We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Ocean Views”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Really loved this hotel. Great location with wonderful oceanviews on a slightly quieter part of Fort Lauderdale Beach. Stayed in an oceanfront studio - really comfortable beds, amazing views of the ocean from the large balcony. Kitchen facilities useful for longer stays, loved the little coffee machine. Really large bathroom, double vanity, separate shower and bath. Lovely pool area although maybe a little small, they do provide facilities on the beach though. Had lunch by the pool and breakfast via room service - all food was fantastic. Best coconut shrimp ever. Easy 10 minute walk to the busier part of Fort Lauderdale beach. Service from all memebers of staff was fantastic. Loved how everytime we walked into the hotel somebody always made a point of saying welcome back. Possibly décor a little old fashioned and the hotel will need to look at some soft refurbishment soon but would not hesitate to recommend

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for oceanfront as the views were just incredible, especially at su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    446
    159
    93
    54
See reviews for
411
961
83
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

At $450 per night, the expectations were much higher.

Room service menu did not any dessert options.

Had to find your own chairs on the beach

Hotel provided beach towels that were basically bath towels

In room TV was all but inop.

Pool,handles about 5 families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Paul, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with elements of your stay with us. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest. Please reach our to me directly at the hotel if I may offer additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Atlantic Spa and the thing we were most impressed with was the friendliness of the staff from the moment we checked in to when we left.
Our room was a side sea view rather than full on but none the worse for that. It had a large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Room furnishing’s showed a bit of wear and tear so that is an area that will need to be addressed soon. The room was well kept and we had enough clean towels etc.
We had breakfast both morning’s in the restaurant and was more than satisfied with the offerings. The concierge recommended a great place to eat the night before our cruise. It is called Truluck’s and was absolutely brill so thanks for the great recommendation.
If we ever need a Hotel prior to a cruise again I would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

There's something missing at this hotel, but it's hard to put a finger on it. After spending 4 nights in February we realized that it has no heart and no soul. The staff is seems to care, but you need to prompt them. Some of the staff seem new, and some seem like old-timers. The lobby really doesn't have the stature of a premier luxury hotel lobby. Every time (and there were only a few) we sought out some assistance there were friendly faces and good effort, but this hotel is a loose confederation of employees.

The valet guys were great, and always friendly. The concierge was willing to engage and help. Our room was very nice with a large marble bathroom with double sink. But there was a distinctiveness and character that was missing.

Our meals were mixed at best. The East End Grille faces the beach but also faces the busy and noisy main drag. Day one lunch was great, but maybe it was just the energy of our first day. Breakfast on day two was pretty good, but $50 for eggs and coffee is just too expensive. Day four lunch was really bad; they refunded our money but only after we complained twice. Day 3 lunch at the Ocean Terrace Café was below average.

We felt safe and the Atlantic has a really good location. No real complaints, but also no moments where we were glad we chose this property. Our recommendation is to give the Atlantic the opportunity but to make sure you get a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irreverent-in-Cleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Senior, I am sorry to hear that you did not find your experience distinctive or polished. That is a failure on our part. I apologize for your lackluster experience. I hope that we may have the opportunity to show you the experience that most guests have. Please contact me at the hotel if I may offer additional assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D. C.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We just returned from another visit to the Atlantic Hotel. We have stayed at this hotel and a number of other hotels at Fort Lauderdale previously and none of the other hotels is as nice as the Atlantic. The Atlantic has an excellent location and is a boutique style hotel rather than a massive chain hotel. The facilities and staff are all great and not over crowded. The rooms are very large, comfortable and tastefully furnished, and have a nice kitchen setup. We prefer the partial ocean view one bedroom. These are larger than the studio ocean view rooms yet still have a nice ocean view up the beach. You can't go worn with the Atlantic. Check the various discount hotel sites to get your best price.

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logcolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher G, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Logcolb, Thank you for your praise! I am delighted to hear how you are enjoying the Atlantic. It means so much to all of us. I realize that you have many choices for hotels - thank you for choosing ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I'll start with the little bad that I encountered....the price...that's it, it's just a little pricey but you're getting what you pay for. You'll be directly across from the beach, you'll have a restaurant in the lobby, a gorgeos pool overlooking miles of beach and ocean. The rooms are in pristine condition, I stood in a king suite on the eleventh floor. The king suite had a huge bathroom, a closet area, a kitchen, a large living room and spacious balcony. I didn't valet park but the area is surrounded by metered parking so that was not an issue. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Las Olas Boulevard shops and restaurants and you can also rent bikes to ride on the strip in front of the beach. Staff was lightening quick with check, Odessy was great, literally less than five minute check in. I would return over and over.

Room Tip: All are great, rooms to the north have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CIJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and warm. We were always greeted with a smile. The room was cleaned twice a day. Everything was cleaned each day (balcony, rugs vacuumed, tub cleaned). This is the first hotel that we actually drank the coffee from the room. The room size was very nice. The living room and kitchen are separate from the bedrooms and bathroom. It has separate doors. It was gorgeous and spacious. I am a seasoned traveler and the service was spectacular. The management was very responsive to the few problems we ran into. The housekeeper Manager stopped by to personally visit our room in response to a complaint we made. Our view was great even though it was a view of the city. It was so pretty at night for our evening nightcap of wine. The restaurant food was OK. I thought the dinner menu was better than the breakfast menu but the drinks make up for the lack of variety. The service was great, fast and funny. We also ate at the pool once. We had a nice experience. Our two servers were Adam and Vince. They came to our chair to pick up our food order. And Adam bought an umbrella over to us. That was so nice. The drinks were great and sweet. They looked so good that my 3 year old wanted a daiquiri. So Vince made him a virgin one. My little one enjoyed the pool. It wasn't crowded. The car attendant was so nice. He even remembered that my son always pulled his suitcase with him everyday (his suitcase had his beach toys). The valet was fast. He always brought our bags to our room, even when our bags were only grocery bags. The concierge was helpful though for some reason she hand wrote us a list of restaurants in the areas. That was odd. It also seemed that she pushed the higher end restaurants. I thought the front desk was friendly and efficient. I was able to check in early without any additional fees. That may have been because I am a member of iprefer but I am not sure. Check in and check out was fast. I also liked that wireless Internet is free and they have a business center with desktop computers which is free (that was convenient because I deliberately left my laptop home). Also the hotel is quiet. Amazingly so. I didn't even hear the elevator and our room was right next to the elevator. I recommend staying here. Rent the suite. It's beautiful. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyMomSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,024 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,656 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,754 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,661 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing