We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Fort Lauderdale”

Greek Islands Taverna
Ranked #11 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
westchester
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Fort Lauderdale”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant for about 15 years. I live in NY, but used to go back and forth to Fort Lauderdale for business. I always went here with my friends. It has great Greek food at reasonable prices. It is so wonderful to relax outside. My girlfriend and I always get the Spanakopita and the big Greek Salad! They don't rush you and you feel like you are in Greece.
It's not fancy but it's just a great place and everyone seems to know it and love it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mahopac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    338
    87
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great home style Greek food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were staying at the nearby Il Lugano hotel and this place was so good we visited twice in one week! Our first visit was on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was still fairly full on our arrival after 9pm. They bring complimentary hummus and bread and then we enjoyed the mezes; loukankia (sausage), dolmades (stuffed vine leaves), spanakopita (cheese and spinach filled parcels), keftedes (flattened meatballs), a very tasty Greek salad along with pitta bread and baklava dessert to finish. Everything was obviously home made and freshly cooked, simple but good food.

On the Saturday we paid a repeat visit and had mains of leg of lamb with vegetables and fillet steak shish kebab with rice. Both were huge portions of again tasty home cooked food. The restaurant was packed and had a lively atmosphere.

Service was good, friendly and efficient. Wine was good, we tried a reasonably priced bottle of malbec and on the other day had shiraz by the glass.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Red Tomatoes!!! What a fabulous Greek Salad!!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The BEST LAMB CHOPS EVER!!!!! Tender & Flavorful!!!! Excellent Greek Restaurant. Family Style we shared a huge, fresh Greek Salad. The tomatoes were juicy red and delicious!!! We shared Mozzarella and humus. I had the LAMB CHOPS they were unbelievable!!!! Fun atmosphere great bar if your are flying solo wine & cocktails!!! Excellent & Professional Service.
Twitter@NatalieMcBee

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florida O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenberg, Tx.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still think about that sauce”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I ate here in mid-June and I still tell people about the chicken and that wonderful sauce...and the rice pudding....the meal was incredible. The bread, the hummus, the wine, the meal...it was just perfect in my opinion. One of my most memorable meals ever...I wish my traveling companion was with me at the time. She really missed out on the best meal of the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe twp., nj
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Delicious Greek food”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We make sure we eat here whenever we go to Fort Lauderdale. Once again they did not disappoint. Make sure you order the lamb chops which are cooked to perfection. The Greek Salad and their appetizers can't be beat. Great service.. Get there early if you want to get in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quatco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Taverna also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Greek Islands Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing