We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to celebrate husband's birthday!”

Mai-Kai Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Mai-Kai Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Oakland Park Boulevard
Description: Since 1956, we have captivated people with our warmth and magical aura. The Mai-Kai authentically recreates a Polynesian Village, complete with tiki torches, a thatch roof, tropical gardens, waterfalls and museum quality artifacts. The exciting Islander Revue is performed nightly by native Polynesian dancers in colorful hand sewn costumes. The Hawaiian wedding dance will seduce you, and the Samoan Fire and Knife dance will leave you speechless. The Revue is a favorite of all ages. The award winning cuisine includes American and Cantonese dishes, many prepared in our Chinese Ovens, and each dining room reflects a different Island of Polynesia. The Molokai Bar is a South Seas saloon with over 51 tropical drinks and live music nightly. "Home of the Mystery Drink" served by our sarong-clad maiden, with an orchid lei. Try our House Specialties - Mai-Tai and Barrel o'Rum. Happy Hour nightly 5 - 7 pm. Our Mai-Kai trading post and gift shop will give you a chance to bring home your favorite memories of the Mai-Kai. From Hawaiian shirts and hats to Polynesian Jewelry, everyone is sure to find something to bring home
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place to celebrate husband's birthday!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent a couple of per-cruise days in Ft. Lauderdale celebrating my husband's 60th birthday and one of the restaurants we went to was the Mai Kai. I chose it because we had gotten married on the island of Rarotonga in the South Pacific and we love the island dancing. We had drinks in the bar and our waitress there was very attentive and the drinks were nice and strong. Then we went into the restaurant for dinner and had another really good waitress. The food was fine and we even had enough left to take back to the hotel for lunch the next day. The show was very nicely done and the dancers and music very good! The little gift shop had some nice things in it and strolling around the pretty gardens after the show was fun. We really enjoyed our evening. When we were ready to leave, one of the maitre'd's called a cab for us and it arrived immediately. Overall a great night!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coronadodon1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    237
    135
    89
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss history”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Mai-Kai is one of the few remaining restaurants of its kind - living history and NOT to be missed if you are planning a visit for FLL. We made our first visit more than 10 years ago and have travelled back at least once a year since. On our most recent trip we visited every night for dinner, drinks or both. The bar is incredible and the food is unique and delicious. The floor show is fun if its your first visit and a walk around the elaborate tropical gardens is a must. Service is first class and if you are savvy and study the specials on the website (www.maikai.com) you can have a great evening out on a budget - half price drinks and apps during a happy hour that goes until seven as well as lots of different reasonably priced dinner options. One of my all-time favorite places. Great for couples and families.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent food but keep expectations reasonable”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food is very good but not memorable. However, it has atmosphere. We enjoy sitting in the garden area.

Helpful?
Thank RoadLover_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A novel experience, not to remember.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Mehhh. I could take it or leave it. Place is kinda run down as the themed decor appears original and rusty. I'm surprised the place hasn't burned to the ground as the show uses live fire juggling and the room is covered in straw!

Drinks were fun, with strong rums and fresh tropical juices. Recommend the 'Jet Pilot' and 'Mutiny', at least one of each will set your swerve for the night, but will drain your wallet. Drink prices are between $10-14 average apiece! Apps were mediocre, and entrees were universally subpar for our large group.

The show was run down too, like its been performed 10,000 times. The female dancers weren't too enthusiastic and the couple dudes had troubles keeping up with them.

This theme could be done much better. Both restaurant and staff need a makeover.

Oh, and I think the valet staff swindled me $5 for self parking as when I came out I saw a sign that said 'free valet parking'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bn_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Of course it's touristy...but it's damned good fun!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A Polynesian villiage in South Florida? A landmark on Federal highway for well over 50 years now and still going strong. It's an amazing place. Long before there was a Walt Disney World, this was a vacation destination for visiting Northerners escaping cold winters at home.

I hadn't been inside for several years before my recent visit and tended to just remember it as a tourist trap but we went for a family reunion and were all surprised at how good a time everyone had. The food was better than we remembered and the drinks were very interesting and lots of fun. The show was terrifically entertaining and the facilities most impressive.

It's not inexpensive but it's all in all a good value for your tourist dollar. If you haven't been there; you haven't seen Fort Lauderdale. If you haven't been for a while; you really oughta see it again. It's lots more fun than Disney!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai-Kai Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Mai-Kai Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing