We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Ranked #58 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I had a blast staying at the Royal Palm. The room was great. I loved hanging out at the poolside bar and meeting everyone. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
We had a great time meeting you too Keith and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the largest full service gay hotel in the area.

Aside from our poolside bar and grill, which is a natural meeting place for our guests and locals alike, we also offer a full service day spa. If you didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of its services while you were here, be sure and check it out on your next trip.

As always, we appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    131
    51
    42
    23
See reviews for
21
298
184
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at the royal palms over halloween weekend. I found the staff and hotel exceptional! Philip the desk manager went out of his way to make sure every guest was comfortable. Russell the restaurant day shift bartender was great fast and friendly no matter busy he was he made sure everyone was taken care of .All of the hotels staff were great as well.
Unlike other gay resorts in the area the Royal Palms has the bar / restaurant a tremendous convenience. The food and drinks were excellent !!
The rooms are clean , and have wide screen tvs. the spa and fitness room was very nice as well!!
The Royal Palms is the nicest gay resort in the area and i will definitely stay again !!

Room Tip: rooms at the back pool area are more privite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us over Halloween weekend (even though Mother Nature was less than kind) Russell and Philip are both shining examples of our commitment to guest satisfaction and taking care of your every need.

As the largest full service gay hotel in Fort Lauderdale, we enjoy bringing you amenities such as a bar and grill with fantastic food and fresh handmade signature cocktails for your enjoyment.

We are anxiously awaiting your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at the Royal Palms over the rainy Halloween weekend. Despite the rain, my traveling friend and I had a wonderful time there and enjoyed the terrific hospitality of the staff, especially from Philip (front desk manager) and Russell (daytime manager of the bar/restaurant). Both are to be commended for their attention to detail and customer service. Actually, all of the staff is very much on top of their game and deserve kudo's as well. In addition, we enjoyed having the convenience the bar and restaurant on the premises. It's a terrific amenity which provides guests with the option of staying on property if they don't feel like venturing out. Our only disappoinment was that restaurant didn't offer dinner during our stay. Given how excellent the food was at breakfast & lunch (as well as a good value), I'm sure dinner would have been the same. The rooms are very comfortable and uncluttered. Each has an in-room safe along with a wide screen TV. There's a nice fitness room as well as a spa which we both used and were pleased with. All in all, the Royal Palms is a great gay resort!! I highly recommend it and will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Ft. Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back section (away from the bar/restaurant) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Good Morning Frank,

Thank you for the awesome review. Philip and Russell are great examples of our commitment to service for our guests. When asked about dinner, Chef Alan says it is coming soon. He typically serves dinner during our "high season" months, but is always available should you have a special request. If you didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of our full service day spa during this trip, please do so on your next visit.

As always, we are here to meet and exceed your expectations and be your resort of choice when visiting Fort Lauderdale. As you noticed, even when mother nature doesnt cooperate fully, Fort Lauderdale's Largest Full Service Gay Resort is still there to insure that your vacation is enjoyable and relaxing.

Thank you as always for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel is now in a new totally renovated hotel location (Breakers Ave). It's just a block from the beach. The hotel is perfect! All rooms have been renovated in modern decor. Large flat screen TVs with cable and XXX movies free. The breakfast (the pancakes are the BEST I've ever had.. and the wrapped breakfast burrito was absolutely the best..buy 1 if you're with a friend and share. it's that big.) The place is perfection.. from it's layout (2 buildings, spa, and gym). All pools are heated.. And there is a clothing optional pool in front of the bar (building 1) and a great pool in the back (building 2). The spa staff were very welcoming, and the massage was well worth it's low cost. You need to stay close to Lyle.. he's the one who can fix any problems if you may have any .. my problems were just intermittent internet connections, but he saw me outside with my laptop and readily came up to me to ask if I had a problem---THAT WAS GREAT. How many times do I spend hours trying to work out things when he said he would "reset" the internet and It popped up in minutes. I have stayed at other places in Fort Lauderdale around the area, but this was the very best, and I had a great stay. Just returned yesterday after a five-day stay. Although, it did rain, now and then, I did have 3 good days of sun, and the rainy weather was a fun time to sit at the bar and met others from other hotels who came to meet people.. So, I would rate this experience as very one of the best experiences I have had over Halloween Weekend in Florida.. Check it out.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool level.. It's great to walk out from your room and get in the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericpinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
What wonderful praise. Our entire staff is grateful for your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Our poolside bar and grill are beyond compare and as you noticed, the food is exceptional (The pancakes are Chef Alan's favorite too). Our general manager, Lyle, is always just steps away to assist with any issues you may have during your stay.

We are glad that you got to experience the unparalleled services of our day spa during your stay and hope you will do so again when you return.

As the largest full service gay hotel in Fort Lauderdale, we are pleased to be able to bring you service and amenities above and beyond your expectations. Thank you for your patronage, we are anxiously awaiting your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed October 22-24, 2011. The staff from the moment we arrived was friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful. The rooms are boutique hotel cool. The bathrooms are small but cool and functional. Everything is squeaky clean. It is located one block from the beach, a short walk to the water taxi, and a short taxi ride to the bars and the bathhouses.

It's is clothing optional but it's not a bathhouse. We had a great time hanging at the bar, talking with the other guests and the staff. Most people wore swimming suits. Nudity was not a big deal either way.

Over all the staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful. It felt more like you had 5-6 new friends. We really did not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and your patronage. Being the largest full service gay hotel in fort lauderdale, we enjoy bring many unique amenities to our guests during their stay. Our location just steps from Fort Lauderdale Beach is ideal, or you can choose to stay by one of our two sparkling pools, As you noted, we do offer one pool as clothing optional, but have worked hard to maintain a quiet sophistication and not a "bathhouse" feel. Many of our guests enjoy our Bar and Grill as well as our Full service Day Spa.

We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I spent only one night there and wished it was more! I will come back for sure. The renovations were done very well and the grounds were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind words Rich. We are indeed glad that you were able to experience the difference here at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa. Although you were only here with us for one night, we are looking forward to your return visit very soon. As the largest Full Service Gay hotel, we offer an extensive array of amenities such as a full service bar and grill, Day Spa, Fitness center and 24 hour Concierge. Being only steps from the famous Fort Lauderdale Beach is another attribute that has our guests talking.

Once again, please accept our gratitude for your patronage. We will see you soon. If you want to follow us on sicual media, you can stay up to date on all the happenings here at The Royal Palms Resot and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011


a very nice,clean hotel in a quiet location, very close to the ocean. The rooms are modern and stylish. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are two pools, a bar where you can have breakfast. The food is good. We liked it very well, and we come back again :-) promise :-)













  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kito190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPAmbassador, Ambassador at Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We enjoyed meeting your during your recent stay at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa. You found what many of our guests already know, that staying at The Largest Full Service Gay hotel in Fort Lauderdale is indeed a wonderful way to spend your vacation time. With a full service bar and grill, Day Spa, Fitness center and 24 hour concierge service, who could ask for more? And to top it all off, we are only steps from the beach.

Thank you again for your patronage. We look forward to your return soon. If you want to know what is going on at The Royal Palms, why not follow us on social media.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
95 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
99 reviews
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
244 reviews
Winterset Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 717 Breakers Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4119
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing