We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Merriweather Resort
Nearby Hotels
snooze(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$342
$305
Conrad.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$177
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$419
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$212
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
119
31
6
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
31
6
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary joacross the streetwithin walking distancefull kitchenpets are allowedonly place i will staygreat weeklauderdale beachhome away from homerooms are clean and spaciousrestaurants and barsevery guestthe king size bedreasonable rateslocation is excellentbeautiful poolheated pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 169 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This resort is adorable!!! Nestled beach-side, just past the Ritz, you will find the Merriweather. Your eyes may be glazed over from all of the other attractions on the beach - but don't pass this one up!!

My mom and I were in search of a place to stay for a night while enjoying a music festival, after I jumped out of the car on/off for an hour to seek availability in numerous other spots, we decided to hop into the Merriweather. As soon as I walked into the office, I knew we had found a good place - a beautiful, sweet-as-can-be husky lay on the floor and a cat was perched on the counter, with another super-cure pup behind the counter.

We took the penthouse, as it was the only room available. When we walked in, we were in awe! Glass window/ceiling combinations in both the kitchen and the master bathroom were a delight! Both rooms had an oceanfront view and a balcony. It was quite hard to leave the next day - we felt like queens.

Long story short - this place is great! The staff was overly awesome, the room was excellent and I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat! Thanks for the AMAZING early birthday present, Merriweather!

Room Tip: The penthouse was amazing!!! Perfect for a few people or 2 couples traveling together!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lshep002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

The husky's name is Grace and she truly LOVES greeting the guests. We are happy that you decided to stop in and try us out. We look forward to having you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Merriweather recently. We thoroughly enjoyed having the conveniences of home with the apartment style accommodations. As previous reviews have mentioned, the decor is a bit dated, but otherwise this place is great. It's extremely well maintained and the staff members were very pleasant and helpful. We had a king bed that was very comfortable and the kitchen had all the necessary utensils & appliances....including a blender for those poolside cocktails. There were blow dryers at the front desk if u needed to borrow one.....as well as beach chairs/towels.

We loved the idea that we didn't have to rent a car for our short stay. This location lends itself to being central enough to get around via foot, trolley (50cents), taxi, or water taxi. The Galleria mall is probably within a mile from the property and there's a Publix grocery store across the street. You can take the trolley (runs on street in front of hotel...just flag it down) to the mall drop off location and then walk over to publix and take a cab back for around $10. Keep in mind that Publix (& CVS) only have beer and wine. Our cab driver stopped at a little bar/liquor store location (don't be frightened...i went inside alone) called "The Hut" right behind Publix for our cocktail needs. Turns out their wine prices(wine openers in kitchen) were also cheaper ($10/bottle less on my purchase) than at CVS(open 24 hrs), where I later walked (1 block) from our hotel to get a bag of ice. Hotel freezers have ice makers, but couldn't keep up with blending. The Galleria mall also has a few higher end chain restaurant/bars with outdoor seating....PF Changs, Capitol Grill, Trulux, Seasons 52 (piano in bar), & Blue Martini (live music at night). The other area that we visited on our previous trip was "Los Olas Blvd".....in the other direction from the hotel, with plenty of unique restaurant and bar options....another short cab ride. There are plenty of low key, "fun places" to enjoy eating and drinking within walking distance from the hotel as well. Not-to-mention, you have the Ritz Carlton, Westin, "W", and other nice hotels on either side for upscale dining options "by foot".

Although we don't have pets, this is a pet friendly hotel. I have a tendancy to suffer from allergies, but didn't have any problems during our stay. It was actually rather endearing to see the cats "right at home" on the property. None of the animals were intrusive.

This is definitely not a "party property" and management does not tolerate late night noise. Things are pretty quiet and family oriented. That's not to say that the adults weren't enjoying poolside legal beverages during the day. However, everything stays under control.

We had previously stayed at the Westin and were intrigued as we walked by the merriweather, so we stopped by to take a look at the rooms. It was clearly a "great find"...and we're so glad we gave it a try and would definitely return.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 105 on the first floor directly across from office. we personally liked being on first floor with good proximity to walk back and forth to the pool for drink refills. you could still sit outside your room and see pool and ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammynovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Poolside cocktails...who could ask for more?! Thanks for writing such a lovely review of our place and it seems as if we are your new place to stay at in Ft. Lauderdale, which is wonderful! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is close to our 10th visit at the Merriweather Resort and I am looking forward to the next. #1 - location - you can't beat it! #2 - Clean - Joyce has been here since I have been coming and she does a great job in keeping the units clean and just friendly as can be. A new pool, new courtyard brick replaced wooden walkways a few years ago. This place just rocks! Simple pleasures of life can be experienced here at the Merriweather. It's not the Ritz Carlton (which is next door) - it's better! Just depends on what you are looking for in life. Go. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashPA0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for mentioning Joyce! Isn't she the best? We look forward to seeing you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Second stay at the Merriweather. Since we were traveling with another couple, we decided to try the Penthouse. Beautiful kitchen which we used daily for breakfast and lunch so we didn't have to take away from our time in the Florida sun. Typical Florida motel furnishings in remainder of penthouse. Location is excellent. You can walk to everything you need. Steps from the ocean. Nice pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We're so glad you had a great experience with us. The penthouse is definitely worth it! Please consider us again for your next trip to Ft. Lauderdale!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I decided to head to Ft. Lauderdale on a girls trip away from our families. After much research to find an affordable yet nice place, we found the Merriweather. We were a little skeptical as it is surrounded by high-end hotels but it turned out to be awesome! We are in our early 30s so we wanted to be close to the beach, with a pool, close to amenities and things to do like the water taxis and bars but not crazy in price or in the "Thick" of where the spring breakers are. When we first arrived, I immediately thought "retro". Upon first impression, you will see the décor to be early 90s Caribbean. However, upon inspection, everything is taken care of. Painted, maintained and clean. The walkways have been upgraded to paver stone and pool is clean and warm and has a great spot right out front. Each room has chairs and a table out front for relaxing outside your room. There's a patio out from with a grill and chairs for the guests use. We were in Room 101 which is right up front with ocean and pool views. One of our initial concerns was the noise as it was college spring break last week and the street is right there but not once did we hear anyone. The Bed was a memory foam king bed..and I'm not sure if all the rooms have this but it's the first time I've slept on this type of bed. I prefer soft beds and my friend prefers hard but we both commented that it was comfortable and I slept great everynight feeling rested the next morning...extremely important to us considering we are used to kids waking us both up early haha.
Our only improvement that we could have requested was the check-out time is very early, 10AM. However, this possibly helps the cleaning staff to make sure the rooms are very clean and ready for the next guests without rushing. Our plane was leaving late (8:20pm!) and we had no where to go and no car. Mary Jo was awesome and let us store our luggage in the front lobby. We used the pool all day and had access to a restroom as well. She even offered use of an open room (since ours was reserved for that night) if we needed to take a shower or nap. You will NOT get this type of service at any of the high end hotels anywhere. The small ownership of this resort allows for a more intimate feeling with the guests and employees and we appreciated everything that this place had to offer. Also, not having a car was no problem. The taxi's were plentiful and the water taxi is just a couple blocks away as well.

We did walk to the beach but preferred to spend our time at the pool (literally 30-50 feet from the beach) as we still got the view but with all the resort conveniences.

I would return to the Merriweather in a heartbeat and maybe next time we will both bring our families.

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 201 and 301 are on the street side however they have a pool and ocean view. We enjoyed 101 as it was ground floor. There are stairs to get to 201 and 301 but they have higher views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarStruckWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thanks for your thorough review of our hotel and all of your very kind words. It truly makes our day! Regarding check out time...you're absolutely right.. We do need time to thoroughly clean the rooms before the next guest arrives. Because we are not just a hotel but foremost a timeshare resort complete with kitchens, it is essential that we do not rush cleaning and we have time to check details. Please bring your friends for another "girls trip" soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews