We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE TERRIBE TERRIBLE!!!”
Review of Balearia Caribbean

Balearia Caribbean
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Grand Bahama Round-Trip Ferry Ride from Fort Lauderdale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Balearia Caribbean offers Scheduled ferry crossings between Fort Lauderdale FL, and Grand Bahama Island onboard our ship; “Jaume I” with a capacity of 600 passengers divided into two classes; economy premium and ecomomy. Jaume I sails from Fort Lauderdale at 8:00 am and arrives at Grand Bahama Island at 11:00 am (weather permitting), It then sails from Grand Bahama Island at 6:00 pm, and arrives back to Fort Lauderdale at 9:30 pm With such a convenient schedule, Balearia Caribbean gives the traveler the opportunity to spend 6 hours in the island on a one day trip, a quick weekend getaway when limited by time, or a grand vacation when staying at one of the many resorts in Grand Bahama Island. Balearia Caribbean is proud to be the lowest priced and “funnest” way to travel to the Bahamas
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE TERRIBE TERRIBLE!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is only about the boat experience, not the island*** Had to wait almost 2 hours to get on board, the trip took 3 hours to get to the Bahamas, the boat kept rocking back and forth like there was no tomorrow, half way through the trip people started vomiting, some where even escorted to the back of the boat to lay on the floor. The experience felt like you were in a movie scene full of action and drama. Never again!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Yessika0196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Yessika0196

We are sorry to hear you didn't have a superb experience with us. Unfortunately we don't have any control over the rough waters and occasionally people may experience sea sickness. It is though very uncommon.

We would love for you to give us another opportunity. Please contact our customer service line at 1-866-699-6988 to discuss further.

Warm Regards
Balearia Bahamas Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    106
    88
    51
    217
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst experience of my life!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

3 hours of HELL. It's a cheap alternative way to get to Freeport for a 1 day trip. You get what you pay for. Staff was ok but experienced people getting sick all over the ship, lying cross the floor, with no real escape. Felt like a prisoner. Long wait lines. Not as advertised and not fun at all. Consider flying or staying the night as you must be back at the port by 6pm, giving you 6 total hours of fun time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Robert

We are so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us as it is very uncommon that people not have a super experience with us.

We would love to hear the additional issues you experienced. Please call 1-866-699-6988 and speak with our customer service team.

Sincerely
Balearia Ferry Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treadwell, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“misrepresented,misleading but decent ride”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

we booked first class..$460 for 2 adults..told we would be 1st on, 1st off. they let the daytrippers all off first while we waited! we booked in november on the basis of $25 per bag ROUND TRIP! now it is each way, and unlike the airlines, they donot honor WHEN you book.it will be a charge for bags on the return. this makes our fee $610 !!! a bit much for the last leg of our trip! (we took the train from ny)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank connie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Connie

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with us but we are happy you enjoyed the ride.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Warm Regards
Balearia Ferry Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst trip ever!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Do not take the one day trip - we wasted one whole vacation day to spend 4 hours in the Bahamas. We were there at 6 am & did not return until 10:30 but waited in the customs line for 1.5 hours getting us out of there at midnight! Horrible experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Cindy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Cindy

Sorry to hear that you had a less than positive experience with us. Our boat has no control over Customs or immigration. Feel free to call 1-866-699-6988 to discuss further with our Customer Service team.

Warm Regards
Balearia Bahamas Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were very hesitant to take the ferry because of the negative reviews but we were pleasantly surprised when we didnt encounter any chaos that we were expecting. Everyone was friendly and the ferry left on time. We stayed a week in Freeport...but if you're going for just the day you can expect only a few hours of fun time because they do want you at the terminal 1-2 hours before loading so there is a lil wait time in the terminals. My only complaint was the ferry was freeeeeeeeeezing from the AC on the way to Freeport. I unpacked beach towels to try to warm up. On the way back it wasnt that cold. I would take the ferry again..its cheaper than flying too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyUSN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Balearia Caribbean, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi Tony

Thanks so much for the nice comments and we are so happy you enjoyed your trip with us. We pride ourselves as being a much more affordable alternative to get to the Bahamas. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Balearia Ferry Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balearia Caribbean also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Balearia Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing