We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Southwest Cafe

Canyon Southwest Cafe
Ranked #9 of 1,321 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An oasis of inspired Southwestern fusion, Canyon consistently serves an innovative and surprising array of American artisanal cuisine with Asian, South and Central American undertones. Chipotle, wasabi, ginger, cilantro, lemongrass, basil, jalapeño, mango and red chilies accent the freshest seafood and wild game available. Seductive lighting and a constantly evolving mix of music enhances your dining experience and keeps the intimate space filled with a captivating and energized clientele every night. Immerse yourself in the ambiance as you savor one of Canyon's notorious Prickly Pear Margaritas.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dining experience! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Not only were the food and drinks delicious and made with top quality ingredients; the service was excellent (our waiter, John, was friendly, accommodating, and funny) and Canyon had a great atmosphere for a nice night out. If you're in Ft. Lauderdale do not miss this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Carleyheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    159
    39
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ILoveBeans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

There is nothing better in this world than a prickly pear margarita from Canyon; hands down the best margarita I've ever had (even in Mexico). This place is small, and the ambiance is lovely and intimate. The food is always amazing. A couple of suggestions that always make me do a happy food dance are the grilled chicken quesadilla (sounds common, but it's not) and the filet mignon (sounds silly in a Southwest cafe, but do yourself a favor and try it). Service is wonderful. Ideal place to go for a special occasion, when you're having a bad day and you need a pick-me-up, or just when you're craving excellent food and drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Compliments to the chef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had heard great things about this restaurant from someone in Naples. So I had to try it on my next trip to Ft. Lauderdale. They do not take reservations. We tried to get in on Friday night about 8PM and there was a one and a half hour wait. A couple of friends and I tried again at 6:30 Saturday night and only had to wait about 20 minutes. They had a great menu with very unique combinations, Tapas plates as well as full dinners. Everything we had was excellent, service was impeccable and everyone was friendly and helpful. We agreed that the muscles with cream sauce were the best we have ever had. Very refreshing to have a gourmet restaurant with Southwest and Mexican influences, as these are hard to come by in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Best restaurant in Ft Lauderdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Whenever its a special occasion or friends from out of town are visiting, I always pick Canyon southwest café. The food is always good. Its a charming café and always fun. The people that work there are all very nice and professional, I brought some friends that were staying in Miami on vacation and they said it was the best restaurant they were at on their trip. They loved the atmosphere and the food. I highly recommend Canyon Southwest Café.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

It was way too long since my last visit to Canyon and it is still as excellent as it ever was!
Canyons menu is creative and delicious and you cannot make a bad choice. You will not be disappointed no matter what you order!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing