We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient hotel for our trip and cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Ranked #17 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for our trip and cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Clean and pleasantly furnished hotel with friendly staff and your typical decent Holiday Inn Express breakfast. We did not use the pool which was in the back, but it looked clean. Several restaurant options across the street, but take the crosswalk, since the road was very busy. COnvenient shuttle to the airport free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy50holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    317
    83
    21
    18
See reviews for
242
262
45
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The good - The hotel room was clean and the staff was friendly & courteous. Free shuttle from the airport is a bonus as long as you are not arriving at a busy time. If so, take a cab to avoid the line, wait & hassle.
They do offer a shuttle service to the port, but it is a nomial fee ($8pp). This is run by an outside transportation service. Again, if you plan to get to the port early or a little later, this is a good option , otherwise, it is a fire drill. During busy times and to avoid the hassle, it is just as easy to take a cab.
Free breakfast buffet is OK., but crazy busy on cruise getaway day, so either go down real early or after the crowds have left for the port.

The bad - The area is not the best and dining options are very limited if you plan to walk to any restaurants.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoboToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear BoboToronto,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel because it included transport to the cruise terminal. And they kept our car for the week. It was slightly further away from the port than we would prefer, however it was available, affordable, and clean and included breakfast.
Staff were nice.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, close to airport and cruise port. Room was clean and smoke free. Front desk staff were courteous and got us checked in quickly - a plus since we were delayed til midnight! Breakfast in the morning, was, as other reviewers said, nothing spectacular, but adequate and well stocked. Shuttle service was great both from airport to hotel (free) and hotel to port (reasonable charge). Doesnt look like there is much in the area for dining, but that was not an issue for us this trip. All in all, a good away. Would stay again before another cruise.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sdcruisingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel and staff were AMAZING! The rooms were exactly as advertised, the pool was clean and had plenty of seating with either lounge chairs or tables. The breakfast buffet was your typical hotel fare, but all was hot and fully stocked. The employees running the breakfast were constantly replenishing and keeping everything clean and orderly. Angie at the front desk was very helpful and had recomendations of where to go to for good food and was quick to call for a cab or shuttle when needed. When we came back the day after getting off the cruise, she recognized us immediately and got us into our room well before normal check in time. I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked a king suite room for our family for one night prior to our cruise for spring break. Our flight was delayed and we arrived at the airport at 10 pm. Shuttle service to the hotel ran every half hour on the Saturday night we arrived-may be different other times. Shuttle driver was very friendly and our particular shuttle stopped at two other hotels prior to ours (other IHG properties).

We were not given our reserved king suite and when we inquired, the front desk informed us that the system did not show us having reserved this category even though I produced a copy of our reservation. Perhaps due to our late arrival and with so many cruisers on spring break, our room had been given out earlier? So much for guaranteed room category with credit card reservation. Luckily we only have one younger child and we were able to share one king bed but not as comfortably as I had hoped for. We did not pay for the higher room rate and we were charged for the correct room rate. I did make this reservation thru a "IHG friends and family" site and maybe the sites don't share this room category info? I will inquire with my corporate contact as to the reason... We were given our complimentary Priority member welcome bag which consisted of bottled water, granola bar, and bag of Cheezits.

There is microwave, coffee machine, refrigerator in the decent sized room we were given. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are clean. Free breakfast consisted of the standard Holiday Inn Express fare with coffee, tea, juices, milk, hot chocolate, yogurt, bananas, oatmeal, omelet type eggs, sausage, biscuits, donuts, muffins, toast, bagels, pancakes, cereal served from 6 to 10 am. Considering this is part of your room rate and not an additional cost, I don't understand how others can complain about the buffet.

There is a shopping center with a Winn Dixie, Thai restaurant, McDonalds, Pizza place, Subway for food options but you must cross a busy interstate to get there. Not much traffic late at night or early in the morning but much busier during the day.

Check out is at 11 am- fine with us since able to check in with cruise by 11:30-12 noon. Shuttle service provided by hotel to the port for $8 per person or call 954-777-7777 for taxi at lower rate.

I would probably stay here again due to the location, airport shuttle, nice staff, and a later arrival time from flight. If earlier arrival, perhaps one of the hotels by the beach would my suit my needs better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My first experience with the staff was a person who cut in line to get help. I understand people are in a hurry for flights, etc. but I expected to clerk to gesture to the line to show there were several people waiting. They didn't. We all waited for the clerk to take care of the person before helping us. Then when I pulled out the key to get in the room, I realized she only gave us one key for 5 people (3 adults). The pool is large and has several chairs and tables to lounge. Breakfast is plentiful, but they shut it down completely at 10 or so and barely have coffee for the rest of the day.

The hotel is located near a Winn-Dixie and several restaurants and stores. However, they are all on the other side of the highway. Luckily we were there on a Sunday, but I would not think a family with small children would want to cross this street! The fitness room is really limited. The treadmills are basically on or off. And the weight area is tiny. This is my fourth hotel in the area pre-cruise, and I wouldn't choose this one again :(

Room Tip: The third floor has laundry facilities. It was helpful when we needed to dry our swimsuits before pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Management, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the negative impression you had and quality of the service you received. I will certainly discuss your comments with our staff. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for posting your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#15 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#20 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#27 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#33 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Ai...
#35 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Downtown Las Olas Area, FL.
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale /Down...
#37 of 135 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Address: 1150 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port is located near the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port & Broward County Convention Center - the perfect choice for a business or leisure stay. The beaches, Shops of Las Olas, Riverwalk Arts & Entertainment district, downtown, Museums, Theaters, Malls and a variety of restaurants & local attractions are all within a short drive.The hotel pampers guests daily by serving a complimentary 'Express Start breakfast bar' along with USA Today news. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms & suites plus free local calls, microwave/fridge, & coffee maker. The Marina Mile Meeting Room, Express Board Room & business center features high-speed Internet access. Adding to the many guest amenities & services to assure your stay is comfortable & pleasant an exercise room with state-of-the-art equipment, Coin laundry room, and outdoor heated pool in a tropical garden setting are on-site.A complimentary shuttle is available from 5:30 AM to midnight to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport. Drop-off transportation to Port Everglades cruise port is available on a complimentary basis. 'A completely non-smoking hotel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing