We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the bad reviews”

Old Heidelberg Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: European, German, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Don't believe the bad reviews”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I celebrated my fathers birthday this past Sunday and let me tell you the table was full of old non English non German speaking people and we all got treated like Royality. The hostess is just adorable and she is super super nice. She must have smiled at my 1 yr old son a million times and she didn't have 2.

The place is everything you would want it to be and I've read reviews on here about it being dirty- NOT TRUE. This place like anything German was spotless.

The beer is my favorite part :) I love it best beer on earth

The food was plenty and everything is made from scratch so it tases so GOOD
I can see why some Americans didn't like it CAUSE YOUR USED TO CANNED FOOD AND MC'DONALS

The waitress was very nice and spoke slowly so that I can translate for everyone at the table. She kept everyone happy and her recommendations were on the money.

I LOVE THIS PLACE AND WILL RETURN AND RECOMMEDN TO ANYONE

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cucu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    159
    65
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft. lauderdale FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good beer good food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

still good beer good food. need to say more more more more more

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jrowephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
426 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Best schnitzel since Germany”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Great plate size schnitzel. Half liter draft German beer for $5.50. Live music Thur Fri and Sat. at 6:00 pm. Very nice German decor and huge bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

we went to this restaurant with great expectations and were disappointed. the food was so so, we ordered rouladen which were very dry and tough, the bread dumpling was too soft and tasted awful, the gravy was passable but just a spoonful, the server was very snippy and unfriendly and did not check on us, it was somewhat embarrassing because we took american cousins along and expected better food and servive. the only tasty thing there was the beer.
i heard such great things about old heidelberg but i must say dont think i will be back............

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rotonda2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I had the sauerbraten, which is a traditional German dish my family has made for many years. The potato dumplings were good, but I was disappointed by the meat and gravy. The meat was too dense and somewhat dry, rather than fall apart with your fork tender and softened as a stew meat should be. The gravy was just bland beef gravy, no "sauer" at all, which is the highlight of the entire dish. Overall, the restaurant has some tasty appetizers, great salads, a Bavarian atmosphere and some great German beers on tap, so its worth a try if you're not looking for gourmet food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petvetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Heidelberg Restaurant also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Old Heidelberg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing