We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place For A Group Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southport Raw Bar

Southport Raw Bar
Ranked #38 of 1,322 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia,TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Place For A Group Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a group of 21 here for dinner and had a great time. Menu has plenty of variety. Happy hour specials and daily specials are offered. Inside or outside tables available. Service was good and the prices made this a great place for our group outing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djrmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    339
    97
    37
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with the food and even more so with the service (or the lack of it)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I found this restaurant through Tripadvisor, and boy, I don't think I can be anymore disappointed. We arrived at the place at around 8pm on a Saturday night. It was pretty packed but we were seated within 5 minutes (that's the only positive). After we were seated, it took our server over 20 minutes to come greet us (after we asked for our server from the hostess). We were seated at the same time with two other parties adjacent to our tables. One of them (I'll refer to party A) had the server we had (a young man in his late 20s) and the other party (I'll refer to them as party B) had another server (some middle-age lady). The server for party B was attending to party B all the time...she cracked jokes, brought food out quickly, and was always there attending to their needs. Our server, however, was always MIA. He is nowhere to be found. When we finally spotted him wandering around, we had to ask him 3 times to refill our water before he did so. Party B was nearly finished with their main course before Party A and our party even saw our appetizers. We had to ask the hostess to track down our order since we waited over 30 minutes for our food. And 2 minutes after we asked our hostess, they brought our appetizers and main course at the same time. And guess what? there were NO utensils! So, we had to ask for that too. I observed party A had the same exact experience. So needless to say, the service was absolutely horrendous as someone else pointed out in another review.

About the food: the clam chowder was extremely salty...I usually love salty food but this was way too salty. And where are the clams? I couldn't find any in the soup...only lots of potatoes. The old-fashion shrimps were just as salty as the clam chowder and way overcooked. If you follow my other reviews, you'll see that I'm normally not too picky on food. But the food at this place truly disappoints. I guess I have myself to blame for ordering the Philly Cheesesteak at a seafood place. The sandwich was the worst cheesesteak sandwich I've ever had. I can make a sandwich better than the one I ordered here...

When we were done with our meal, we had to ask our server for our dessert the moment we spotted him roaming near us. At that time, we were already done with our meals for over 20 minutes. He came back with our dessert but did not bus the dishes so we had to stack our dishes to make room for the dessert. He came around with our check shortly after and gave us a coupon that he claims someone in another table left behind. The coupon was for dessert up to $10. He applied the coupon on our check, so in-return I tipped him $10 just to cover the cost of the dessert. If not for that coupon, I would not even leave a tip. I've never felt compeled to not leave a tip but the server we had surely works hard to not get tipped by his customers.

All in all, the service is terrible and the food is below average. I hope other Tripadvisor users who experienced what we experienced would leave more feedback here so others can avoid places like these. Since we only stayed in Fort Lauderdale for one night, I can't provide any suggestions on other restaurants in the area. But I will leave some reviews of restaurants I tried in Miami which have good food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HipHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Okay for lunch. Fried food did not taste very fresh. Garlic bread was a hoagie sub roll which was burnt. Not a place to celebrate a special occasion; not romantic. Okay for bar night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband went fishing on Wednesday and caught some wahoo and mahi mahi, which we took to the Southport Raw Bar. They grilled the fish for us and added sides of our choice. Incredible service! The fish was excellent. Definitely a memory to last a lifetime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartyV95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hreat atmosphere overlooking the water, not so great food and barely average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Can not agree with most reviews. Service was not great. Servers not very knowledgeable of menu and said "it's all good I think". Live on the coast and the boiled shrimp with old bay were good. The fried shrimp did not have a fresh seafood taste. Menu is ala carte so sides cost extra and over priced. Would recommend raising entree prices and including a small potion of sides.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilv2trvlWilmingtonNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southport Raw Bar also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Southport Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing