We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FISH!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Shot Sportfishing

Top Shot Sportfishing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our charter boat the "Happy Day Today" is a 46' Hatteras sport fish located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida in the Bahia Mar Charter Fleet. We offer half day charters, 3/4 and all day deep sea fishing trips. The boat is fully equipped with all fishing tackle, fishing licensing, coolers, air conditioned vessel, safety equipment, dept sounder and navigational equipment. To name some of the species we target: Mahi Mahi, Black Fin Tuna, Wahoo, Sailfish, King Mackerel, Grouper, Snapper, Sharks and Swordfish. Captain Tommy Zsak has been fishing for over 30+ years as the owner and captain of the "Happy Day Today" and the Top Shot Sportfishing team. Please give us a call to discuss the charter, conditions, what is biting and availability.
washington, dc
1 review
“FISH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a half day fishing with Captain Tom Zsak and his son, David, in the beautiful waters a few mile off Ft. Lauderdale. I have been deep-sea fishing many times, but I have always wanted to fish off Ft. Lauderdale because the Gulf Stream passes so close to shore that you can easily be in great fishing water within fifteen minutes from the dock. That means more time fishing and a lot less time burning expensive fuel just to get to the fish.

Tom and David were among the very best crew I've ever experienced. The father-and-son team knew exactly what to do to maximize our fishinig experience, and in just a few hours managed to hook us up with two beautiful Mahi Mahi, a bull and a female around 15 pounds each, a 10-poiund Blackfin tuna and a slightly larger Bonito. We supplied the excitement and Tom and David supplied everything else, including a level of expertise and professionalism that meant a great deal to us. And they had fun doing it, treating us like we were the most important guests they had ever taken out. Either could answer just about any question we had about the boat, the ocean, the fish, etc. Tom has been fishing these waters for 35 years or so, and David for at least half that, and David has also worked as a mate on boats in Costa Rica and the Virgin Islands, among other places.

When we disembarked, David fileted the Mahi and we took the fish next door to a great outdoor restaurant where they cooked it to order and served it as fresh as fish can be. As we ate our catch and drank beer looking out over the water, the Happy Day Today sailed by on its afternoon trip with another load of excited fishermen. I'm sure they returned a few hours later with fish in the cooler and smiles on their faces.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marshallkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Day C, Owner at Top Shot Sportfishing, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the compliment and sharing your experience offshore fishing with us aboard the Happy Day Today.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Mahi Mahi at the local restaurant. The kind review on Trip Advisor does make our efforts gratifying and knowing you enjoyed your time with us fishing in Fort Lauderdale and looking forward to another charter in the future when back in town.

Best regards,
Capt Tom and Capt Dave Zsak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    17
    5
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
“memories made fishing top shot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The day started by picking up live bait at a local bait shop. A short ride and we were fishing . put out 2 kites and 4 lines. within 20 minutes we each caught a mahi mahi. my son tylers being 40 inches long. crew daves expertise reset the lines and in a short time. caught another nice mahi, then just after that we caght a black tiped shark. If you are looking to go fishing near fort lauderdale capt tom and crew on the happy day today would be the ticket. very clean boat, and they know how to catch fish. Scott lane

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy Day Today, a good choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Capt. Tom and crew David are excellent. I have fished with many charter boats and these guys know how to catch fish and are pleasant to be with. Clean boat with all the right gear for any fishing situation.

Helpful?
Thank LCH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
“Definitely charter again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We chartered 'Happy Days Today" with Capt. Tom in pursuit of our first sailfish....and he delivered. We purchased live bait, 'goggle eyes', and with the wind blowing Capt. Tom brought out the kites. We caught two nice size sailfish with lots of action, breaking water and great photos before their release. As an experienced fisherman in NJ, I compliment Capt. Tom and his mate on their knowledge and experience to put you on fish, their professionalism and maintenance of a clean boat. I highly recommend 'Happy Days Today' and plan to charter again on our next trip to Florida. Next trip....wahoo and swordfish or maybe a marlin

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!! A must in Florida!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Awesome day out there on the sea with Happy Day Today! Caught some Bonita's, and had a couple of beers! It's a must in Florida! The Crew & Boat were awesome! All-In-All sweet day!

Helpful?
Thank FriedmanMotors11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Shot Sportfishing also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Top Shot Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing