We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get”
Review of Cafe Vico

Cafe Vico
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Vico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 1,330 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Half block north of Sunrise Blvd
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A mediocre glass of white Italian wine for $16.50? The rest of the food is rather mediocre and over-priced. Don't bother.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    105
    48
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A gem of a dining establishment in a strip mall - this is true Italian food that is consistently excellent. Four in our group had never been and raved at the experience and entrees.

The lasagna is phenomenal with a rich béchamel sauce and the eggplant parmesan a classic.
Eclectic decor and unique touches lend to a memorable meal; the owners are always onsite and ensure the consistency in service and food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Last evening I ate at Café Vico for the first time. It is in an unassuming strip mall that highlights IHop as the #1 listing on the signage. The décor is eclectic with things such a an old cash register and movie projector displayed. There is outside seating that is surrounded by many potted tropical plants to give some ambiance to the area. The owner was very inviting, greeting everyone and taking many to their seats. The service was spot on and the food we had was quite good.. My only issue was the cost. I had the yellow tail piccata special which included a nice sized piece of fish, 4 small broccoli florets, and 4 slices of seasoned fingerling potatoes to the tune of $37 (I should have asked the price before ordering). I have had just as good at other places for at least $10 less. I was also blown away by the cost of a small glass (about 30cc) of Lemoncello for $9.50. When I asked the owner if he made his Lemoncello on site, he stated no, it was commercially processed. Corkage was an acceptable $25/btl. I would visit again, but would ask about cost of the specials.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchidsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
299 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a gem ”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

At there for the first time tonight. Ambiance was excellent. Wine list very good and they don't kill you on markup. Wheat pasta on menu - so glad. Veal Marsala covered in mushrooms with a very good sauce. Had a spicy tomato sauce on side pasta. Very spicy. A lot of red pepper. Their dip for bread is garlic filled. Really good. Would absolutely go back. Strong price value restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, usa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great owners, good local vibe but still not on my "A"”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been there a few times and it's close to my house but I find the other choices in town more appealing. Noisy with OK, better then average food but nothing special for me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Vico also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Cafe Vico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing