We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT DATE NIGHT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyon Southwest Cafe

Canyon Southwest Cafe
Ranked #9 of 1,321 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An oasis of inspired Southwestern fusion, Canyon consistently serves an innovative and surprising array of American artisanal cuisine with Asian, South and Central American undertones. Chipotle, wasabi, ginger, cilantro, lemongrass, basil, jalapeño, mango and red chilies accent the freshest seafood and wild game available. Seductive lighting and a constantly evolving mix of music enhances your dining experience and keeps the intimate space filled with a captivating and energized clientele every night. Immerse yourself in the ambiance as you savor one of Canyon's notorious Prickly Pear Margaritas.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PERFECT DATE NIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Upon arriving we were told that the wait would be around an hour to an hour and 15 (at 8oclock). My boyfriend and I were discussing about changing the plans to go somewhere else… The hostess immediately saw our look of disapproval and let us in on a secret. She said ppl tend to leave without telling or go to the wine bar and miss their call…. so it could always be faster. We stuck it out and waited 45min it was so worth it!!! The filet was amazing and my boyfriend’s rigatoni was good as well. The bread pudding is a MUST. Thanks cameron for telling the server to put a sparkler in our dessert… this was the perfect place to spend our anniversary!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    159
    39
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Such a cute fun trendy place, which food that leaves palette wanting more. The service was excellent as we're their recommendations, then yet again, I don't think you could possibly go wrong with anything on the menu. Their beef short ribs are to die for, as it literally melts in your mouth. You must have their signature pink prickley pear margarita which is delicious. To top the night off do not forget to get their well known bread pudding. O.M.G!!!!!! I've never tasted something delicately perfect.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Atmosphere - OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went to Canyons after being treated rudely at Casa D'Angelo on a whim. We had to wait 1.5 hours but that wasn't a problem as there is a wine bar 2 doors down that was not busy at all and had good selections of wine.

Our server (I forget his name..Steve?) was very pleasant. The atmosphere was charming.

We ordered the venison, short ribs, lobster bisque, mussels, mac and cheese, and the chocolate/ice cream dessert.

My BF liked his venison, but said it was a bit over-seasoned. His short ribs were ok.
The lobster bisque was pretty good - but on the salty side. Also, it only had 2 pieces of lobster in it. Besides that, though, a good effort.

The mussels were cooked well, but the seasoning was lacking. They were quite bland.

The mac and cheese was good - except it was tremendously salty!

The chocolate ice cream/dessert thing was pretty good.

I would like for them to have more options on their small plates menu. If you're not a chicken/beef/venison/pork eater (like myself) then there aren't that many great options to choose from. They also definitely need to use less salt. The salt on the mac and cheese was pretty overbearing.

Since it was our anniversary dinner, they gave us a $25 gift certificate for future use, which was pretty nice of them.

One thing I did not like was that they started turning chairs upside down on tables when there were still lots of people there eating their dinner. I think they should wait til most people leave so as not to ruin the atmosphere.

If they offer more menu options, I will certainly be back. For the average person with no dietary restrictions, and a high tolerance to salt, this place would probably offer a nice dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrykhanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Canyon Southwest Cafe ..a perfect place for an intimate meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

6 of us dined this evening at Canyon Southwest Cafe and its more than deserving of excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. The Menu is varied and exotic with a huge variety of Starters. We shared starters of a massive Crispy Calamari, Beef short ribs and Maine Lobster avocado salad with chewy cubes of smoked bacon ; preceded by Hot rolls of onsite baked bread...no way can you ignore these. There were 3 specials tonight and we ordered 2 seafood Southwestern stews with a scallop and pork risotto and a huge beet and goat cheese salad...the plates were substantial and had to be shared among us 3 couples. There was barely room for 1 order of canyon's Signature White Chocolate Bread Pudding on a bed of berries that we shared with 6 spoons followed by coffee to bring an end to a memorable evening out. The service was friendly, attentive and very relaxed for this small restaurant with only 40 seats. We arrived early at 5.45 given the Martin Luther King Holiday and the Restaurant's strict No Reservations Policy; but were seated within minutes before the Rush arrived. We were very fortunate to be in the care of their General Manager, Cleuber Mendonca, who kept us pampered throughout the night; was attentive yet relaxed in his approach to Menu, Specials, sharing and explanations and made us feel very much at home. Our recommendation would be to share Starters and Mains and I always have at least one Special as you can be assured its custom made for that night. The Wine List is sufficient and was complimented by a range of tequilas and boutique brews and included 1/2 bottles. Great Value for $350...well worth it for a special night out with friends for a memorable meal that left us happy and sated.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bariloche-visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a great dinner last night at the Canyon Southwest Cafe. We ordered two large plates :
Tenderloin burrito and short rib rigatoni. They were two amazing meals. The White chocolate bread pudding was a very pleasant ending.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing