We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to stay prior/after a cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Ranked #12 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2010

My stay was for two days prior to a cruise. The hotel provides a free shuttle to/ from the airport and a shuttle from the hotel to the cruiseport which costs $8. I arrived mid-afternoon and called the hotel when I had my luggage. They provided me with exact instructions on where to go outside the terminal and what the van would look like. The van arrived in about 20 minutes.

Check-in was very quick and easy. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. I had a 32 inch TV (around that size anyway) and a work desk where you could hardwire into their network (they do have WiFi though).

There is not much around the hotel. There is a strip mall across the street with a Winn-Dixie, a restaurant, pizza take-out, liquor store, etc. There are a couple of other restaurants reasonably close and the hotel has a deal with a restaurant called KiKi's (in the Crowne Plaza hotel I believe). They will come and pick you up and bring you back.

The restaurant across the street is called Slackers. It's a sports type bar with lots of TV's. I went there twice, enjoyed it and would go back. They have daily specials on drinks and food. Note that smoking is allowed in the restaurant (from what I read due to food/drink ratios). They do have a good smoke removal system though and as mentioned I would go back (I'm a non-smoker).

The hotel has a breakfast bar which had, when I was there:
. 4 types of cereal
. Sausage patties
. Bread, bagels, biscuits (and a toaster), butter, jams
. Scrambled Eggs
. Yogurt
. Coffee
. Juice
. Milk
Those are all I can remember. It was a good way to start the day.

The hotel has:
. Free WiFi which worked well
. An outdoor pool - lots of chairs
. Exercise room - did not use
. Free shuttle as mentioned

The staff were all very friendly. I'd recommend this location for a pre/post cruise stay. For a longer stay, you'll need a car as there is not much within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ggrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

We found this hotel to be clean and comfortable. They thought of everything a traveler could want, including a packaged wipe to remove makeup. If you forget your basics, they'll provide it for free. We stayed prior to our cruise and enjoyed the free shuttle from the airport to the hotel and then to the ship, the following day. Friends paid $13 (+ tip) for a taxi from the airport. Free breakfast. Restaurants and shops across the street, as well as a German restaurant nearby. Convenient location - 10 mins. from the cruiseport and airport. Looked newly painted, inside and out. Nice updates. No bed bugs either! Because I booked online, we stayed at a different hotel after the cruise, which was far more crowded and not nearly as nice, for only a few dollars less. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank laurene777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

I've staid at other Holiday Inn Express hotels, and as usual, a great stay. Everything was clean. Good restaurants nearby. Staid here before taking a cruise to the Caribbean, so the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duaneger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We arrived late - 1am after waiting over an hour for the shuttle to hotel. Not very organized because everyone jumps onboard. We called but got bumped to the next trip.
We arrived tired and much to my dismay I found that my bed had been slept in and not refreshed. The person on duty at the time was not with housekeeping so I received a delivery of 3 sheets (no pillowcases) and I remade my own bed.
Bathroom floors were dirty. Comp Breakfast buffet and shuttle to cruise pier were great!
Brekfast buffet w

Bathroom f

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoomerGal1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This is obviously an old property and it's showing it's age. No Fox News Channel. WiFi is barely there.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keylime44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed the day before catching a flight to the Bahamas. The hotel's shuttle service ended up picking up another couple and took off before we got our luggage. Lesson learned - call after you've got your luggage. We eventually made it to the hotel. Even though I had requested a room away from the elevator, the room assigned to us was right next to it. We were told that they were at full capacity and that the rooms were very quiet. It turns out the room was clean, quiet, and fairly comfortable. The place could use a little updating/refurbishing. We ate at the Chipotle across the street and got a good night's rest. The breakfast was good and the shuttle was right ontime to take us to the airport. Overall, a good experience for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Front desk service was very good. The room was the dirtiest in have ever experienced in a Holiday Inn property. Manager offered to change our room. Would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#10 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,939 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#40 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#36 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
3,375 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise

Address: 1150 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: $149 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port is located near the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port & Broward County Convention Center - the perfect choice for a business or leisure stay. The beaches, Shops of Las Olas, Riverwalk Arts & Entertainment district, downtown, Museums, Theaters, Malls and a variety of restaurants & local attractions are all within a short drive.The hotel pampers guests daily by serving a complimentary 'Express Start breakfast bar' along with USA Today news. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms & suites plus free local calls, microwave/fridge, & coffee maker. The Marina Mile Meeting Room, Express Board Room & business center features high-speed Internet access. Adding to the many guest amenities & services to assure your stay is comfortable & pleasant an exercise room with state-of-the-art equipment, Coin laundry room, and outdoor heated pool in a tropical garden setting are on-site.A complimentary shuttle is available from 5:30 AM to midnight to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport. Drop-off transportation to Port Everglades cruise port is available on a complimentary basis. 'A completely non-smoking hotel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing