We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Barbecue in South Florida!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q

Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q
Ranked #82 of 1,320 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Barbecue in South Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Whenever my family and I are in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, we stop by this restaurant to get some of the best barbecue around. I always chose the rib platter with greens, beans, Mac and cheese and ice tea. The only negatives are slow service and the restaurant's seating arrangement. But those negatives are more than mitigated by the great food. So I will give Tom five stars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    120
    36
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best bbq”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was just on my way to ft Lauderdale beach when I happened to pass this place. I turned around to just to try it out being it was lunch time. It was the best decision of my whole vacation. The smell of the BBQ before I even entered the front door, had me trying to get in line faster. The staff was very friendly, food was great, and prices were reasonable.I highly recommend if you are passing by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coreysk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have not been in a while, but when I did go, I appreciated the wonderful bar-b-q treats and the great desserts. Good sides LAO.

Helpful?
Thank Allioop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Tom's is not the Best BBQ in the world but it's not the Best BBQ in the world. But if you don't feel like breaking out the BBQ at home and you want someone to do the cooking then go to Tom Jenkins. The sides were really good too. I have to admit, I thought the sides were a little better than the meat. But that is only my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank gents112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Southern cookin'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I've been wanting to try this place for a long time and it lived up to the hype. The restaurant inside is small and only has a few benches. I'd suggest calling ahead for pick-up to skip the lines and eat in the comfort of your own home. The food was really really good. Classic southern BBQ. Try the pork, it was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nole627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing