We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Merriweather Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Awesome price, Great location, Beautiful Beach. The hotel was clean and comfortable. However the pull out couch is only about 2 inches deep so if you have bigger kids, I dont think they will be to comfortable. But I will say, a little discomfort for the view and the beach is always tolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor so you can see the ocean in the am outside on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your nice review! Also, thank you for bringing up the sofa sleepers. We do plan on replacing them in the future. Thanks again and we hope to see you here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
46
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Merriweather Resort countless times through the years and have loved it every single time we've been! The resort pool overlooks the Blvd., as well as the beach and ocean! Quiet, well maintained, and Merrijo is the best manager of ANY place we have ever stayed! She remembers all of her guests by name, and even when we went on a cruise last year and didn't stay there . . . she let us park at the resort for the day while we waited to board our plane! We hadn't called first, but I walked in and she knew me by my first name! Can't say enough about this wonderful resort! Small, quaint, clean and FRIENDLY! Pet friendly too, even though we've never brought our doggies! Have FUN! Thanks Merrijo!

Room Tip: Any room at this resort is great! If there is one room I wouldn't recommend (even though when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you sweetie! We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were there through an RCI exchange. Because it was pet friendly, we expected it to be less than wonderful. What a great surprise that not only was the staff VERY pet-friendly, but the resort was better than expected. It was small and a bit older and the kitchen could have been better stocked but the murphy bed was surprisingly comfortable and the location could not have been better! It was clear that the staff takes pride in their work and they went way out of there way to do anything to make us (and our dog) happy. Excellent customer service and a great vacation. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The studios are quite small so only get that if you are a couple. There are some rooms that face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnieusma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. You're right, we do take pride in our work and it's because we love what we do and we love our guests! We are planning kitchen renovations on certain units starting this fall and will take into consideration your comment on stocking them. We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week back in January. We had a one bedroom unit, and it felt very much like home. There was a casual atmosphere, staff and other guest were very friendly, and we couldn't have asked for a better location. Restaurants and stores were in walking distance, and the ocean was directly across the street. I see some reviews saying the the rooms and furniture are "dated" but I think that was part of the charm. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the one bedroom unit was more space than my husband and I needed. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know that you enjoyed your vacation at the Merriweather! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and invite you to stay with us next time you are in Ft. Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We discovered this little gem last summer vacation. We wanted a place close to the beach (you just have to cross the street), restaurants and shopping. This place has everything we needed! I loved the room, it was clean and spacious, has everything you need in the kitchen. If you want to save money on breakfast and lunch, just buy your own groceries and feel at home here. I thought it was great for families, but it's also perfect for couples or even people with pets because they're so pet friendly. They have free parking and you can even do your laundry there.
They have a swimmimg pool and grill on the patio. All the restaurants and bars are all close within walking distance. We enjoyed it so much we already booked for this summer's vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocobettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
We are beyond pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return this summer.
The hot florida sun and our gorgeous beaches are waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe twp., nj
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at the Merriweather and it was just perfect. Mary Jo was so accomodating and she loved our bulldog Murphy. So pet friendly we intend to return in November and can't wait. Our favorite vacation spot. The location can't be beat right across from the beach

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quatco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
We would love to have you and Murphy back! Looking forward to seeing you here in November. Thank you for taking the time to tell the world that you love the Merriweather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmont, ma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just returned from our annual Florida trip. My wife, son, and I stayed for four days at the Merriweather. It was our second stay there. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and spotlessly clean. The Merriweather is directly across the street from the beach and a short walk from all of the beachfront activity. It is two doors from the Ritz-Carlton, where you could easily pay twice as much. The staff is friendly and helpful. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alligator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Great! Thanks for your kind review and we look forward to having you stay with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,702 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,549 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#36 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,730 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,805 reviews
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#94 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Property: The Merriweather Resort
Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4310
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merriweather Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merriweather Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing