We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we all agreed (5 adults) that it was one of the best and nicest hotels we have ever stayed in right on the beach. Our room was immaculately clean and the ocean view was fabulous from our balcony. All the hotel staff were very accommodating, helpful, and friendly. The concierge gave us various recommendations on where to dine during our stay and we enjoyed each of our meals. Also, the spa services were incredible. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fun4All2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    444
    154
    90
    52
See reviews for
405
951
79
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This four night stay at the Atlantic was the most phenomenal of vacations! Our family of five adults was fortunate to lock in on the teacher promotional package that offered the penthouse suite with ocean front view and more than enough luxury and space for each of us to relax and enjoy our vacation. The suite was superb, the amenities and spa were supreme, and the staff was exceptionally courteous and accommodating. Our room was cleaned twice a day and our beds were turned down at night. Housekeeping was extremely discreet and accommodating. The two bedrooms consisted of luxurious king size beds, ocean views, a large screen TV, gigantic closet space with a safe, and separate bathrooms with extremely spacious showers, large double-sink vanities, a full-size jacuzzi tub, and separate toileting areas. We asked for a roll out bed for our fifth adult. There was no extra charge --- but make sure. The rollaway bed was certainly better than a cot --- I would say it was as good as a single, twin bed. There was sufficient room in the king bedrooms to set up the extra bed, but our group put the extra bed in the living room, which worked well for us. There was also a separate powder room. The kitchen was full-size (full refrig, microwave, dishwasher, stove), with a full dining room area, as well as stools at the counter. Then there was a full size living area with large screen tv. The outside balcony ran the full length of the suite, and included a large table and at least six lounge chairs. The place was spotless! Our package included the option of a $50 a day credit for use in the spa or $20 for two people to use for breakfast each day. We chose the $50 credit for the spa, and it was well worth it. Almost all of the spa services cost more than $50, but the spa services were worth it. Guests could use the amenities of the spa, as well (sauna, hot tub, steam room, showers, meditation room). Coffee is set up in the lobby each morning. All day long, ice water is provided in the lobby, and it's infused with orange. Our package also included complimentary valet parking. Make sure to check to see if your package includes complimentary parking, because we were told that parking could cost as much as $28 a day. We made much use of the excellent concierge service to help us with our decisions of where to eat. The club located on the first floor seemed like the "place to be," although we did not make use of it. The best part of our vacation, however, was the fact that the hotel is located directly across the street (A1A) from the Atlantic Ocean. The water was blue-green and very warm (at least 80 degrees F.) The beach was spotless. Rentals of one umbrella and two lounge chairs costs $40 a day. Unfortunately, the rentals end at 4:30 p.m. Many people, including us, stayed on the beach after 4:30 p.m. The sun is brutal in Florida in the summer, so staying under cover from the sun was a full time job. We're very much looking forward to repeating our experience at the Atlantic again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oktodoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh/Durham/Cary/Chapel Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We just returned from 4 night stay at this hotel. We were extremely pleased with everything. Staff was friendly and attentive, room was spacious, great ocean front location and just far enough away from the bars and high traffic areas. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We arrived at the hotel and it smelled like heaven! The lobby was impressive. While we were waiting for our room we were brought bottled water. At first we were apprehensive because our room was right in front of the elevator, ( we couldn't hear anything outside our room) When we got to our room I was in awe. It was THE nicest room I have ever stayed in. We had a small area for the kitchen and a MASSIVE bathroom with both a huge shower and sunken bathtub, his and her sinks it was beautiful! The bed was the most comfortable bed ever and the view!!! We were on the 9th floor and we could see the ocean perfectly! We also had a balcony with two chairs and a table. We sat out there at night and listened to th ocean! There was turn down service. When we came back from our evening out it was nice to have the bed turned down and yummy chocolate on the pillow!

We also had a spa treatment we had a couples bath and massage. IT WAS WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSEML1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This hotel was in a wonderful spot. Some of the hotels in Lauderdale are beside loud bars and nightlife. This hotel was within walking distance to those things, but far away enough that it was quiet and peaceful. The beach is beautiful. The room was always clean and the beds were turned down nightly with yummy chocolates left on the pillow. The staff was friendly and attentive. The hotel smelled divine and they sell the candles in the front lobby. The spa is amazing with a complimentary steam room, sauna, and hottub for guests. The hottub is surrounded by lounge chairs, magazines, and ice cold washcloths for you to cool down with. I am a big spa person and I got the best massage I have ever had in my life here! The rooms were spacious. The bathroom was huge and included a big marble bathtub and separate stand up shower. The kitchen was stocked with silverware, glasses, plates, and cookware. The staff would even wash our dishes that we had left out. Valet service is expensive, but required here. The buses are inconvenient and walking in the Florida heat is not advised. You really need a car to get where you are going. You also need to bring a large beach towel as the hotel charges for towels and some guy on the beach charges for chairs. This is an upper class hotel and the price reflects that, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2009

The Atlantic Hotel was spectacular. We went for business and pleasure and the hotel went beyond my expectations. The Hotel was beautiful with spacious rooms, beautiful views, a pool overlooking the ocean and wonderful staff . The beach is very clean and directly across the street. The hotel was in a quiet area and there was shopping and dining nearby. This was a very romantic trip and felt like a second honeymoon. This hotel went above and beyond, and had many wonderful touches to make us feel special. The only suggestions I would make is to steam clean the carpets, provide lamps that have more than one lighting option, and have a screen for the balcony doors. However, these were very minor and did not diminish our experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Considered giving four stars, but took one off for daunted expectations. This is a nice and well-located hotel, with mostly comfortable facilities and a very attentive staff. Yet there were many small problems over the course of a four-night stay, including with room cleanliness, fixtures and failed engineering work, and messages promised to be conveyed but never received. About time for an upscale hotel to replace the old CRT TVs, as well as borderline grungy carpets as others have noted. Significant noise from neighboring rooms and hallway at times. Also, pool is quite small and was often crowded. At $28/day valet and $14/day in-room wifi, along with pricey food and drink, costs can skyrocket. They offered upgrade to a suite upon check-in, but we took a look and did not find it superior, esp as it faced down rather than toward the beach, and the balcony was no larger than the king oceanview in which we stayed. It's difficult to give thumbs down at a place where the friendly staff clearly try hard, but in the end their efforts came up short. I'll be looking elsewhere next time in FLL.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing