We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, old charm, but beware of manager”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Merriweather Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is a great spot on the fading Ft. Lauderdale Beach, as it gives way to multi-millionares, and fewer middle class folks. Unusual to find a spot friendly to pets, and children which makes an interesting combination. However, beware of the fickle nature of the manager. Do not trust what she promises, or how nice she initially presents herself. She cannot be trusted for a second.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merriowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2009

We have stayed here since 1970, but now we find that there is no guidence as to availability of rooms. (------------)

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartanburg_SCSwifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I asked the hotel if they could receive some mail prior to my parents' stay in Sep-2008. Being frequent customers they agreed to do so. After my parents had to cancel their visit due to a serious (and luckily solved) health issue, I notified the hotel and asked them to keep the package until further instructions. Once again, they agreed to do so.
My parents finally traveled to Ft. Lauderdale in Jan-2009 and were unpleasantly surprised to hear from the hotel manager (a character named Mary Joe who they used to like) that she had given away our packages to a maid who no longer worked there. Being 75 years-old and not very fluent in English my parents had no choice but to put up with Mary Joe's sarcasm,
When they got back to Argentina and let me know the news I immediately called the hotel. Mary Joe complained that we had taken advantage of her by making her hold the pacakges for over 5 months (she had told my parents that she had disposed them after 30 days !!!!) and that she had given them to someone in need (I do charity on a regular basis WITH MY OWN MONEY).
She would not answer why she neither contacted us before getting rid of our things nor returned them to the sender. She would also refuse to compensate me for the cost of the goods, and was nasty enough to accuse me of not taking adequate care of our handicapped daughter (who she knows well after several stays).
It is a real pity because the place is great. Hope they get rid of the thief so we can once again enjoy it.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank MaEugenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

We have stayed twice at the Merriweather Resort. The first time we found this nice small resort just by accident and loved it so much that we came for a second stay a year later.

If you like small resorts with a personal touch more than the stereotypic chains then this is your cup of tea.

The apartments are really huge and very clean. It is not new but it is very clean (I think they clean the resort twice a day or so) and the atmosphere is so nice and personal. The staff is always very helpful and the location is unbeatable. Its on the tiny stretch in Ft.Lauderdale where you have restaurants and bars directly on the beach without the need to drive by car to get somewhere.

Next time we're in Ft-Lauderdale we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darmstadt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

I gotta agree w/ the one star rating from NJ. RCI should really be ashamed having this listed as a timeshare resort. This place reminds me of a Super 8 or Motel 6 w/ a kitchen combo. The back alley sign is really hard to find this place. The pool is so small reminds me of something someone would have in their yard circa early 90s/ late 80s. And the parking lot reminds me of sardines in a can.

The kicker was when my fiance and his father went to try and check in and saw 3 Rotts in the lobby area w/ food and dishes around them it just looked very unsanitary. And I'm a pet owner and lover but this place is a dump, I wouldn't even bring my own 2 dogs here.

Fiance's father wasn't having it. We NEVER checked it, and he called RCI let them know he wasn't pleased and we were bumped up/ into Palm Beach Shores and had a really nice stay .

Only plus about this place is the beach across the street (and good luck crossing b/c it is a very busy street!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Lil_Bunny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My name is swede from Philadelphia Pa. this is about the six time I've stayed here; I found my stay to be a total joy! The view and location is perfect. Everything that I needed was tended too. Kept very clean and they were mindful around my activities. The women running the Merriweather Mary-Jo I think, was fantastic to deal with reservations, stay and knowledge of the area-everything.

swedenuk@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PhiladelphiaSwedenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

My name is Kim Diamond and my husband and I have been staying at the Merriweather Resort for almost 20 odd years, and we do not wish to stay anywhere else. The place is so nice, clean, and the staff is so friendly, helpful and have become like a family when we are there. Mary Jo is the Merriweather Resort, she runs a tight ship and is so accomodating at the same time. Mary Jo has gone above and beyond her call of duty to please each and every guest that is staying at the Merriweather. We cannot say enough about this place. We are extremely satisfied with each and every time we stay , which last year we were able to visit 5 times. Thank-You Mary-Jo for being such a great person. Love Kim and Tom

1  Thank lynn_MaKimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,856 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,846 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,619 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,760 reviews
snooze
#4 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4310
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merriweather Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing