We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

the atlantic at fort lauderdale fl. waswonderful!
i celebrated my 60th birthday here. they made it extra special. they even sent a melt in your mouth choc. mousse cupcake
to my suite with a candle and happy b'day on it. that was a nice
finishing touch to my day. we were fortunate to be upgraded to a
beautiful suite.
THANKS CAT AND THE STAFF FOR MAKING MY DAY!
Victoria

  • Liked — the bed and the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 6693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jejoly, Guest Service Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
Thank you for your kind comments! We are so happy that we were a part of making your birthday special. We hope you visit us again.

Regards,

Jessica Joly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    451
    164
    94
    55
See reviews for
416
965
84
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

First, a little about me. I am a discerning traveler who typically stays at the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons when possible although Kimpton hotels and W hotels are also good standbys. That said, perhaps my penchant for fine hotels is what caused me to be disappointed by the Atlantic. I only stayed at the hotel for one night with my friend as we had been in Key West all week and wanted an easy drive to the airport.

The hotel staff seemed wonderful when booking and the concierge even called the next day to see if there was anything we needed before we arrived. We were assured that we would most likely be upgraded, given the 2 beds we requested and could check in early. We were not upgraded (which is fine), they didn't have the 2 beds and we weren't allowed to check in early. We were told that we could wait in the spa which we did (and the spa is quite nice) and we soaked in the hot tub while waiting for our room to be ready. Well, it turns out the hot tub was extremely overly chlorinated and it bleached and ruined by bathing suit. I immediately called to speak to a manager and finally someone from the spa called me back, told me that this can happen to certain suits (were they implying that my suit was cheap?) and that they would be happy to take 50% off a new suit in their store. What??? I'm supposed to pay them money for ruining my suit? They also said if I could provide a receipt they would reimburse me. Sorry but I typically don't carry around receipts while on vacation! I told them this was unacceptable and was bounced around from person to person with no resolve in sight. I finally was able to talk to a manager, complained about how I was being treated and they told me to stop by the front desk on my way to dinner where they gave me a $50 certificate. What I found ridiculous was that they wanted me to buy something after ruining my suit.

The room itself was fine, if not somewhat small, but I have to say what I found most disappointing was the size of the pool (don't be fooled, it's much smaller than it looks in photos), the inattentive staff at the pool (we had to order our own drinks at the bar b/c our server never came over), and the clientèle in general was not the crowd you would get at a nicer (e.g., Ritz level) resort. There was lots of smoking at the bar and pool, lots of people hanging around drinking beer in the pool and, not to be rude, pretty much just trashy people. There is also NOTHING around the hotel in terms of restaurants or stores. Pretty much everything on the strip is under construction or abandoned in that area and I found it to be quite depressing.

I'm not sure if Fort Lauderdale is just simply a spring break town these days but I was disappointed with my stay for these reasons. Depending on your level of travel and where you are used to staying, you might be disappointed with the Atlantic. Don't get me wrong, it's not a Best Western but the pictures make it look much nicer than it really is in person. Trina, the hotel restaurant, was actually quite wonderful and I would highly recommend it. Perhaps they hotel was overwhelmed by the holiday crowd but I certainly would never return.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, great shower head, good restaurant
  • Disliked — Crowded, inexperienced customer service, tacky pool crowd
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DC/VATravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jejoly, Guest Services Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered regarding your bathing suit. Your experience is certainly not the kind of service we strive to give out guests. Please contact me directly at the hotel and I will ensure that you are compensated the amount of your suit.
We always welcome constructive criticism, as it presents us with opportunities to improve our guest’s experience. Thank you for also including the positive attributes of your stay.

Sincerely,

Jessica Joly
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2008

My husband and I were married at The Atlantic hotel earlier this June. I cannot speak enough about the amazing service from everyone at the hotel. Jami, the wedding coordinator was absolutely fantastic and helped us pull everything together - in short notice. The room was spectacular and the balconies and views were really incredible. Both my husband and I have stayed at resorts all over the world, and this was one of the nicest placest we have ever stayed at. We recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — prices for lunch menu
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LisaandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jejoly, Guest Services Manager at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2008
Thank you for the kind comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to have been a part of your special day. We hope to see you again for years to come.

Regards,

Jessica Joly
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

i've stayed at many 4 and 5-star resorts, and the Atlantic ranks among the best! my only complaint is that my friend left her car for 6 hours (10pm-4am) and still had to pay the $28 per day valet fee. i think there should be half-day rates for situations such as this one.
besides that, my stay at the Atlantic was absolutely wonderful. the service from the staff i encountered deserves great praise! Lacell at bellhop, Rosmarie at front desk, Amy from the pool cafe, and David from the spa made my stay that much more enjoyable. i'm still talking about my massage...what a perfect was to de-stress, and i couldn't have asked for a better masseuse. i definitely recommend staying at the Atlantic! it's a beautiful hotel in a great location. my friend drove my around, so i'm not sure what's within walking distance, but everything is a taxi ride away.
stay at the Atlantic if you want a guaranteed great stay in fort lauderdale!

  • Liked — great service
  • Disliked — valet charge alittle steep
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amag1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I stayed for one night while in Fort Lauderdale on business.
I was upgraded upon arrival and provided complimentary breakfeast.

I found both the property and location to be very good.
What really stood out for me was the service provided by all staff at the hotel.
Everyone from the valet, conceirge to reception were very welcoming and eager to be of assistance.

I would highly recommend this property based on location, ammenities and service.

Well done!!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed here at this lovely beachfront hotel in February. We are Starwood Preffered Gold members and we were upgraded to a huge suite with 2 baths, kitchen, huge ocean view balcony and amazingly large bathroom. We loved it and look forward to coming back soon. The staff were professional and helpful. We stayed here for 4 nights and had our 4 year old with us -he loved it. The room service was good, and the pool was very nice. Our room was located on the south side of the building and they are doing construction right next door-we did not hear a thing. This is a wonderful Starwood Property.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

From the moment our Taxi pulled into the Atlantic, we could tell this was going to be a trip to remember. This was our first trip to Fort Lauderdale and we feel there was no better choice than the Atlantic. Several great reviews from Tripadvisor steered us in the direction. The price was steep in comparison to other hotels along the A1A but once you see them all in person, you will realize the added price is well worth it.

Often times I find people complaining about poor customer service in their reviews on this website and thusly, was expecting the worst. The courteous and friendly (sometimes eerily friendly) staff was willing to help with any need that you may have. The concierge set up dinner reservations, advised on the best spots for us to visit, called a taxi when we needed it, etc, etc, etc. The room was much larger than expected consisting of a living room area, kitchen (with stocked minibar, tea kettle, coffee maker, toaster, pots, pans, dishes, silverware, starbucks coffee and tea), balcony with partial ocean view, bedroom with king bed, bathroom with both bathtub and shower, and a separate room with the toilet (AND A PHONE...LIVING IN THE LAP OF LUXURY!).

Location was very nice as well. A short walk south and you'll find some nice places for dining/cocktails as well as a little bit of shopping. One of the evenings we took a cab ride downtown (about a $21 fare) and lived some of the nightlife there. There seemed to be a watering hole for whatever style you were after.

Lastly, the beach was fantastic. I am not a frequent beach bum, but the several mile long stretch of beach would suit any professional. The first couple days were very windy and the surf was choppy. The waves were large which proved to make for an entertaining swim. By the 3rd day, the surf calmed and you could really see how clear the water was. Our aquatic wildlife experience was limited to thousands of minnows and a 2 ft wide stingray but that was enough for us.

All in all, the stay was pricey, but in this case you definitely get what you pay for. No regrets.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Disliked — Didn't seem to last long enough
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,064 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,689 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,894 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,683 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing