We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aroma of grilled lamb chops greets you before you enter”

Greek Islands Taverna
Ranked #11 of 1,335 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Aroma of grilled lamb chops greets you before you enter”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent choice of appetizers, especially the drumettes and spinach pie, fried lightly breaded zucchini to melt in your mouth, scrumptious white beans in sauce. The go-to neighborhood restaurant when you have visitors from out of town. Never a disappointing meal. Extremely reasonably priced considering the high quality of the ingredients.Delicious hot bread and hummus served as soon as you are seated; don't forget the rice pudding for dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilonajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    339
    89
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious lamb chops!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We loved this restaurant. The service was good, the outdoor seating was nice, and the lamb chops were delicious. I would love to go back some time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoOnATrip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Charming! But, better on a week night.
A BIT NOISY but we managed to entertain friends and family!!!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RAMONA052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Order the octopus. It is the most tender, simply prepared, greatest tasting octopus I have ever eaten -- and I am a huge octopus fan. Order it even if you do not like octopus. You'll like octopus after it. Greek Islands is a basic looking restaurant with mostly outdoor-ish seating. The service is fabulous. You are started with both white and whole wheat bread and a very good pot of hummus. Then... order the octopus! We also had grilled fresh whole fish (sorry do not remember the type), a greek salad with wonderfully ripe tomoatoes, and fried smelts which were boned and absolutely grease-less. Wait if you have too. The food is worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindyopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best (and most consistent) Greek Food in FLL”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have now lived year-round in Fort Lauderdale for 5 years. During that time, we tried every Greek restaurant within 20 miles trying to find Greek food like we experienced in Chicago. Greek Islands has the best food, with the best service. We typically make our way there at least twice a month and they are full of happy customers every weekend evening, and most weekend days. We recently went there for a weekday lunch and were pleasantly surprised that our favorites were part of the lunch-portioned specials! Our favorites: the lamb chops and Greek chicken.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Locavore33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Taverna also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Greek Islands Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing