We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious lunch”

Old Heidelberg Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 1,331 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Everything was very good. Best kielbasa I ever had and smoked pork chop was delicious. The sauerkraut and potato salad were great. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    157
    63
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Feels as authentic as I imagine A German cafe would be like”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by hotel staff we decided to try out this German restaurant. The building itself is in fair shape (almost rundown really) and we went in with some trepidation.

The inside is heavily decorated with German artifacts, maybe even to the point of being cluttered and tacky for my taste.

We were quickly seated and the waiter was exceptionally attentive and helpful. Meals were a bit misleading as the sign outside said they dart around $10 but really they are $15 and up.

At this point we were half expecting a sour experience but the food was without a doubt the best German food any of us had ever had. The portions were generous and food was seasoned wonderfully.

As a family about to move to the Fort Lauderdale area we have instantly put this restaurant on our list of places we simply must come back to. We cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Ps if you eat there you'll see they offer a reward for posting a review. We didn't tell them we were posting a review and didn't ask for the reward as I pride myself on not being influenced in my review.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LITTLE GERMANY HIDDEN IN A NONDESCRIPT BUILDING”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stumbled accross this great family friendly german restaurant several years ago and make an annual pilgrimage to experience the authentic German atmosphere, the live German entertainment, and the authentic German food and beer served in large portions. The kitchen is under the guidance of the German owner who makes the potato salad and kraut herself every day. The sausages are custom made by their butcher. The live music is provided by German keyboardists-vocalists from 6P.M. until closing thursday through sunday. One is a research scientist who enjoys doing this for relaxation. They were able to play any song requested. It is located a $10 taxi ride from the convention center on route 84. You will have a great time unless you do not enjoy eating, drinking, requesting songs, and being able to converse with your friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drdenniskuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
293 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner😁😁”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After a fight from Bahamas we stay overnight in the hotel ,went to look for a nice restaurant for a relax nice dinner and found a Bavaria style restaurant and the food excellent like homemade at the same time very well served nice decorations old fashion but classic.
They serve the best apple strudel hot, out of this world.Fast and neat service very busy at all times,the serves are very nice and polite and very professional.I will go back every time I'm in Florida in that area.they also have internment piano and singing old songs,very good evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely authentic German food!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Head Chef is from Berlin. All the servers are German, bilingual, here to work at the restaurant. The couple who own & run the restaurant are German. The owners work the front desk, too, they're heavily involved in making this place a success. The delicious food, friendly service and great atmosphere all combine for a wonderful "eating in Germany" experience. Its designed to bring out the Oktoberfest atmosphere all year long, so expect music & merriment. Excellent selection of German beer. Fresh, home-made dark bread was fantastic. Tons of food for the money, nobody leaves hungry. Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAJmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Heidelberg Restaurant also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Old Heidelberg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing