We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel; worst service in the world” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ranked #70 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
toronto
1 review
“Avoid this hotel; worst service in the world”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

This hotel was absolutely the worst I've ever experienced in my life. We arrived at Ft Lauderdale airport close to midnight, called for the complimentary hotel shuttle and over an hour later we were still waiting for it to arrive--in spite of three phone calls to see when the shuttle would be arriving. We finally caught a cab and when we arrived at the hotel (close to 2:00 am), the staff was rude and did not utter one word of apology until we brought the matter up with the manager the next day. The room was average and certainly not worth the $175 we paid for it. The only good thing was its proximity to our cruise.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank king_clancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    524
    610
    350
    265
See reviews for
610
822
105
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

Where do I begin? We flew into F.L. airport at 11:30 p.m. and tried to use the courtesy phone, but I couldn't hear the desk clerk AT ALL! We waited over an hour for a shuttle to the hotel; the first time it went by in the far left lane and just kept going. When it finally arrived, the driver stayed seated and did not help us with our bags. (I can't imagine the audacity of posting a sign that says "Tips appreciated.")!! He didn't help us when we arrived at the hotel either, and I almost fell down the shuttle steps trying to lug a heavy suitcase and carry-on at the same time. Anyway, we opened the door to our room and were immediately overwhelmed by the smell of cigarette smoke and mold. We called the front desk and were told that it was a NON smoking room, and they had no others available. Thank God I had a travel candle--I had it burning all night next to the bed. The chain lock on the door was broken, so we put a table in front of the door for safety. Sheets on the bed looked slept in, and did not smell clean at all. The carpet under the sink was absolutely soaked, and there was black mold in the corners. The "plumbing" for the sink consisted of a piece of black rubber hose with a radiator clamp on it. This room made my skin crawl; I would rather have slept on the grass outside. Hideous place!

  • Liked — The fact that we didn't book a second night!
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dspercy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

We walked into our room and it was full of cigarette smoke and we had booked a non smoking room. We called the front desk and told them we booked a non smoking room and she sent a worker up to our room with a bottle of febreeze. He walked around our room squirting it everywhere and we were shocked at this attempt to resolve the problem. As we were pulling the covers over us before bed the whole underneath of the comforter had over a dozen cigarette burns in it....GROSS. The next morning when my husband went to start his shower the whole facet came off in his hand.....what a run down motel. Excited to get out of there and onto the cruise terminal they wanted us to wait in line for their complimentary shuttle we opted to call a cab and payed 14 dallors intead of a free ride through them to the terminal.....and for all of the above it costs $200....NEVER AGAIN.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank trea4luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

When we arrived back in fort lauderdale from our trip to the bahamas i called and a very nice shuttle came to pick us up. The driver was very nice and the shuttle it self was very nice. We arrived at the hotel and I was pretty impressed because it looked really nice. The man at the front desk was very polite but very slow. We waited inline for about 20 minutes before we got to the desk while another employee was just standing there watching the TV. After this everything went downwards. We entered the little courtyard where the pool is and it was pretty messy. We finally arrived to the room and once i opened the door it smelled as if someone just blew a cigarette into my face. I walked around the room to inspect and there was nothing until i went over to the air conditioner. The chair was pulled up to the bed as if someone was lounging, the tv was facing the corner where the chair was, and there was an ashtray with 5 cigarettes in it. It was as if the employees came in to sit and relax. We decided to just suck ti up and stay in there and the next day we booked a new room around the way and it was very pleasant. Alot better than the first one. The complimentary breakfast was okay. Overall my stay was average, but maybe im being a little too nice.

  • Liked — it is close to the airport and port everglades
  • Disliked — the smoke scented air freshner in the rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RCSwim06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay after travelling from UK to get to a cruise the following day.

You get what you pay for. This is a basic bed and breakfast. Our check-in was quick and friendly and the room was clean and adequate.We had a room facing the inside of the property which was quiet. There are stairs and no elevator so be aware if that is an issue for you. The breakfast was simple, self-serve with plastic cups and plates.

The free transfer to cruise port was booked into a transfer schedule at check-in. The next morning it was a bit chaotic as there were a number of ships in port, but they stuck to the schedule and got us to the cruise in good time.

If you just want somewhere to sleep the night before a cruise and are relaxed about the standard, then this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivianGM, Vivian, Manager at Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Thank you for the compliment about our hotel service and room cleanliness. Our property is in the process of installing an elevator for guest convenience. We make guest satisfaction our number one priority and we hope you considered staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

We stayed here 3 nights pre cruise and 1 night post. It is a older property as others have stated but the place was clean and comfortable. We requested that the two other couples that we were traveling with be in rooms close by and they definitely did a great job with that. I also asked to be close to the pool and it was right outside our door. Vivian at the front desk was great. She makes sure everything is in order and really does a wonderful job! We enjoyed the pool along with the well manicured landscaping. Kudos to Steve!! The staff was very friendly and I truly enjoyed our stay there. The value was great for the money. We were pleased with the shuttle service to and from the airport and cruiseport.

  • Liked — Excellent value.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank antmarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivianGM, Manager at Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Thank you for the compliment about our hotel and shuttle service. We make guest satisfaction our number one priority and we hope you considered staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed after a post-cruise Florida driving trip for the night before flying home. I thought I had read TripAdvisor reviews before making the choice but perhaps I was in brainfreeze. As noted by others, this is an old property, though management is certainly working hard at keeping it as attractive as possible. Dinner in the restaurant was good, though with tip automatically included, we found the service only adequate. Buffet breakfast was excellent and we appreciated both the free newspaper and free Internet room to check our flight details.

The room itself left a fair amount to be desired. The beds were fine and the pillows fat, but the bathroom had no extractor fan, the mini-fridge was anemic, the coffee pot dribbled badly and, most of all, the air/heat unit made sleep impossible when it was turned on. Since the room has no other ventilation, we slept in stale air, to be awakened by a jet overhead at three a.m., since the motel apparently sits right under a flight path.

Overall, I blame myself for not doing enough research ahead of time. We drove ourselves to the airport so we didn't use the shuttle. The price - about $90 - was high for what we got, but the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy air/heat unit
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Ai...
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Property: Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Address: 2275 SR 84 Marina Mile Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 miles from Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport and 2 miles from Port Everglades Cruise Port. This hotel also provides free shuttle service to and from The Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port, and the Broward County Convention center. Pre and Post Port of Miami Cruise Packages, with ground transportation, are also available.This Full Service Ramada provides amenities such as a Free Hot Breakfast, High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Meeting/Banquet Facilities and Two Full Service restaurants with room service, a Pub and Poolside Tiki Bar. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Airport-Cruise Port Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing