We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great atmosphere, would go back”

Greek Islands Taverna
Ranked #12 of 1,326 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, would go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Myself and 2 friends visited in early January and were all 3 thoroughly impressed. You know you're in a great authentic Greek restaurant when you walk to your table and almost everyone you pass is Greek! I got the swordfish while my friends got the lamb and the grouper. Everything was great. Fairly priced as well. Has outdoor seating. Would love to go back if I make it back to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrimsonTider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    330
    83
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our favorite local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Expect good tasty food, good service and fair prices.
The appetizers are great and if you are not very hungry you can share a plate after some of them (our favorite is filet kabobs).
Come before 6.30 to avoid big waiting lines and if you are in a relaxing mood don't order the entrees until after you've had your appetizers. Although they don't rush you the service is very prompt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Never been there before, but yesterday we went with my family because someone told us to go.
Gosh!!!! We ate a lot! Everything is fresh and tasty...great food.
Price: about US$ 12,00 at lunch and US$ 19,00 at night. - everything u can eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prynahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place in Ft. Lauderdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been there 4 times already on a 6 day trip. Everything we have ordered is super! Especially the Octopuss, Shrimp, and the waiters are just down right hot! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

A great little place to sit back and enjoy some fresh home made Greek cuisine. We have been going here for 6 years. The lamb chops are the best I've ever eaten. And I've tried lamb everywhere. Great chicken and huge portions.

A must try for Greek lover in you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C_sproviero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Taverna also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Greek Islands Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing