We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way over priced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Palace

Rainbow Palace
Reserve with OpenTable
Rainbow Palace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #226 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Way over priced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very disappointing; appetizers were awful - wantons and 1 greasy spring roll. Mains were ok but certainly not worth the high price. We know good food and this certainly was not. Surprised to see all the good reviews here - compared to where I'd love to know!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontolovefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    11
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Don't be put off by the unassuming exterior of this place – there is a jewel of a restaurant inside.

We started with calamari, which was very good and a good portion size for 2 to share. For our entrees, I really enjoyed the night’s special, which was a crispy fish. My dining partner (who is a fried-rice fanatic) raved about the Seafood Fried Rice.

The wait-staff were among the best we’ve experienced anywhere; both of us were completely charmed by our waiter’s meticulous service.

FYI, the restaurant décor and wait staff uniforms are quite formal; we and the rest of the clientele we saw that night were dressed smart-casual.

The next time we're in Ft Lauderdale, we'll make a point of visiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nc1MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Expensive & Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a tasty down home type Chinatown type restaurant - look elsewhere. This is not your typical Chinese restaurant. Many people do not come here because of the high prices.

This is the best Chinese restaurant in Fort Lauderdale for its ambiance and food. The duck and lobster is delicious. This is the best Chinese restaurant for a business dinner or date. White glove and waiters in Tuxedos - nice touch. I love the plates and utensils they use. The location is ideal and easy to get to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljunkiesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yes, the restaurant is more expensive than your average Chinese restaurant, but this isn't your "average" restaurant.

Sadly most people do not understand or appreciate fine dining.

It is not just about the food, but rather the entire dining experience.
The staff is professional (what one might call white-glove service) with excellent attention to detail, and the food is extremely fresh and well prepared.

Very good experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“another great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

On new years eve we forgot to make reservation and got finally to rainbow palace. It was our first time and we liked it. The place is nice and the service we got from Paul was excellent. In very good english he explained the special dish of that day. We recomnend the roast duck with grand marnier and the lobster with ginger and vegetables Combined with the mixed fried rice it is heavenly good. The best way is to share!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Palace also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Rainbow Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing