We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Latin food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chimney House

The Chimney House
Ranked #175 of 1,321 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Central American, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a Latin American Grill & Cafe housed in a restored 1924 historic house in downtown Fort Lauderdale, in Sailboat Bend. We are located just west of the Broward Center for Performing Arts. Our Food is Latin American with an emphasis on quality ingredients -- we strive to bring the best dishes of Latin America to your table in a casual and inviting atmosphere. The idea of restoring this historic, derelect house into a restaurant started with a projected completion time of 2 years and finally took 6 (SIX) years to complete. Our goal was to createa Neighborhood restaurant on the West side of the Las Olas area (in Historic Sailboat Bend) with a strong focus on quality food in a casual yet beautiful environment. Our Food menu showcases the best dishes of South America and Spain like Ceviches, Arroz Marinerro (Paella), and lighter fare like Empanadas, Fish Tacos, and Steak Sandiwches. Come experience the charm of this old home and join us for Lunch or Dinner Tuesday thru Saturday, or for Sunday Brunch. Or just come by and have some coffee (Lavazza is served), or sip some wine, a House Sangria, or a Pint of our Draft Beer.
hekesq
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Latin food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great service, very good food. Had the skirt steak. A little chewy but delicious. The flan was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank hekesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lunch before show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I have a tradition of hitting up the Chimney House before heading to the Broward Center for the Performing Arts and seeing a show. The food here never disappoints and the sangria is amazing. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a find! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We just happened to stop by...food is absolutely amazing, service is attentive, and the restaurant is immaculate. You can be sure of a positive experience.

Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming little surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Chimney House Grill & Cafe was a charming little surprise. I went there for lunch with three friends, one of whom had been there before and suggested it. So glad she did. We all tried different items from this "Latin American" inspired menu. My chicken salad ( poached chicken --like pulled pork style-- with golden raisins, pine nuts, Granny Smith apples and cilantro) was yummy. I chose to have it served on a bed of mixed greens and enjoyed it tremendously. My companions also enjoyed their selections: grilled vegetable chimichurri sandwich, "the Chimney House Cheeseburger" (Angus beef, white cheese, fried egg, carmelized onion), salad with seared Ahi Tuna. You get the picture--a delightful variety and there is much more on the menu. Three of us tried the freshly made Limonada: fresh limeade--another taste treat. I would recommend you try this little gem near downtown Fort Lauderdale.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy and Character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The only reason we knew this restaurant existed is because they supported a charity event called the Spinathon, which I participate in. Not only does this restaurant owner care about his community, but he also serves up an excellent dining experience! This place was a very pleasant surprise, and its an excellent place to go with someone you love. I can imagine that a business lunch would also be a great way to impress, and talk business. We had the skirt steak and the chimichurri, both of which were cooked as ordered and very tasty. Portion size was great, not ridiculously huge like some of the chain restaurants. The wine/beer list isn't lengthy, nor are the dessert options, but the atmosphere and great food more than make up for that. I definitely recommend that you visit The Chimney House!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chimney House also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to The Chimney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing