We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch Place”
Review of Johnny V - CLOSED

Johnny V
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th street
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Place”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is clearly a hot night spot but we enjoy going for lunch. It is not too busy and it is really good. They make a great tomato soup, an awesome lobster salad (you have to ask for it) and the restaurant has really good service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussytraveler440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    117
    41
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
681 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“our first visit - very impressed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first visit to Johnny V's - we will be back. We sat on the front patio - lots of fun people-watching on hopping Las Olas Boulevard. There are lots of shops and galleries on Las Olas open late, so it's a nice area for an after-dinner stroll to let your food settle. Service was excellent. Wine list is good. Food was delicious. One small'ish gripe: they switched the fish on me without letting me know. Note to kitchen: when you run out of a fish type and you need to substitute, you should lawys let the diner know about the need to switch - it's a common courtesy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Johnny V - A wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

First, I must mention that Las Olas is one of my favorite " go to" spots in Ft. Lauderdale. It is a combination of chic, artsy and cosmopolitan all wrapped up in one! It was Valentine"s Day and we did not have a dinner reservation. We took a chance and went into Johnny V's. The restaurant was bustling with couples celebrating a wonderful evening out. The aromas were so enticing so we decided to stay despite the fact that would have to eat at the bar. Our experience could not have been better if we were at a table, actually it was fun and very comfortable.My husband ordered a NY Strip, my daughter surf and turf, and I had the petite filet mignon that was perfect they served delicious fresh veggies and wonderful potatoes. All three entrees were excellent as well as the service. I would highly recommend having lunch, dinner or both at Johnny V. We am looking forward to going back again next winter!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Dropped in for light lunch with an elderly lady with special needs. Staff were excellent, took everything in their stride and did everything to make us welcome including going off menu for her lunch. Had a great meal and a lovely time! Thank you Johnny V

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went for dinner and had an outside table.
The service was top notch and the food... It's definitely a must-go restaurant, it should be on the Michelin guide.
We had mussels (almost a main course) and lobster trio (wow) as starters and suggestions of the day (Curry marinated tuna seared) and Mahi as main courses. Both were truly excellent. Portions are generous and the wine was excellent.
Ok it's a bit pricey but you pay for excellent food so it's fair.
We will definitely go again and try other dish.

Bravo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny V also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing