We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again we hope to be coming back every year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Merriweather Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Once again we hope to be coming back every year!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

One of the best little Resorts we stay at...incredibly clean everytime. It was such a joy to see Mary Jo... everyone working there makes you feel at home...

The grounds are beautiful and well kept, the resort is a block away from beachplace and right across the street from Ft.Lauderdale beach...

We hope to be back next year...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie-E-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thanks! It is an absolute pleasure having you here and we certainly hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    30
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
64
44
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Second time here in two years. Zero Complaints. Such a comfortable, clean place and great location for all ages right on the beach. Next door to Fat Tuesdays/Hooters and a bunch of bars and restaurants looking out over the beach. All staff and guests were very friendly. The resort is smaller so you end up meeting everybody and their pets. So as a favor to other guests and the staff, don't go here if you're a negative person and intend on spreading that energy around. The staff was also very accommodating to my needs Anybody who talks bad about Mary Jo probably came to Merriweather looking for and creating problems. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jugray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you very much! We look forward to having you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Md
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We love the Merriweather so close to the beach we will always stay here. Missy has become a friend of sorts and always looks out for us. We love the location and stay here each time we are in Lauderdale

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thanks! We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va.Beach
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Nice place . Great staff . Pool was open ( YAY ) . I enjoyed the lanscaping also .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ULTRON5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The first impression you get from this hotel is that it is incredibly worn-out, and as we know, first impressions are usually right. Situated right between huge, beautiful and classy hotels Merryweather looks like a thorn in the eye. The pool was small and incredible boring, the staff was no where to be found and our air condition was broken and no one came to fix it. There were cockroaches in our room and the sofa-bed was not particularly easy to pull out.

However, not everything is bad about this hotel. The location is amazing! It is right next to an amazing beach and if you're lucky you get to see sea turtles laying their eggs. Furthermore the rooms were usually cleaned every day and the bed in the actual bedroom was really comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ca87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid-west
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is a great spot on the fading Ft. Lauderdale Beach, as it gives way to multi-millionares, and fewer middle class folks. Unusual to find a spot friendly to pets, and children which makes an interesting combination. However, beware of the fickle nature of the manager. Do not trust what she promises, or how nice she initially presents herself. She cannot be trusted for a second.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merriowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We have stayed here since 1970, but now we find that there is no guidence as to availability of rooms. (------------)

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartanburg_SCSwifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,486 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Silver Seas Beach Resort
Silver Seas Beach Resort
#84 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
97 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Property: The Merriweather Resort
Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4310
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Merriweather Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Merriweather Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing