We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Ranked #68 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Yes this is a convinent place to stay the night before a cruise. Yes they have a free shuttle to the cruise port, but that is where the good. When we were checking in the lady helping us would answer the phone and take care of teh person on the phone then come back to us, instead of putting the phone caller on hold. When my wife had to go to the front desk to get help she was ignored for 20 mins. When we got to the room there were no towels and not room was very run down. The vending machines did not work and the free contenintial breakfast was a joke. Your money would be well spent some where else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    551
    631
    355
    269
See reviews for
628
856
110
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Beds not bad. Wish Ramada had better quality control...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Although this hotel was the best price near the port, it wasn't worth it. They offer a free shuttle from the airport, and tell you it will be 20 minutes, but it was an hour. The hotel staff was very nice and the rooms were okay. It wasn't the cleanest. We got in late and had no car, so after the hour wait for the shuttle, we decided to try the restaurant in the hotel. We waited 10 minutes and nobody came to wait on us, even though there were at least 3 employees of the restaurant walking around. The next morning, the hotel called a taxi for us to take us to the port. They said it would be 15 minutes. After 30 minutes, I went back to the front desk to ask if they knew when it was coming. They called again, and then basically told me the taxi place was busy because it was a Saturday. After another 20 minutes, I went in again and they called again. The taxi finally came after an hour. I realize that the hotel has no control over the taxi company, however they may want to align themselves with a more reliable taxi service. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, which was the only plus about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Due to some problems with our flights we ended up in Fort Lauderdale after midnight with no hotel reservations. All the hotel shuttles had stopped running so we had to find someplace close to the airport for the night.

We contacted the Ramada using the courtesy phones and took a cab - about $17 including a $2 airport surcharge. We had stayed there a few years ago and found it ok.

The rate we were quoted ($115 including all taxes) was higher than the rates we had seen for similar hotels when we checked earlier in the day, but we were in no position to negotiate.

The room was a basic two star hotel room. The carpets are old and we wore shoes at all times, as we would in most two star establishments. There was no obvious dirt or bugs of any kind. The room was well soundproofed against outside noise, but the air conditioner was very noisy. The room safe had not been reset so we had to have someone come to deal with that in the morning. The bathtub plug did not work, and needed a new part, so we had to use the shower.

A continental breakfast buffet was included in the room rate. For $5 you could upgrade to include a hot cooked breakfast in addition to the continental breakfast. We chose that option and it was good value for the additional food (although it used to be included in the room rate). The continental breakfast was typical motel fare - coffee, toast and bagels, some sort of cake, grits, watery juice, packets of grape jelly, and fresh orange slices.

We ended up having to stay an additional night and got a much better rate for the second night ($84 including taxes). As we were staying longer, we would really have appreciated a fridge.

We asked at the front desk about things to do in the immediate area and were told that the only thing nearby was a nature park, but it was closed for the two days we were there. We went out to wander around just for something to do, and found the Secret Woods Nature Centre, which was open. It is a lovely little park in a wasteland of freeways and industrial parks. It has a butterfly garden, nature trails, interpretive houses and access to the water.

We used the free hotel shuttle to go to the shopping mall with a Win Dixie where we bought food for our evening meal (get their loyalty card and qualify for some good discounts on food and wine). The shuttle was late coming back for us and we had to find a pay phone to call the hotel.

The hotel has two PCs for guest use (complimentary), but one was not working. The printer was also out of order.

There is a reasonable pool in an attractive courtyard, well screened from the view of outsiders and fairly quiet. It was warm enough that we enjoyed a late evening swim.

This hotel is ok for a quick stopover on the way to a cruise, but I would not recommend it for a longer stay, especially if you don't have a car. There is a complimentary airport shuttle but it stops running at 11:30pm.

There is nothing terrible about the hotel and I would stay there again in a pinch, but a number of small things added up to make it an annoying experience. I found it below average, but not bad enough to be rated poor overall. Look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are well screened from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Don't believe the pictures on-line for this hotel, they don't reflect the true appearance of this hotel. This is one of the worst hotels that we ever stayed in, it was more like a motel than a hotel. The service was terrible, the room was old and dirty. The food service was slow, there was only one waiter for the entire room. When the food did come it was bad. When asked at the front counter for places that delivered they stated we aren't supposed to give that information, we are supposed to refer to our restaurants. We did not have transportation because we took the shuttle, because we were going on a cruise the next day. There was nothing around that you could walk to. The place was overpriced and everyone that got off the shuttle looked very disappointed and when you went inside your disappointment grew. You were given a coupon for the breakfast buffet, when you went there was only for the a continental breakfast which consisted of barely anything and if you wanted the full breakfast was an additional $5 per person. The food was terrible and everything was done so cheaply. The rooms were old and dirty we couldn't wait to leave. If you can avoid it stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel on booking .com the actually price are cheaper then on line the then the hotel
Was ok the bathroom really need to be updated I would not have if in my friends house. AC was not very good but we stayed for 10 hours getting ready for a cruise . Towels are really rough.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago as a stopover pre-cruise. We returned as it WAS good value for money and convenient then. In 2 yrs, the service levels have fallen drastically - unfriendly staff, broken vending machines, rooms all smelled damp, beds hard as wood and we then had to pay EXTRA for a cooked breakfast! It was £86.50 a night "including breakfast" which was not cheap as such, but the breakfast they did offer as inclusive was basic and inedible quite frankly as we don't like cake for breakfast and we certainly do NOT like drinking out of polystyrene cups and eating off plastic plates!! The coffee was foul and the juice was powdered. NEVER AGAIN !!!! Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Simple: do not stay here! There are other motels/inns near the cruise terminal and Fort Lauderdale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenyonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port

Property: Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Address: 2275 SR 84 Marina Mile Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 miles from Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport and 2 miles from Port Everglades Cruise Port. This hotel also provides free shuttle service to and from The Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port, and the Broward County Convention center. Pre and Post Port of Miami Cruise Packages, with ground transportation, are also available.This Full Service Ramada provides amenities such as a Free Hot Breakfast, High Speed Wireless Internet Access, Meeting/Banquet Facilities and Two Full Service restaurants with room service, a Pub and Poolside Tiki Bar. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Airport-Cruise Port Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing