We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food”

Greek Islands Taverna
Ranked #11 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Freeman, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best food”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The food was incredible and authentic Greek. The service was excellent and the portions huge! Be prepared to wait up to a half hour though at peak dinner time. It is an incredibly popular place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deona21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    339
    89
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic!!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The entire dining experience was excellent and the food was truly superb. It was hard to believe that it was in Florida and not in Greece. I am already planning my return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Makes me wish I spoke Greek...”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our friends we were visiting took us to this restaurant on a Saturday night - it was right at the beach in Ft. Lauderdale. What a fun place to have a good meal! Although we did have to wait about 40 minutes (in a long line!) the staff was very efficient at getting as many guests seated as soon as possible. They did not go in order of 'sign up' but rather continuously roved the line calling for parties whose number fit the available seating. This may have been a pain at any other place but I decided it worked best for THis place; it was packed and moving tables around to suit would have slowed everything and everybody down. Besides, they were so obviously greek it made it interesting. We ordered a few appetizers and a few large platters (our party was 7) and wine. It was all very good, food delivered hot, and with good timing. Wine was perfect, a Greek wine - could not pronounce the name but I've been looking for it to have again. We could hear the occasional cry of "Opa!" and although we were packed in pretty tight we felt very comfortable. Definitely worthy of a visit if you're in Ft. Lauderdale beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SayJax50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Opa, Opa- Julius Caesar would love it here”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

In the immortal words of Yogi Berra, "it's so crowded that hardly anyone goes here anymore "-the truth is that it seems that EVERYONE goes here, especially between 6:15-8:30--hint, hint, get here early not because they have early bird, more so to avoid long waits on line. Even if you have to wait for a table--the food is so GOOD! The lamb chops are the absolutely best, my personal choice is the shrimp, so delicious. The fried cheese is sinfully good, salads ample and tasty. Service is a bit rushed yet efficient, prices are on the high side of moderate. Enjoy! Opa, Opa-but don't throw any plates!!! Suggestion-try to sit outside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not live up to expectation”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I were vacationing in Ft Lauderdale and read rave reviews of Greek Taverna. We were disappointed. There are areas in the restaurant that are very cold; after waiting to be served the location of table is not always ideal. The chicken in the kabob was dried out, but the Greek style ribs were delicious. The Greek salad was OK but the bread was Italian style not pita as expected. We will not return in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutrashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Taverna also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Greek Islands Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing