We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Fish Taco @ Any Price”
Review of Zona Fresca

Zona Fresca
Ranked #63 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“My Favorite Fish Taco @ Any Price”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I order one thing here. I order a fish taco with cilantro added. This comes with chips. I also order guacamole- a small, and that comes with homemade chips. I get salsa from the salsa bar- many selections to chose from and then I squeeze lime and hot sauce over all. I order a cold beer and the entire meal is $7. This for me is heaven. I have paid $22.95 for fish tacos when this one is $2.95, tastes better and is good every time I order it...awesome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    108
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's the definition of Fresh!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Very fresh and tasty food. Beats other fast mexican food places by far. Try the fish tacos. Great selection of beer. The salsa bar is among the best I've seen and service is fairly quick

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliomanuel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our family goes here about once a week.The food is always fresh and good, the service is great and you can eat outside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fishingfool055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sounds better than it is!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Tonight was our last night in Fort Lauderdale and we decided to try Zona Fresca as we were craving Mexican food.

First off, the parking lot was quite small. We were fortunate to have found a spot. I didn't expect it to be "a la Taco Bell" style where you go up to the counter, order, get a number, and then wait for it to be called out.

There's a decent amount of variety on the menu...and you can see everybody working/cooking in the back. You can also see the chicken on the grill being cooked. On the plus side, the food is fresh. The salsa bar is nice as well offering fresh Pico de Gallo, Habanero Salsa, Tomatillo Salsa, and a Salsa Fresco. The Fresco had the most flavour in my opinion. The Pico needed salt!

I ordered the chicken burrito. On my first bite, I get gristle. After politely removing the gristle from my mouth, the rest of the chicken really had no flavour. The chicken tasted charred and dry. I had to add more Pico and salsa to the burrito (which already contains Pico) to give it flavour.

The entire experience was a little disappointing. I felt like a number as opposed to a customer. I would have given Zona Fresca a higher rating had the food been more flavourful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadow1972London_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal at a great price”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fresh and tasty food at a great price. Large portions and unlimited salsas and soft drinks available. A must do if you like Mexican food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kids2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Fresca also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Zona Fresca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing