We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bon Appetit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 33rd & Dine French Cafe - CLOSED

33rd & Dine French Cafe
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Such a lovely family owned restaurant. The menu is always splendid and service with warmth!
We dine there every time we visit Ft.Lauderdale. Outdoor dining is a plus!
Every meal has been an A+. Crepes are to die for!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Living in the neighborhood, it is to our advantage to be able to love and support this restaurant. Unfortunately, eating here is not advisable for many reasons. Although quality of food usually trumps atmosphere in our reviews. the decrepit state of this place is an immediate turn off. If you do go, be sure to sit outside so you do not have to smell the old, moldy carpet. In any event, do not use the restroom, where you risk walking by the dirtiest kitchen imaginable on your way to an ill-kept bathroom.
As far as food, if you still have an appetite, perhaps you will enjoy their overpriced crepes, served without anything else, not even a few shreds of lettuce or even a garnish. Their entrees are universally drowned in bland, fattening cream sauces. served with nondescript unseasoned rice or potatoes. As others have commented, you will be served a few slices of mass marketed, dull french bread in the basket with butter in wrappers. There really is not much to like about this uninspired cuisine, especially given the pick of other, far better restaurants within a stone's throw. Save your money, and appetite, and head to La Dolce Vita, directly opposite, or the ever faithfully good Greek Islands across the street.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax NS
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“delightful find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

this place suffers from its location in a somewhat declining (albeit trying for resurrection) area newly donned North Beach in Fort Lauderdale. It is a lovely French cafe with a bit of elegance yet not overdone. It has a varied menu with a wide variety of crepes along with entrees with a french flair. I had the crepe deauville (scallops in creme sauce)--wonderful. Other people had the chicken in creme sauce crepe and loved it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agnesofdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good French food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

33rd & Dine offers lovely French meals at a reasonable price. Lunch is especially low priced with a variety of salads and sandwiches while dinners offer more entrees. Service can be a bit lax. Chocolate mousse is quite good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We wanted to like it, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had high hopes but were very disappointed. Four of us went after the boat parade - we had a 9:00 pm reservation and were seated right away in the middle of the restaurant. There are about 15 tables inside and 3 were occupied plus a group seated outside. The menus and basket of cold, grocery store french bread were brought to the table. We were ready to order and the two waiters continued to bustle back and forth completely ignoring us. No drink orders. No mention of daily specials. No eye contact. Nothing! A couple came in about 10 minutes after us, clearly regulars, and were totally fussed over. Drinks were brought to them right away and we continued to be ignored. Finally, we got the attention of one waiter to request water, a lit candle (ours was the only table with an unlit candle), oh - and some silverware would be nice. We were quickly accommodated but continued to wait for a drink order to be taken. We flagged over the other waiter (who appeared to be in charge) and he seemed dumbfounded that we wanted to order!

Things got better when our appetizers arrived: garlicky escargot and delicious onion soup. The wine list was really limited and we ended up with a carafe of wine - nothing special and for $20 we weren't expecting a fine wine! We ordered dinner (steak, salmon, crepe Francilienne and tuna steak). While we were waiting for our dinner, the "in charge" waiter stopped by to take our dessert order. Um...we are waiting for our meals...

Three of the meals were perfectly cooked and delicious. However the tuna steak was disgusting. It smelled fishy and tasted like cleaning fluid. They must've known the fish was bad because there was NO argument and they automatically deducted it from the bill.

Beware if you're using a Groupon. We presented it when we ordered and the bill was for the full amount of the meal. The waiter said "Oh, we deduct the amount when we put your credit card through." That seems like a tactic to "hope" you forget to look for the discount and pay on the full amount.

This restaurant is very uneven - the food is overall good, but the service needs serious improvement.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prlcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 33rd & Dine French Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing