We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice time at the Villa Venice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Venice Men's Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice time at the Villa Venice”
Reviewed April 26, 2007

We stayed at the Villa Venice for one week. It was a very nice place. The room was large, private, well-kept and affordable. We liked that we had a kitchenette and private patio.

There were a lot of friendly guys staying at the resort while we were there and we made friends with a few of them.

Terry and his staff are very friendly and helpful. They provided us with good tips for restaurants, shopping, etc. And it didn't hurt that the houseboy Jason hung out at the pool and hot tub in his underwear on his day off. He is HOT!

My only complaint is that the pool doesn't get full sun all day. So, you end up going to the beach or getting out by the pool very early to jockey for one of the few lounge chairs that do get sun the majority of the day.

  • Liked — clothing optional pool and hot tub
  • Disliked — lack of sun by the pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MaxCantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    70
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
154
90
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Compared to other gay boutique hotels we've stayed in, The Villa Venice is truly a cut above. Our room was immaculate and beautifully appointed. It was more like staying with friends as apposed to staying in a hotel. We liked the close availability to the beach and the quick car trip to excellent restaurants and entertainment. The pool and patio area is so nice, we loved the lush landscape. Finally, we appreciate the friendly helpful staff. They guided us in the right direction for food and fun. We will certainly put The Villa Venice in our future Ft. Lauderdale plans. Thanks for a most enjoyable stay!

  • Liked — The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was perfect with upgraded amenities.
  • Disliked — I would like to have seen a cocktail hour or social hour.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank silkoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

There's nothing significantly wrong with Villa Venice. It just left me a little disappointed vs the cleverly-written and photographed website.

Althought nicely refurbished, underneath it's still basically an ordinary 1960 L-shaped 3-storey motel with exterior walkways wrapped around a courtyard (pool and hot tub) which backs onto a side street a couple of blocks away from the main road at the beach.

The work they have done is to a high standard (although it seems a shame it's been done in a "nice-hotel" style rather than as a 60s retro restoration - it looks great in the original 1960s vintage photos).

Examples of the over-selling include:

The "Torino Cafe" is just a converted guestroom with a self-service countertop and fridge. The "lavish continental breakfast" was a small selection of pre-packaged items and some tinned fruit salad in the fridge. The "cafe" only serves breakfast.

The "Guest Business Centre" is one PC with internet access. Complimentary Wi-Fi is provided but this was intermittent for all guests.

The pool area is beautifully landscaped but is quite small. It was the quiet season when I stayed but please note there are only 10 loungers and there are about 20 rooms so maybe up to 40 guests.

The rooms were nicely appointed and newly refurbished. However, the bed mattresses seemed to be covered in plastic sheeting (are their guests incontinent?!) which was noisy and uncomfortable. Other guests commented on this too.

Unlike other gay guesthouses I have stayed at, there were no complimentary drinks by the poolside, let alone evening cocktails - not even a poolside jug of water. Nothing was done to make you feel welcome as a guest. Having just come from a Key West guesthouse with the same room rate where we had made to feel so welcome by all the staff, this place felt very corporate vs the oasis I had just left.

Pool towels were not replenished and replacements are kept under lock and key in the office which closed at 4pm on the Sunday we were there. The only facilities within a 10 minute walk are a couple of cafes. Everything else is a drive away.

A microwave is provided in the room but no plates or cutlery. The office had closed by 4.30pm and they had locked the 'cafe' which might have had a spare plate.

I was not bothered by any construction noise from the numerous large hotel-building projects nearby.

For me, Fort Lauderdale was not as relaxing or convenient as Key West or as fun as South Beach and I'd give it a miss on any future trip to Florida.

This is a perfectly nice place to stay, so long as you realise it's just a motel that's been done up nicely and carefully targeted. As a consequence I think it's somewhat overpriced.

One final point, Villa Venice refused to refund for a day-early checkout (3 nights instead of 4) requested after the first night. They also would not offer the unused day as credit for a future stay. Other guests told us that during the quieter times, it is better to book a day at a time and extend day-by-day to avoid this punitive policy.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank LondonTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2006

My partner and I recently returned from a 10-day stay at Villa Venice in February, 2006. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our impression was that their mission was to please their guests. The hotel has a great location; a short walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping. Wilton Manors is a short drive or cab ride away. The hotel itself was quite nice. The pool and hot tub area were well maintained. The rooms were nicely decorated and functional. Our room, a garden suite, was clean, but I think the housekeeping staff could have done a better job. Have to admit, I am a bit of a clean freak, so perhaps my expectations were a little too high. There was a nice breakfast room where a continental breakfast was served from 8am til 11 am (the staff was very accommodating to those guests who slept past the closing time). There was also a computer with internet access for the use of guests. The clientele here was a good mix of nice people. Overall, I would recommend Villa Venice. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 13, 2005

I just returned from a 5-night stay at Villa Venice and have to say that I've never received such incredible service at any other Fort lauderdale gay guesthouse! From the friendly and outgoing manager, Eddie, to the cute-as-a-button housekeeping staff, it was an incredible experience!

If you're planning a visit to Fort Lauderdale, there's not any other property that would even warrant your consideration - Villa Venice is THE place to be!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 16, 2005

The property is very well appointed and intimate. The atmosphere is relaxing and unassuming. The clientele is diverse yet fun. The customer service is outstanding. Any reasonable request will be fulfilled. Terry, Eddie, Luis and the rest of the gang make your stay enjoyable and fuss free ! We have stayed at the property for an extended stay, as well as for holidays. There's something for anyone at any given time of the day, from a quiet morning or evening on a balcony to happy hours and special events for that social animal in you. We hate to say it (because it's going to be more difficult to get rooms in the future!) but we highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

. . . . the charm, the comraderie, the warmth

that every traveler wants but seldoms finds is all here at The Villa Venice. Every contemporary convenience is considered. High ceilinged superbly decorated rooms and a pool/garden that inspires photographers blend with the friendly ambiance created by the owner and accomodating staff. All the details are right - and the breakfast is good and there is always someone there to discuss events and share stories with. I'll return again and again.

Ron from Cincinnati

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#56 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Alcazar Resort
#4 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Venice Men's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Venice Men's Resort

Property: Villa Venice Men's Resort
Address: 2900 Terramar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4013
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Venice is now part of The Worthington Complex, combined they have 63 rooms making it the largest Gay men's resort in North America.2 blocks from the beach, Villa Venice Men's Resort offers beautiful rooms decorated in tropical motif featuring Italian tile and marble baths. Each features luxury linens, cable television, DVD/CD, refrigerator, microwave, safe, telephone, wireless internet & climate control.Most overlook a spacious courtyard featuring clothing-optional tropical pool, 15-man Spa and exquisite landscaping with bubbling fountains, exotic orchids and colorful birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Venice Men`s Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing