We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent snacks and dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of S3 Sun Surf Sand Restaurant

S3 Sun Surf Sand Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
S3 Sun Surf Sand Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,322 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Bar, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: A1A and Viramar St.
Description: S3, where sun, surf and sand uniquely fuse with steak, seafood and sushi for a perfect combination of island atmosphere and globally-influenced, sea-inspired fare. A wood burning grill lights up the place and sets fire to the menu offering Grilled Octopus, Skirt Steak, Jerk Chicken Skewers, Shrimp Toast and more. Let your eyes do the ordering, via an expansive raw bar featuring fresh-caught delights like Tiradito Wahoo and Yellowtail, Snapper or snack plates like a Trio of Dips (whipped feta, chickpea, and roasted eggplants) or Goat Cheese Cakes. A moderately priced menu serves up a variety of small plates
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent snacks and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner this past Friday evening. Crowded, we did not have to wait for a table, but recommend reservations. We had shrimp and crab sushi. Very good. Also the mushrooms we're excellent.Mac n cheese looked good , and excellent deserts. Eat indoors or out. You will enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    258
    87
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tapas style place right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Loved the tapas style, we ordered lots of little plates and shared. We liked it so much we went 2 nights in a row! The location cannot be beat, across the street from the beach; sit outside and you can enjoy the ocean breeze while dining like we did. The food: Apps-The wok charred Edamame was probably the best I have ever had. I couldn't stop eating them. The deviled eggs were delicious. The tomato bread was not my fave, but still good. Sushi-We ordered so many types of rolls, I cannot remember which ones but I can tell you that we loved all that we ordered. The tuna tower however was just good, not the best I have had. Small Plates- Here is what we had Mac and Cheese: YES. Ricotta Gnocci: Tasty. Short Ribs: Delish. Chicken Salad: Meh. Lump Crab Cakes: Awesome. 7 spice seared scallops: YUM. Shrimp Toast: very good. Oak roasted mushrooms: Divine. Oh, the Berry Mojito was amazing, had more than one. Good thing we were walking ;-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad and I didn't even get to eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I hear about this place on the beach and told I must go to. I make a reservation on a thursday night. We arrive thirty minutes early, a party of two. We are told there is no table available for us being that we are 30 minutes early. She says we can wait 30 mins(not I will get the next available table) or sit at the sushi bar now. I hesitantly accept sushi bar. As I am being walked to the sushi bar, I am walked past five open tables. Not recently used tables that people just left or soon to be sat down at. There was no one else at the front of the restaurant other than us when we walked in. Now I am sat at the sushi bar with a guy carving up a whole chicken arms length from me and a view of a few racks of chicken roasting behind him(imagine boston market). I go back to the front and ask about the five visible empty tables. I am told those tables are reserved. (Now I am not talking about large tables, corner tables, special seating areas, I am talking about extra regular tables next to a wall or next to a someone else). So I say five tables are all reserved for the same time right now, all five are going to arrive in the fifteen minute appointment window that I cannot be sat at any one? She tells me again they are reserved, no elaboration, no attempt to inquire about the five tables. I am not sure if I was specifically treated this way for any reason; however I will say that I was not of the majority demographic of everyone esle as I looked around while I walked to and from the sushi bar

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebble241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Save your money and eat elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The only reason we ate here was because we were giving a $100 gift
We thought that $100 would surely cover the two of us
Boy were we wrong, Dinner for two with a couple drinks came to $140 !! REALLY !?!?!
Most of the items on their menu is serve " Small Dish " Our waiter said "they are good for
sharing and most people order 3 or 4 to share"
When they say " Small dish" they mean SMALL dish
they were smaller then most restaurants serve as an appetizer.
The crab cakes were good but so small, just a tad bigger then a Ritz cracker
The skirt steak was basically, four slices laid across a small potato
with each slice bite size.
Now we can see how they make their money here
you order numerous " Small Dishes" at not so small prices and before
you know it, you walk away with a huge bill and still hungry !!
There are way too many good restaurants in Fort Lauderdale to
over pay here.
Do your self a favor and avoid S3
Like another reviewer said, great place to come for a drink and maybe
one appetizer, woops, small dish. S3 does have amazing view of the beach
But that's where it ends.. Know we won't be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spiderman-is-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and terrific food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

we were initially scared by the menu -- steak and sushi? But it worked and it worked really well! Wel oved the duck wraps, the kale salad, the brussel sprouts, really everything we tried. The wine list was also quite good and well priced. It was beautiful inside and the view to the beach was lovely. It was a bit too cool to sit by the firepits, but that would be fabulous on a nicer evening. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S3 Sun Surf Sand Restaurant also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to S3 Sun Surf Sand Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing