We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, facilities and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, facilities and location”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here before and after our cruise, which was perfect as it was only a 5 minute taxi ride from the port. The hotel is located directly opposite the fantastic beach and just a short stroll from many bars and restaurants in either direction along the boulevard (although the bar and restaurant at the hotel are excellent).
The ocean facing room was very large with a kitchette and a superb bathroom. The views from the balcony were great and the road out front was not visable or heard. The spa facilities were great and although I consider myself a manly man I did visit more than once!
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they couldn't do enough for us. When the coffee machine in our room broke I went to reception to inform them, by the time I had gone back to the room (with complimentary coffees) there was a man fixing it.
I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and will definitely return if I'm in Fort Lauderdale again.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    458
    165
    95
    56
See reviews for
424
974
85
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our stay was for three weeks at the Atlantic via a rental on the VRBO site. Downside: No daily room service. Upside: Considerable savings on cost. Conclusion: Well-worth the trade-off. Location: Ideal. The clear highlight of our stay was the staff and the service. From the front-desk, Ron, Robby, Jennifer, and Jordan and all others whose names I did not note, were unswervingly attentive and genuinely interested in our satisfaction. The concierge staff, Lisa, Cheryl and Patrick, were genuinely willing to help our stay be a pleasant one. They have extensive knowledge of the local scene, and they were always very pleasant in greeting us as we came and left. Lacell was our bellman, both coming and leaving. His pleasant demeanor extended well beyond those two times that he helped us upon our arrival and departure. Miguel and Jerome were the two young men who usually provided our valet service. They were great at providing service, and their personalities were exceedingly pleasant.

We did not interact much with the people in housekeeping, given that our stay did not include daily room attention. (Remember, please, that we rented from the owner of the suite in which we stayed, and we knew well in advance that there would be no daily maid service.) But each time that we needed something like new sheets, towels, toiletries, or other household needs, a call to housekeeping services resulted in a very quick delivery of the requested goods.

The furnishings in our suite were nondescript but comfortable. Do try to get an oceanfront suite such as ours. The view is stunning. The pool is heated, though somewhat small, but it is beautifully located on the 5th floor and overlooks the ocean just across the street.

The location is such that one can walk to The Galleria shopping mall or to a series of restaurants and shops. Most restaurants feature outdoor dining, should that be your thing. (We like it!) The water taxi service ($22 per person per day - $18 if you're a senior) will provide you with service to a number of stops, including downtown, and the ride is accompanied by pleasant, informative (not necessarily accurate!) banter from the taxi attendant. Public transportation is very good. In fact, the trolley that runs between downtown and several other destinations, stopped at the Atlantic on a daily basis so that the driver could utilize the comfort facilities (the johns) in the public area of the hotel. The cost for the trolley is $1 per person for each ride. Since you must wave the trolley down if you choose to ride it, the hourly stop at the hotel for a few minutes was very convenient.

But, as is so with much of life, much of the experience has a lot to do with the quality of the people with whom you are working. And the above-named staff members, plus, in all probability many others whose names I don't know, made this stay a most enjoyable one. For a retired teaching couple, it wasn't inexpensive. But the staff made it feel like it was worth a million bucks.
Many thanks to all who worked with us. We are grateful, and we hope to some day be able to return to renew our friendships.

Room Tip: Suites facing the ocean provide grand views of arriving and departing crew ships, a cornucopia of wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed one night here and I am glad it was not more. Check in good. Staff friendly. Room nice - we booked Oceanfront king. Valet parking was expensive. Breakfast was very good. The concierge was never around. The bar service in the evening was dire. We were ignored for a while and then the rather surly barman took our order. White wine at $12 per glass should not be plonked down in a warm whisky tumbler. When we objected wine glasses were provided with a frosty glare from said barman. Pool small but OK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful deep tissue massage and facial as well as use of the steam room sauna and Jacuzzi with voucher from Travelzoo made this a great experience! I was able to book and redeem the voucher within 2 hours.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kingsbridgemarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjlalumi
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We recently stayed at this property during our short stay in Ft. Lauderdale while we waiting for our cruise ship to set up. This property is about 10 minutes away from the cruise terminal, and we were on the boat and in our stateroom with in 30 minutes of leaving the hotel. (Remember to get to your boats early to avoid long lines. We were on board by 11:30 AM.)

The staff is amazing. From the time we walked in, and through out our entire stay they were just top notch. They always said "Hello" and asked us if we needed anything. They were FANTASTIC!

The grounds of the hotel are very nice and very clean, oh, and I recommend centre ocean view. We had a room on one of the upper floors and it was perfect (room 903). The only downside was street traffic noise in the early morning hours.

Our room was very well fitted with an enormous bathroom and living area, the balcony was also very large and we spent a good deal of time there--it overlooked the pool. The room had a kitchenette, which was great for buying snacks and beverages.

The East End Grill and the Ocean Terrace Bad did not disappoint either. We ate at both places several times and the food was amazing.

There were only four slightly inconvenient things that I thought were off given the caliber of this hotel. Nothing major, just something to note. We will stay here again, for sure!

The first: There was not any stationary in the room, no pens, envelops, or anything akin that you are used to finding in a upper-level hotel. We didn't know where to leave the tip for the housekeeping staff so we found some napkins, wrote "Thank you" with a smiley face, and placed the cash within the fold of the napkin. Not very shi-shi-foo-foo but it served the purpose.

Second: The service directory--list of amenities, TV channels, spa and time times and information, room service (you know, the hotel survival guide)--was not available in the guest rooms as they were redoing the directories. It may have been a better idea to leave the old directories in place until the new ones were completed. Not a big deal, but it would have been nice to know where all the amenities were, and what room service had to offer, TV programs, etc. We had to call down every time we had a question, but the staff was great, so... not a deal breaker.

Third: The room service is not exactly the same level of awesomeness as you would expect from a luxury hotel. If you have used room service before you are used to the white table cloth and silver, and your food being served from under warming domes, the while wine is chilling in a bucket, etc. Well... that's not really what you get at this hotel. It's more like takeaway from East End Grill. The room service comes to you in a paper bag, and all the food is in plastic takeaway containers. I was a bit taken back when a gentlemen in jeans showed up at our door with room service--looking like he had just run to the market to do the shopping--holding our slightly chilled wine by the neck of the bottle. The food was amazing and it was hot, just be prepared to eat off of plastic forks and toss away Tupperware. The room service was fast and the food was very good. Again, just note it.

Lastly, which is a building design flaw, is that when using the gym facilities, you have to go outside to use the locker room/washroom. The only washrooms located near the gym are the poolside facilities which are located outside by the bar. Again, not a huge deal. Just be aware that if you intend on using the gym, there are no facilities within the gym/spa area, and you will have to go out towards the pool and turn left to located the washrooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjlalumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at The Atlantic for 3 nights, post business symposium. My husband really needed to relax & was able to decompress here. Our 8th floor oceanfront studio was wonderful!
The King bed was plush, but a little too soft for us, we both got back aches.Linens & towels were topnotch. Kitchenette was beautiful, right inside the entrance & fairly well outfitted, but no paper products,towels,dish soap,small sharp knives, or ice bin in freezer.
Our balcony was very private. Some are placed where other guests can view your space. Pay the extra amount for the oceanfront rooms, the view is unbelievable!
We were on the 8th floor,3 up from the pool/bar area. Since the temperatures were only in the 60's that area wasn't used very much so it was quiet, but I'd guess that in warmer weather & with more guests staying outdoors, the balcony wouldn't be very relaxing & you'd probably choose to close your patio sliders.Because of the height & placement of the building, the pool area falls into deep shade after 2pm or so (in Jan anyway) so you don't get the entire day for sunbathing. You'd definitely have to move to the sand beach for that.
We were in a handicapped equipped room, which we didn't need,that translated to: no tub, only 1 sink in the bathroom & as was mentioned in another review here, the floor gets flooded during showering because there's no lip between the room & shower space PLUS the shower curtain was too short, which only made the water problem worse. This room was in our upper price range & since it had a kitchenette we expected to be preparing & eating some meals in the room to save $$, however, there's no dining table, only 1 straight back chair for eating. We ended up pulling the side table (round, small) in front of the comfy chairs for a few meals which we purchased at Whole Foods,which is a few miles away & VERY nice.
Having the ocean just across the street is convenient & beautiful! The water was beautiful to look at, many cruise ships & tankers moor up in the distance & it's very nice to see the lgihts out there in the evening.The beach has lifeguards. Chairs & umbrellas can be rented.Beach towels I think were available at the front desk, although maybe just for their owners.?
This is a hotel of 125 units where some (majority?) of units are owned, so clientele is upper, upper class.We met a very lovely gentleman with his dog, Willa, several times in the lobby & elevator, so the building is pet friendly, probably just for owners.If you have allergies you might want to inform the staff before you reserve a space.Some owned units are rented via 3rd parties (vrbo), which makes them affordable. The price printed on the closet placard said our unit was rented for over $900 per night, we paid just over $200.Which it was definitely worth, $900, not so much...I wouldn't encourage you to stay in a room at the rear of the building though,view of run down apartments & motels, although you might be able to see the Intracoastal from there...ask before completeing your reservation where the room is located. Oceanview rooms are on the sides so fthe building, not bad views, just not oceanfront...
Concierge & front desk staff were very friendly & polite. We had breakfast in the restaurant,thoroughly enjoyed the Eggs Benedict! We were encouraged to eat at Casablanca, a few blocks away. We took their advice & thoroughly enjoyed our meal there on a Friday night. My husband said his red snapper dish w/ capers was the best fish entree he's ever eaten!
Valet attendants were cheerful & prompt in retrieving our car.If you don't have a car this hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants,touristy venues (Bonnet House/gardens & park). Many joggers all day long, transportation just out front. Sun Trolley & city buses run frequently.Street noise fairly low volume.
The staff also said they could get us bikes to ride if we desired them.The fitness area is small, very little floor space for stretching/yoga & only 1 mat. The spa looked amazing but we didn't use their services.
We also ate at Le Dolce Vita-amazing food, very unpretentious, small Italian restaurant,probably a few miles away.Had huge burgers at Gilberts's 17th street grill,delicious!
If we retrun to Ft Lauderdale we will definitely stay here again! Maybe in a 1 bedroom unit where there'd be a real space to eat & more room to spread out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms oceanfront or oceanview,closer to the front of the building & on north side (south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a great hotel!
The staff, from the valets to the desk clerk, could not have been friendlier. We had booked a ocean view one bedroom suite, but were given a one bedroom ocean front suite instead. I didn't complain. The suite was wonderful. It was located at the end of the corridor and the front corner of the building on the seventh floor. The suite had a huge marble foyer with a full bathroom adjacent. The kitchen was fully equipped and was open to the living/dining room and the balcony beyond. The large bedroom had access to the balcony as well. The master bath had a room-size marble shower that had to be around 8X10 in size. There was also a Jacuzzi tub and a vanity with double sinks. The bed could not have been more comfortable. The linens were first rate. The furnishings were well kept and the room SPOTLESS.
We would not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks to THE ATLANTIC RESORT AND SPA for actually delivering on what we were promised, and for starting our vacation off on the right foot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,104 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,730 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,929 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,247 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing