exactly what I needed after my work out. The food at the bar was also right on, if you wanted a salad, a hamburger or a egg white omelette, they took care of it. I'm already making plans to return in the fall. This is the best of the gay resorts in the area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rp Ambassador R, Public Relations Manager at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Good day Steven,
You are 100% correct the answer will be “YES” you are here to experience a style and a new standard in a gay male’s guest house. We have raised the bar to levels which set us way apart from everyone else.
I am glad you got to use the entire property. We do have it all and are right on the money with everything we do.
We also agree, we are the best gay resort in the area.
As always we await your speedy and safe return with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
95 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
99 reviews
Beach Gardens
#69 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
244 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 717 Breakers Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4119
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing